勞力士與國家地理年度探險家獎

發布日期: 2017年11月clock閱讀需時: 2m05s
scroll-down

著名攝影記者白賴仁・史基利(Brian Skerry),在其三十年的職業生涯内,累積潛水時數逾10,000小時。他在美國麻塞諸塞州長大,從小嚮往海洋以及當中蘊藏的奧秘,卻未曾想像能夠夢想成真,在水底工作。透過訓練和努力,他於1998年成為《國家地理》的攝影師,運用故事闡釋海洋環境和生物的美態及脆弱。

多年來,他獲得了眾多榮譽與獎項,其中2017年的勞力士國家地理年度探險家獎(Rolex National Geographic Explorer of the Year Award)對他別具意義。正當國家地理與勞力士的嶄新合作關係日益深厚,他脫穎而出,被視爲探險先鋒與未來榜樣。

你為何會成為水下攝影師及探險家?

我深受庫斯托(Cousteau)的早期紀錄片和《國家地理》雜誌影響,抱持對探險與探索的熱愛。海洋正好埋藏著不少有待發現的奧秘。

少年時,我忽有頓悟,明白探索海洋最佳方式是透過相機鏡頭。彼時,環遊世界、敘述故事,對我而言是一個遙遠的夢想。我出身於藍領小鎮,從不認識創下此等成就的人。夢想成真的可能性微乎其微。

你從何時開始在《國家地理》工作?

《國家地理》是這個行業的珠穆朗瑪峰,是我希望可以抵達的頂峰。後來於1998年,我首次獲指派工作,至今我已著手撰寫第28個故事。當中的得著比想像中還要豐富。

你會如何選擇新聞故事的題材?

我出版的故事,差不多全部均出於自己的構想。初時,我只想探索感興趣的題材,卻看到海洋環境發生各種問題。我開始在《國家地理》發表首批長篇保育故事,因為我希望竭己之力盡我所能。

你有看到照片與文章帶來改變嗎?

我有。例如說,我寫了一篇關於拯救海洋的封面文章。2016年,美國國家公園管理局(National Park Service)創立百週年,文章透過此契機,展望下世紀和提倡保護美國海洋。

黃石(Yellowstone)是美國首個國家公園,其成立部分歸功於一位名叫威廉・亨利・傑克遜(William Henry Jackson)的攝影師。他將照片呈給議會,最終促進首個國家公園的落成。

我希望通過故事中的照片,成就相同之事,因為攝影確能觸動人心。

你在水底看過最驚奇的是甚麼?

我有過無數奇遇:在亞南極與南露脊鯨,以及其他從未接觸過人類的動物共處。長45呎、重70噸的鯨魚在海底與我相伴兩小時,簡直是夢寐以求;南極冰層以下更有鯊魚等奇妙生物。

任職攝影師多年後,你有何得著?

我了解到萬物環環相扣。珊瑚礁須要仗倚鯊魚,鯨魚亦須要磷蝦。若果我們破壞了海洋的一部分,整個系統便會隨之崩壞。情況好像一枚精巧的勞力士腕錶,所有組件均互相平衡。為了人類的生存利益,我們需要以宏觀的角度看待生態系統,了解它們與我們的關係。

訊息非常清晰:大自然的復原力與接受力有限,我們必須有所行動。

自職業生涯之初至今,最大的改變的是甚麼?

數碼技術改革了我們的處事方式。我以往會出外工作數個月,拍下500卷菲林,卻不知道自己究竟拍攝了甚麼。我會在電話旁邊苦候數週,直至收到編輯的來電。現在,我較她更早知道照片成效,因而可以有更多機會發揮創意。

同時,改變的還有世界對優質故事的渴求。作為敘事者,這是一個令人振奮的時代。相機愈趨細小,我們可以在較暗的地方拍攝,幀數更多,也可以潛入更深的水域。我可以在不同地方設置鏡頭,捕捉未曾目睹的生物習性,亦可以在雜誌頁面,或Instagram和Twitter等媒體上廣播故事,接觸更多層面的讀者。

海洋還有希望嗎?

我認為我們處於歷史洪流的關鍵時刻,首次真正明白問題所在,亦知道如何解決大多數難題。這種情況非常特別,上一代總不願理解問題癥結。

我亦受各方面的鼓勵,例如與國家地理和勞力士的合作,或關注我作品的人。正如絲維雅・艾爾(Sylvia Earle)所說:「我們仍剩下10%鯊魚和50%珊瑚礁,總不算太遲。」我認為我們有心懷希望的理由。

在多年來獲得的芸芸眾多榮譽與獎項中,本年的勞力士國家地理年度探險家獎對你有甚麼意義?

