玛丽雅姆・卡马拉与大卫・阿贾耶建设非洲的独具形象

发布日期: 2020年1月clock阅读需时: 2m15s
scroll-down

著名英籍加纳建筑师大卫・阿贾耶爵士(Sir David Adjaye)与来自尼日尔的门生玛丽雅姆・卡马拉(Mariam Kamara)心怀同一信念,认为非洲建筑需要拥有独具风格。在指导年间,阿贾耶教导卡马拉最宝贵的一课,就是“宗于真我”。

撰文: 莎拉・克朗普顿(Sarah Crompton) 2020年1月
  • 大卫・阿贾耶
    导师
  • 玛丽雅姆・卡马拉
    门生

蜚声国际的英籍加纳建筑师大卫・阿贾耶踏足玛丽雅姆・卡马拉的故乡尼日尔,这成为二人关系的转捩点。在此之前,这对建筑师徒花上一年探讨双方的建筑理念,卡马拉深入认识阿贾耶在世界各地的项目,而阿贾耶亦对卡马拉的工作给予指导和创作方向。2019年1月,二人一同前往卡马拉的家乡。

卡马拉一边回忆,一边眉飞色舞地道:“就在那时开始,他真正认识过去与现在的我,以及我的背景和渴望。我们到访我家的村庄。我们还前往沙漠,在星空下露营;又去了一个名叫阿加德兹(Agadez)的城市,当地居民仍然住在14世纪建造的房屋中。我自成为建筑师后,也未曾回乡,所以这对我十分重要。”

阿贾耶亦表示同意。他说:“这对我而言也是真正的学习机会。此处极具传统气息。我并不熟悉尼日尔。我只是想更深入了解卡马拉的成长地。她的视野引领着我,着实妙极。我原本只视她为后起之秀,现在我俩已成为朋友。我们不仅建立了专业的合作关系,更成为密友。”

漫长旅程让二人有时间侃侃而谈,重温阿贾耶年青时的片段,其时著名建筑师如理察德・罗杰斯(Richard Rogers)和伦佐・皮亚诺(Renzo Piano)均曾向他指点一二。“我理解她当前的种种挣扎,并可对她说:‘我知道你正在经历甚么。’ 我想这能为她带来鼓舞。她是开拓者。她是穆斯林女性,在此文化下,领导才能并不常见。我希望助她一臂之力,要成为一颗冉冉升起的新星绝不容易。”

阿贾耶经验丰富。他本身同样在建筑界迅速崛起;现穿梭伦敦、纽约和加纳的阿克拉(Accra)工作,而他的家人最近亦搬到加纳生活。现年40岁的卡马拉与丈夫和10岁的女儿住在波士顿附近,其事务所atelier masōmī则设于尼亚美(Niamey)。阿贾耶在指导期间的一大要点,就是协助卡马拉在实际层面上经营业务。

我得以从这位大师身上学习,与我尽快成为优秀建筑师的目标不谋而合。

玛丽雅姆・卡马拉,2018至2019年度建筑门生

“我尝试为她估算可能或是现正出现的增长,并设想如何应对。我预视到即将来临的压力,并提醒她深思自己的建筑作品,以免事情变得窘迫。她清楚知道自己在做甚么,这不是问题。问题是学习如何避免失败,持续发展业务,并且慎选项目。部分项目或会带来可观收益,但就她目前的位置而言,价值却不大。”

因此,阿贾耶也认同卡马拉应专注于公共项目。他们均想到在尼亚美市中心正在开发的地区,设计一座全新的艺术中心。这是二人互动的焦点所在,更导致卡马拉比从前更受公众注目。她说:“我正在适应这一方面。这令我的信念更加坚定。我认为自己必须无畏无惧,全力以赴,坚守信念,认清方向,造福建筑界以至整个环境。”

我们碰面之时,卡马拉刚于伦敦皇家艺术学院(Royal Academy of Arts)展示她的设计,阐释她如何运用可持续和传统建筑方法兴建一座中心,缔造崭新的建筑风格。她说:“我深信建筑是由人出发。我希望为大众提供惬意的居住空间。此项目碰巧位于尼日尔,但我可在其他地方做相同事情。与大卫一起工作让我能够进一步整合思绪。”

她在组织想法时,会向阿贾耶传送素描和笔记,他会作出回答但从不直接给予指示。卡马拉说:“我认为他对此兴趣不大,反而对我的念头和希望做的事情更感兴趣。然后他会说:‘这很好,但你说想实现的另一目标,却并未在你传送给我的东西中体现。’ 他总是推动着我变得更加大胆。”

卡马拉打趣说她熟知阿贾耶的各种回应方式。她笑称:“他会说‘不错’或‘很好’或‘继续努力’。他也会不时表达自己的喜悦,而这显然是我想要的。” 更重要的是,这对卡马拉影响深远。“这一切十分关键,所以我需要多一年的时间沉淀。”

