逾十五年的创作交流关于劳力士创艺推荐资助计划

clock阅读需时: 1m05s
scroll-down

劳力士创艺推荐资助计划(Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative)是一项慈善计划,旨在推动全球文化发展。本计划发掘世界各地具天赋的年轻艺术家,让他们与艺术大师合力创作,并在此期间接受一对一的悉心指导。

劳力士秉承支持卓越、优质和表现的传统,让艺术新秀有充足时间学习、创作及成长。

自2002年,劳力士在舞蹈、电影、文学、音乐、戏剧、视觉艺术以及建筑领域,将多位新秀与大师结为师徒。本计划不断演化,让来自不同世代、文化及领域的艺术家互相交流,协助将现有的艺术精神传承至下一代。

计划模式

每隔两年,由杰出艺术家和艺术从业者组成的新任顾问团,均会推荐并确认导师人选。当艺术家获得通知并同意担任导师后,劳力士便会与他们共同拟定门生人选的条件。故此,每对师徒均经过精心筛选。

年青新秀不能直接申请计划。相反,各艺术领域会组成独立的提名小组。其资深成员将选出合适的门生人选,并由劳力士邀请递交申请。小组成员会覆核这些申请,从中为所属领域选出三位名最终入围者。最后,劳力士会安排导师与最终入围者见面,挑选理想门生。

指导年
劳力士要求导师和门生进行不少于六星期的互动,通常他们交流的时间会比要求更长。双方可自由决定地点和合作方式,不论是门生造访导师的工作环境,或两师徒共同创作亦可。

资助
每名门生在指导年内将获得四万瑞士法郎的资金资助,以及交通及其他主要支出的补贴。指导期结束后,各门生可以进一步申请三万瑞士法郎的资助,用于创作或发表新作品、出版新著作、参与演出或公开活动。为答谢他们献出时间、精力及资源,每位导师可获十万瑞士法郎的酬金。

未来
劳力士将于指导年结束后,继续与门生保持连系,并推广他们的艺术作品。不少门生的事业蒸蒸日上,有些在另一领域发展,或与其他门生合作,更有些选择担任计划导师。

指导传统

跟随导师学习交流,蜕变成为真正的艺术家,这个指导模式源远流长,其正式规范初见于古希腊黄金时代伟大思想家的作品中。

在近代历史中,著名的师徒包括德国作曲家和指挥家克里斯蒂安・戈特洛宝・奈弗(Christian Gottlieb Neefe),他是音乐天才路德维希・凡・贝多芬(Ludwig van Beethoven)的学习榜样;法国印象派画家卡米耶・毕沙罗(Camille Pissarro)毕生竭力栽培保罗・高更(Paul Gauguin)、乔治・修拉(Georges Seurat)及保罗・塞尚(Paul Cézanne)等年轻画家。

时至近年,导师指导渐渐被忘却。然而,这个模式在艺术以外的范畴,例如商业和教育等不同领域中,再度备受推崇,视为高效的学习途径。

劳力士秉承支持卓越成就的传统,致力在艺术领域复兴指导传统。本计划的门生能够接触世上最成功的艺术家,而这些大师亦得以透过此机遇分享其智慧、经验及构想。

计划

劳力士创艺推荐资助计划

探索

分享此页面

close

More than 15 years of creatives exchangesABOUT THE ROLEX ARTS INITIATIVE

clockTime to read: 1m05s
scroll-down

The Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative is a philanthropic programme that was set up to make a contribution to global culture. The programme seeks out gifted young artists from all over the world and brings them together with artistic masters for a period of creative collaboration in a one-to-one mentoring relationship.

In keeping with its tradition of supporting individual excellence, Rolex gives emerging artists time to learn, create and grow.

Since 2002, Rolex has paired mentors and protégés in dance, film, literature, music, theatre, visual arts and architecture. The mentoring programme has evolved into an enriching dialogue between artists of different generations, cultures and disciplines, helping ensure that the world’s artistic heritage is passed on to the next generation.

How the programme works?

Every two years, a new advisory board of distinguished artists and arts practitioners suggests and endorses potential mentors. Once the mentors have been approached and have agreed to take part, Rolex works with them to establish a profile of the protégé they would like to work with. Each mentorship is therefore tailor-made.

Young artists cannot apply directly to the programme. Rather, nominating panels – one panel for each artistic discipline – are assembled. The expert panel members identify suitable potential protégés, who are then invited by Rolex to submit applications. Panel members study these applications and recommend three finalists from their respective discipline. Finally, Rolex arranges for the mentor to meet the finalists and choose his or her protégé.

The mentoring year
Mentors and protégés are asked to spend a minimum of six weeks together, though many spend considerably more time. They agree on where and how they want to interact. This may mean a protégé is granted access to a master at work, or to a mentor and protégé actually collaborating on a work.

Support
Each protégé receives a grant of 40,000 Swiss francs during the mentoring year, in addition to funds to cover travel and other major expenses. A budget of a further 30,000 Swiss francs is available to each protégé after the year is over. This is offered specifically towards the creation of a new piece of work, a publication, a performance or public event. To compensate them for the time, energy and other resources they provide, each of the mentors is awarded an honorarium of 100,000 Swiss francs.

The future
After the mentoring year, Rolex stays in touch with the protégés and continues to promote their work. Many of the protégés have gone on to significant careers, have changed disciplines, collaborated with each other and have become mentors themselves.

The heritage of mentoring

Engaging with a mentor as a way to learn and achieve full potential as an artist is an ancient and respected practice. The formalized process appears in the works of the great thinkers of the golden age of the Greeks.

In more recent history, famous mentoring pairs include German composer and conductor Christian Gottlieb Neefe who was a role model for the boy prodigy Ludwig van Beethoven and French impressionist painter Camille Pissarro who devoted his life to nurturing young painters such as Paul Gauguin, Georges Seurat and Paul Cézanne.

Only in relatively recent times has mentoring been neglected. However, it is once again gaining popularity as an effective learning approach in diverse fields beyond the arts, including business and education.

Rolex’s vision for revitalizing mentorship in the arts is in keeping with its tradition of supporting individual excellence. Protégés in the programme are granted unparalleled access to the greatest artists in the world, many of whom welcome the opportunity to share wisdom, experience and ideas.

Programme

Rolex Mentor and Protégé

Discover

Share this page