較以往所得的任何獎項,勞力士國家地理年度探險家獎對我而言更為重要。一如我在致辭時所說,對我而言,勞力士就是巔峰,代表卓越、精準及海洋探索。這個獎項意義不凡,因為身為探險家和攝影師,最大的禮物莫過於時間,而獎項便是最佳的見證與肯定。

有見國家地理的嶄新合作關係,有助支持如絲維雅・艾爾和你這類資深探險家,以及一眾下一代探險家,你認為現在成為探險家需要具備甚麼?

你需要睜大眼睛,看清事物,不應只顧自己眼前的專業範疇,更是需要考慮各事物的關係。

由於資訊垂手可得,更有像勞力士或國家地理的組織傳播訊息,我們探險家可以更加清楚事態發展。攜手合作,我們將能達成意想不及之事。

作為水下攝影師,你會如何看待困難與惡劣環境?

這確有許多挑戰,但我於多年前意識到人生的成功,不論工作領域,均取決於你如何克服難關。在任何一天,天氣也可能轉壞,動物不出沒,又或是船艇突然損壞,但如果你準備充足,降低可能出現的變數,便有更大機會取得成功。

你有一直都如此守紀嗎?還是日積月累的成果?

我高中時有參與運動項目,例如網球和美式足球,所以我深明紀律的重要。我或許不是最佳學生,但對於感興趣的事物,我卻非常克己認真。

當我開始任職潛水員和攝影師時,所有事情均須達至完美。優質照片不會憑空誕生,反之,各項元素必須準確無誤;如果你隨便拍攝,將注定失敗。隨著歲月流逝,我對守紀亦愈趨重視。

你認為勞力士與《國家地理》為何會成為最佳夥伴?

我對此合作關係深感興奮。兩個擁有逾百年歷史的標誌性品牌,而且同為全球備受信賴的品牌。

勞力士代表卓越巔峰,在象徵人類精神方面沒有甚麼可以媲美此品牌。這個品牌名稱對你總會有特別意義。

同樣地,《國家地理》冠絕同儕,因為他們堅持致力報道重要的故事。他們並不會議論政治,但其言論卻為民眾的生活增值,揭示事實真相。

兩個品牌在各自領域中都具有影響力且出類拔萃,若他們攜手合作,將能產生怎樣的火花呢?

本內容由國家地理與勞力士合力製作,旨在推動探險和保育工作。雙方共同支持目光遠大的探險家,為保護地球奇觀尋找真正解決方案。

保護地球,恒動不息

環境

探索

保護地球,恒動不息

環境

探索

分享此頁面

分享此頁面

Rolex and National GeographicExplorer of the Year

Published in November 2017clockTime to read: 2m05s
scroll-down

Renowned photojournalist Brian Skerry has spent more than 10,000 hours underwater over the course of his 30-year career. Growing up in Massachusetts, he was drawn to the ocean and all its mystery, never imagining that one day he would land his dream job and that it would be underwater. With discipline and hard work, he became a contributing photographer for National Geographic in 1998 and through his stories shed light on both the beauty and the fragility of the ocean and its inhabitants.

Of all the accolades and awards he has garnered over the years, the Rolex National Geographic Explorer of the Year Award that he received in 2017 holds a special significance. In view of a new enhanced partnership between National Geographic and Rolex, he stands out as a true pioneering explorer and an example for the next generations.

How did you become an underwater photographer and explorer?

I was inspired by the early Cousteau documentaries and reading National Geographic. I had this great love of exploration and discovery. The ocean seemed like a perfect place for mysteries that were waiting to be discovered.

As a teenager, I had an epiphany, realizing that the perfect way to explore the ocean was with a camera. Being able to travel around the world and tell stories was a lofty dream. I came from a blue-collar town. I didn’t know anybody who did something like that. The odds of any sort of success were probably a billion to one.

When did you start working for National Geographic?

National Geographic was the Mount Everest, the epitome of where I wanted to be. Eventually, in 1998, I got my first assignment and I have just begun my 28th story for the magazine. It’s been so much more rewarding than I could ever have envisioned.

How do you choose your subject matter for news stories?

Almost all the stories I do are my ideas. At the beginning I just wanted to do those that interested me, that were fun, but I saw a lot of problems occurring in the oceans. I began doing some of the first big conservation stories at National Geographic, because I wanted to make a difference.

Have you seen your photographs and the accompanying articles make an impact?

