慕治・里巴古老儀式的守護者

發布日期: 2008年clock閱讀需時: 40s
scroll-down

印度阿魯納恰爾邦(Arunachal Pradesh)的古老部落文化,在現代社會的影響下漸漸消逝。有見及此,慕治・里巴(Moji Riba)制定了規模宏大的計劃,盼藉年輕人把本土信仰和習俗記錄下來,令此豐富文化得以傳承。

地點印度

位處邊境的阿魯納恰爾邦,意為「旭日之土」,這裡擁有26個土著部族和數十個亞部族。96%的土地屬於山區,因而隔離了不同部落社區並保留着多元獨特的宗教、舞蹈、歌曲及工藝文化。

我意識到僅貯藏文檔並不足夠,因此我們有需要重振逐漸消失的傳統。

然而,近幾十年間的現代通訊和經濟發展,以及印地語和英語等語言的傳入,都加速削弱當地的傳統根源。

電影製作人慕治・里巴一直關注文化保育工作。1997年,他在阿魯納恰爾邦首府伊塔那噶(Itanagar)附近創立了文化研究和文獻中心(Centre for Cultural Research and Documentation)。

其項目的焦點之一是拍攝阿魯納恰爾邦土著部落的生活史,如結婚和收割儀式、口述傳說及神話。里巴運用音樂等眾多方法以吸引年輕人對傳統遺產的注意。他表示:「我們會舉辦學校探訪,播放所拍攝的電影,並展示不同土著部落的幻燈片。」里巴更製作了一張糅合當代音樂風格的專輯,收錄九種阿魯納恰爾地區語言的歌曲。

  • 15個

    里巴的文化研究和文獻中心已記錄的部落數目

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

Moji RibaKeeper of ancient rites

Published in 2008clockTime to read: 40s
scroll-down

The ancient tribal cultures of India’s Arunachal Pradesh state are succumbing to the influences of the modern world. Moji Riba has devised an ambitious plan to involve young people in documenting the state’s beliefs and customs and help this rich culture to live on.

locationIndia

Arunachal Pradesh, which means “Land of the Rising Sun”, is a border state, home to some 26 indigenous tribes, and dozens of sub-tribes. Over centuries, the mountains – it is 96 per cent hill terrain – isolated these tribal communities, preserving their exceptionally diverse cultures with their distinctive religions, dances, songs and crafts.

I realized documentation is not enough and that we need to revitalize the traditions that are disappearing.

Over recent decades, however, modern communications, economic development and languages like Hindi and English, are all assisting in the erosion of traditions.

Moji Riba, who is a film-maker, has a long-term interest in cultural preservation. In 1997, he founded the Centre for Cultural Research and Documentation outside of Itanagar, the capital of Arunachal.

Part of his project has involved filming the life cycle of the indigenous tribes of Arunachal such as marriage and harvest rituals, oral traditions and myths. Riba is using many methods, including music, to interest young people in their heritage. “We visit schools; show the films we have shot; and have slide shows with pictures of the different indigenous tribes,” he says. Riba has been involved in making an album of songs in nine Arunachalee languages, in contemporary genres.

  • 15

    Tribes being documented by Arunachal Pradesh, Riba’s Centre for Cultural Research and Documentation

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page