新展館重新思考善用空間

發布日期: 2018年9月clock閱讀需時: 1m30s
scroll-down

自2014年起,勞力士第三次擔任威尼斯國際建築雙年展(International Architecture Exhibition)獨家合作夥伴兼指定時計,支持建築領域的發展。今年,勞力士為新一屆展覽推出全新展館。

每隔兩年,威尼斯國際雙年展花園(Giardini)及兩棟軍械庫大樓展區都會舉辦為期六個月的國際建築雙年展,吸引約60萬人前來參觀。展覽舉辦期間,建築業界精英齊聚於此,此外亦會吸引大批學生以及都市設計愛好者。來自65個國家或地區的建築師、學者和國際組織將共同參加展覽及其他活動。

威尼斯建築雙年展舉辦的前幾週,參觀者會看到眾多知名建築師以及建築界的超級巨星的身影,或登上或走下水上巴士,或午餐時在附近的朱塞佩加里波第大道(Via Giuseppe Garibaldi)的餐廳中偶遇他們。整體氣氛輕鬆閒適,令人充滿期待。

威尼斯國際雙年展花園氛圍寧靜,綠意盎然。參觀者可以在各國展館中的主題裝置作品之間信步而行、駐足欣賞,欣賞著名建築師設計的優秀作品。整個觀展體驗輕鬆自在。在寬敞而幽暗的軍械庫展廳內,順著450米的建築漫步參觀,感受十六世紀海軍生產線遺留的濃厚氛圍。

這裡是建築界最新概念之理想場所。對建築與製錶而言,卓越設計至關重要,因此勞力士繼續擔任第16屆威尼斯國際建築雙年展獨家合作夥伴兼指定時計,並不令人意外。本次展覽於2018年5月26日至11月25日舉辦,是勞力士自2014年以來第三次贊助這一重要的全球大型建築論壇,此盛會致力於在全球各地建立更美好的生活與工作環境。2018年建築雙年展的主題為「自由空間」(Freespace),是由本次建築雙年展的兩位總監—來自都柏林格拉夫頓建築事務所(Grafton Architects)的伊馮娜・法瑞爾(Yvonne Farrell)及雪莉・麥克娜馬拉(Shelley McNamara)共同構思。兩人希望今年的展覽能夠重點展出體現建築界「寬宏精神與人文關懷」的典範之作,重點關注空間的人文特質與含義。

勞力士與建築

勞力士對建築的讚賞與理解,源於品牌設計過程和建築設計本源相同,同樣都推崇創意想象、創新技術以及對形式與空間的巧妙運用。自勞力士於1905年創立以來,此信念在品牌設計時計的過程中尤其重要。

勞力士與傑出建築的合作源起於二十世紀六十年代,當時品牌開始與世界知名建築師建立合作關係,攜手設計瑞士、美國及日本等地的建築。勞力士的合作建築師包括普立茲克建築獎(Pritzker Prize)得主兼日本建築事務所SANAA聯合負責人妹島和世(Kazuyo Sejima),她受洛桑聯邦理工學院(Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne,簡稱EPFL)委託,負責設計予人無限啟思的勞力士研修中心(Rolex Learning Center)。日本建築大師槙文彥(Fumihiko Maki)與隈研吾(Kengo Kuma)分別為勞力士設計了東京和達拉斯的勞力士服務及銷售中心。美國後現代建築大師米高・格拉夫斯(Michael Graves)則為勞力士設計了賓夕凡尼亞州的製錶學院。

本次展覽是勞力士自2014年以來第三次贊助這一重要的全球大型建築論壇,此論壇致力於在全球各地建立更美好的生活與工作環境。

「自由空間」(Freespace)是妹島和世(Kazuyo Sejima)等建築師最感興趣的課題,她的建築設計具有通透感與分散感的特色,這源自於她早期對各種空間特質的濃厚興趣。早期影響她設計風格的建築包括菊竹清訓(Kiyonori Kikutake)設計的「天屋」(Sky House)。她小時候在一張小照片中第一次看到了這棟建築,上大學時又在某本書裡與它不期而遇。她回憶說:「那棟建築淩空而建,創造了空間奇跡,極具美感與現代感。」

她解釋說:「創立自己的建築事務所時,我開始思考自己想創造怎樣的空間—就像公園那樣的空間正是我所嚮往的。」她解釋:「在日本,每群人、每個人在公園內都有各自不同的目的。有人在公園休息,有人在公園跳舞,有人成群結隊,有人孤身一人,不同年齡層的人,行為愛好都大相逕庭。」