I have. For example, I had a cover story about saving our oceans. The premise was to use 2016, which was the centennial anniversary of the National Park Service in the United States, as an opportunity to look towards the next century and protect America’s oceans.

The very first national park in the United States, Yellowstone, was protected, due in part, to a photographer named William Henry Jackson. He brought photographs back and showed them to Congress, which led to the creation of the first national park.

I wanted to do the same thing with photography on this story, because photographs can be powerful.

What’s the most surprising thing you’ve seen underwater?

I’ve had an endless string of extraordinary encounters: being with a southern right whale in the Subantarctic with animals that had never seen humans before. Forty-five-foot, 70 tonne whales spending two hours with me on the bottom of the ocean was beyond my wildest dreams; with sharks and amazing creatures under the polar ice.

What have you learned after four decades as a photographer?

I’ve come to the realization that everything is connected. We can’t have coral reefs if we don’t have sharks and we can’t have whales if we don’t have krill. If we begin to mess with parts of the ocean, it breaks down. It’s like a finely crafted Rolex watch. Everything is so finely balanced. If for no other reason than our own self-interest, we need to see the ecosystems as a whole and how they interrelate with us.

The message is clear that nature is resilient and tolerant to a point, but we have to take action.

What has changed the most since the beginning of your career?

Digital technology has revolutionized how we do things. I used to go on assignment for a few months and shoot 500 rolls of film and not know what I had. I would wait nervously by the phone for a couple of weeks until I got a call from my editor. Today, I know what I have before she does. I can take more chances and be more creative.

What’s also changed is the world’s appetite for good stories. As a storyteller, it’s a very exciting time. Cameras are getting smaller; we can shoot in low light, shoot more frames, and go deeper. I can put camera traps in places, capturing behaviour that I never saw before, and I can broadcast that story through the pages of the magazine, and channels such as Instagram and Twitter that reach different audiences.

Is there hope for the oceans?

I believe we live in a pivotal moment in history, where for the first time, we actually understand the problems and we know the solutions for many of them. That’s unique. Previous generations didn’t fully appreciate the problems.

I’m also encouraged from many different angles – from partnerships like this one, with National Geographic and Rolex, to people who follow my work. As Sylvia Earle said, “We still have 10 per cent of the sharks left and 50 per cent of the coral reefs left, so it’s not too late.” I think we have every reason to be hopeful.

Of all the awards you’ve received and the accolades, what does this year’s award of Rolex National Geographic Explorer of the Year mean to you?

To receive the Rolex National Geographic Explorer of the Year Award meant more to me than anything I’ve ever been given. As I said in my acceptance speech, to me, Rolex is the epitome. It represents excellence, precision, and ocean exploration. It’s especially meaningful because as an explorer and a photographer, the greatest gift we can be given is the gift of time, and there could be no finer testament or seal of approval.

In the light of the new partnership with National Geographic, supporting veteran explorers such as Sylvia Earle and yourself, and the next generation of explorers, what do you think it takes to be an explorer today?

You need to have your eyes wide open and see, not only what lies before you within your own field of expertise, but how what you do is connected to everything else.

Given the ease of access to information and through organizations like Rolex or National Geographic that disseminate information, we as explorers, can be much more aware of what’s going on. Collectively, if we build on that we can achieve results that we might not otherwise have imagined.

As an underwater photographer, how do you deal with the obstacles and the hostile environment?

There are a lot of challenges, but I realized years ago that one’s success in life, no matter what field you’re in, will be determined by how well you overcome obstacles. On any given day the weather might be bad, or the animals don’t show up or the boat breaks down, but if you can narrow that field of variables by really preparing to the nth degree then you will have a much greater chance of success.

Have you always been disciplined, or did it develop over time?

I played sports in high school. I played tennis and American football, so I understood discipline. I may not have been the greatest student but for the things that interested me I was very disciplined.

Once I started as a diver and a photographer, everything had to be just perfect. A great photograph doesn’t just happen, it has to be very precise; if you leave it up to chance you’re going to fail. I’ve come to understand the value of discipline even more with each year.

What do you think makes Rolex and National Geographic perfect partners?

I couldn't be more thrilled about this partnership. You have got two iconic brands whose history dates back over a century, both amongst the most trusted brands in the world.

Rolex represents the epitome of excellence. There is nothing that represents human spirit in a better way than that brand. When you see that name, it means something.

It’s the same with National Geographic, which has remained above the fray, because they strive to tell important stories. They’re not political, but yet they’re making statements that bring value to people’s life. It’s about truth.

If you can bring these two together, each is great on its own, but together what might the possibilities be?

Perpetual Planet

Environment

Discover

Share this page