她補充說:「人人都以各自的方式在公園內度過閒暇時光,但同時,人們卻又能感受到社區意識並體驗到空間共用的感覺。毫無疑問,這就是我理想的建築形式。我認為建築必須有這類空間。」

對於同代日本建築師隈研吾(Kengo Kuma)而言,對他早期最大影響的建築經驗可以追溯至童年。那時他父親帶他去看了由丹下健三(Kenzo Tange)為1964年東京奧運設計的體育館:「那座體育館蔚為壯觀,當下我就萌生了想成為一名建築師的念頭!」

他以敏銳且細膩的方式重新演繹不同空間之間的關係,他所用的物料也廣受同代建築師的認同。隈研吾為勞力士設計的達拉斯新辦公大樓將於今年稍後正式啟用,其內部空間採用彼此間隔的木板,營造輕盈靈動之感。在描述自己的理想建築時,他表示自己希望營造「驚奇感與夢幻感,及通過精湛工藝體現誠摯的人文關懷」。

充滿啟思的全新勞力士館

全新勞力士館體現了建築與勞力士腕錶設計之間的創意淵源,是專為第16屆雙年展而設計。新展館結構輕盈,外壁由棱角分明且打褶的青銅、電鍍金屬與玻璃製成。靈感來源是甚麼?就是Oyster Perpetual Day-Date獨具特色的三角坑紋外圈,這款腕錶於1956年問世,一直都是勞力士的經典錶款。

新展館中的展覽重點展出2016年至2017年建築類導師大衛・齊柏菲爵士(Sir David Chipperfield)與他的瑞士門生西蒙・奇斯(Simon Kretz)合作的作品。

場館中還重點展出知名英國建築師大衛・齊柏菲爵士與其瑞士門生西蒙・奇斯合作設計的作品,兩人於2016至2017年通過勞力士創藝推薦資助計劃(Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative)展開了為期一年的合作。

此慈善計劃旨在發掘建築、舞蹈、電影、文學、音樂、戲劇和視覺藝術這七大藝術領域富有天賦的新秀,將他們與世界各地的大師結為師徒,接受一段時期的指導,同時攜手創作。曾任計劃導師的知名建築師包括妹島和世(Kazuyo Sejima,日本)、阿爾瓦羅・西薩(Álvaro Siza,葡萄牙)和彼得・尊托(Peter Zumthor,瑞士)。迦納裔英籍建築師大衛・阿賈耶爵士(Sir David Adjaye)為2018年至2019年度計劃導師。

雙方的合作十分成功,還出版了專著:On Planning–A Thought Experiment(關於計劃–一個思考的實驗)。此書在勞力士與蘇黎世聯邦理工學院(簡稱「ETH Zurich」)的鼎力支持下問世,探索全面發展城市的方法,以更強的包容性與創新思維為市民創造美滿健康的生活。此想法也是勞力士逾一世紀以來不斷前進的動力。

文化流傳

藝術

探索

分享此頁面

New PavilionRethinking the best use of space

Published in September 2018clockTime to read: 1m30s
scroll-down

Rolex is contributing to architectural progress through its support for the International Architecture Exhibition as Exclusive Partner and Timepiece for the third time since 2014. This year the company’s participation is being celebrated with an inspired new pavilion.

For six months every two years, the Giardini and two vast Arsenale buildings in Venice host the world’s greatest festival of architecture, which attracts about 600,000 visitors. This is where the great and the good of the profession gather, along with throngs of students and cosmopolitan design aficionados. Architects, academics and national organizations from 65 countries will participate in exhibitions and other events.

In the first weeks of the Venice Architecture Biennale, visitors can expect to spot well-known architects, and more than a few of the profession’s superstars, as they hop on or off vaporettos, or lunch in the nearby Via Giuseppe Garibaldi. The vibe is always relaxed and expectant.

The serene, tree-shaded setting of the Giardini provides a laid-back experience for those who meander through themed installations in the national pavilions – some designed by legendary architects. In the big, shadowy rooms of the Arsenale, a naval production-line in the 16th century, the 450 m stroll through the buildings is more intensely atmospheric.

This is where the profession’s latest big ideas are revealed. With design excellence being paramount in both architecture and watchmaking, it is no surprise that Rolex is continuing its role as the Exclusive Partner and Timepiece of the 16th International Architecture Exhibition of La Biennale di Venezia. Held between 26 May and 25 November 2018, this is the third time since 2014 that Rolex has supported the world’s biggest and most important forum for architectural debate, which contributes to building better living and working environments across the world. “Freespace”, the theme of the 2018 Biennale, was set by its directors, Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara of the Dublin-based practice, Grafton Architects. Their wish for this year’s event was to highlight the most inspiring examples of architecture’s “generosity of spirit and sense of humanity”, and to do so by focusing on the human qualities and meanings of space.

Rolex and architecture

Rolex’s appreciation of architecture mirrors the processes of imagination, technical innovation and the best use of form and space that have been of critical importance to the design of the company’s timepieces since 1905.

The company’s connection with outstanding architecture started in the 1960s when it began to develop relationships with some of the world’s most acclaimed architects to design buildings in Switzerland, the United States and Japan. They include the Pritzker Prize-winner, Kazuyo Sejima, co-principal of the Japanese practice, SANAA, which was commissioned by the EPFL (Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne) to design the inspirational Rolex Learning Center. The great Japanese architects, Fumihiko Maki and Kengo Kuma, designed Rolex service and sales centres in Tokyo and Dallas, respectively; and one of the giants of postmodern architecture, the American architect Michael Graves, designed Rolex’s Watch Technicum in Pennsylvania.

This is the third time since 2014 that Rolex has supported the world’s biggest and most important forum for architectural debate, which contributes to building better living and working environments across the world.

The “Freespace” theme is of fundamental interest to architects such as Sejima, whose characteristically transparent, internally uncluttered architecture arises from her very early interest in the qualities of different kinds of space. One of the first buildings that influenced her approach to design was the Sky House, by Kiyonori Kikutake. She first saw it in small photographs when she was a child, and rediscovered it in a book at her university – “it was lifted in the sky, with the wonder of space, but also very beautiful and very modern,” she recalled.

“When I started my own architectural practice, I began to think about what kind of space I liked to make – and it was kind of a park,” she explained. “In Japan, in a park, each group of people, each person, has different aims. Some people have a rest, some people are dancing, some people are in a group, or sometimes they are alone; and every age is so different.”

“Each person has their own way of how to spend their time there,” she added. “But at the same time, people can feel some sense of community and of sharing the space together. Without talking. This is the ideal I have. I think it’s important that buildings also have this type of space.”

For fellow Japanese architect Kengo Kuma, a visit to the 1964 Tokyo Olympics Gymnasium by Kenzo Tange caused an epiphany. “It was such an impressive space, that I decided to become an architect there and then.”

Kuma’s sensitive rendition of the relationships between space and the materials he uses is widely recognized by his appreciative peers. His new tower for Rolex in Dallas, which will be opened later this year, has gapped boards in its interior to create a sense of lightness, for example. He wished to create what he describes as “a sense of wonder and imagination, and a real care for human presence in craftsmanship”.

Inspiring new Rolex Pavilion

The creative connection between architecture and the design of Rolex timepieces is captured in the new Rolex Pavilion, constructed to celebrate the 16th edition of the Biennale. The pavilion has a lightweight structure, with walls made of glass and pleated bronze anodized metal. And the inspiration for them? The uniquely fluted bezel of an Oyster Perpetual Day-Date watch, which has been an iconic timepiece since its first appearance in 1956.

The exhibition in the new pavilion highlights the collaboration between Sir David Chipperfield, architecture mentor in 2016–2017, and his Swiss protégé Simon Kretz. The pair, who were brought together through the Rolex Arts Initiative, focused on how to create better cities.

The pavilion highlights the collaboration between eminent British architect Sir David Chipperfield and his Swiss protégé, Simon Kretz, who spent a year in 2016–2017 working together through the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative.

This philanthropic programme seeks out gifted young artists in seven disciplines – architecture, dance, film, literature, music, theatre and visual arts and brings them together with great masters for a period of creative collaboration in a one-to-one mentoring relationship. Acclaimed architects who have been mentors in the Initiative include Kazuyo Sejima (Japan), Álvaro Siza (Portugal) and Peter Zumthor (Switzerland). Ghanaian-British architect Sir David Adjaye is the mentor for 2018–2019.

Chipperfield and Kretz’s successful partnership resulted in a book: On Planning – A Thought Experiment. Published with support from Rolex and ETH Zurich, the book explores how more holistic approaches to urban development can create cities that promote the well-being of their citizens through greater inclusiveness and innovative thinking – the same thinking that has driven Rolex for more than a century.

Perpetuating Culture

Arts

Discover

Share this page