“在一般情况下,我对自己十分严苛,事后往往批评自己的设计决定,这很正常,因为我正处于职业生涯的开端……但是与大卫一起完成项目,让我更加相信自己的声音。他的反应使我确信自己的设计触觉。这种自信大多由时间和经验累积而来。这次指导让我肯定自己的声音,而非感到歉疚。”

谈起卡马拉的成就,阿贾耶深感得意。他说:“她羽翼已丰。我期待她在世界舞台上振翅高飞,很高兴能与她同度这个重要时刻。我真的期待她能闯出一片新天地。”

二人合作期间,卡马拉亦成为了他人的榜样。她开展文化中心项目时,举办了工作坊以了解不同人的需求。其中一群是青少年,部分女孩询问她的职业和入行经历。她说:“这开拓了他们的视野。我们现正协助部分人申请入读建筑学院。”

卡马拉表示,劳力士创艺推荐资助计划(Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative)是个出色的学徒计划。她说:“这为生活的许多方面带来转变。这不仅与建筑有关,更关乎对未来的期盼。还有梦想。你想象自己有甚么能够留名后世? 你的生活如何才有意义?

“我希望成为大卫的门生,因为我想在建筑师的路上更进一步。在非洲当建筑师实是挑战重重,我希望好好装备自己,胜任工作。那就是我所追求的东西,而我自觉大卫已为我带来这一切。”

莎拉・克朗普顿是英国一位备受推祟的作家和广播员,涉猎各个文化与艺术领域。她的作品在《卫报》(The Guardian)、《星期日泰晤士报》(The Sunday Times)、《泰晤士报》(The Times)及《观察家报》(The Observer)等刊登。

计划

劳力士创艺推荐资助计划

探索

分享此页面

Mariam Kamara & David AdjayeBuilding Africa in its own image

Published in January 2020clockTime to read: 2m15s
scroll-down

Renowned British-Ghanaian architect Sir David Adjaye and his protégée Mariam Kamara, of Niger share a conviction that African architecture needs its own identity. During the course of their mentorship, the greatest of the many lessons he passed on to her is “to be true to herself”.

by Sarah Crompton January 2020
  • David Adjaye
    The Mentor
  • Mariam Kamara
    The Protégé

A visit to Mariam Kamara’s native Niger was the turning point in the relationship between her and world-famous Ghanaian-British architect David Adjaye. Before that, the architecture mentor and protégée had spent a fruitful year discussing their ideas of architecture, with her gaining insight into his projects around the world and him guiding her creative direction as she built her practice. But in January 2019 they headed together for her home.

“It was the moment he really understood what I was, what I am, where I was coming from, what I really wanted. We went to my family’s village. We went to the desert and camped outside under the stars; we went to a city called Agadez, where people still live in the houses built in the 14th century,” says Kamara, her face lighting up with the memory. “I hadn’t been back there since I became an architect, so it was important for me.”

Adjaye agrees. “It was a real education for me as well,” he says. “It is a very amazing classical place. I don’t know Niger. I just wanted to understand much more deeply where Mariam was coming from. It was wonderful to have her eyes lead me. I just think she is a star and now she has become a friend as well. We have established a very wonderful professional and private friendship.”

The long journeys gave them time to talk, replicating the moments in Adjaye’s own youth when renowned architects such as Richard Rogers and Renzo Piano gave him advice. “I recognize a lot of the struggles she is having and can say, ‘I know what you are going through.’ I think that has been very encouraging for her. She’s a trailblazer. She’s a Muslim woman in a culture that doesn’t expect that kind of leadership. I felt I could support her because being a fast-rising star is not easy.”

He knows the experience. Adjaye’s own rise through the architecture ranks was meteoric; he now has practices in London, New York and Accra, Ghana, where his family has recently moved to live. Kamara, who is 40, lives near Boston with her husband and 10-year-old daughter, but her firm atelier masōmī is based in Niamey. One of Adjaye’s main concerns during his mentorship has been to help her on a practical level in terms of running that office.

I get to learn from this amazing person which completely goes in the direction of the goal that I have of becoming a really good architect as quickly as possible.

Mariam Kamara, 2018-2019 Architecture Protégée

“I am really trying to predict for her the growth that’s going to happen, that is already happening and how to manage that. I can see the pressures that are coming and tell her to think about her infrastructure, so that things don’t overtake her. She clearly knows what she is doing; that’s not an issue. The issue is learning how not to fall over and to create sustainability in the business, to choose projects carefully. Some projects might make a lot of money, but actually, from the point where she is now, are not very valuable.”

For this reason, the pair were keen that Kamara should work on a public project. They came up with the idea that she would design a new arts centre for an area under development in the heart of Niamey. This has been the principal focus of the interaction between them and it has forced Kamara to become a much more public figure than she had been before. “I’m adapting to that,” she says. “It helps that I have fairly strong convictions. I think what I needed was to not be afraid; to just go all out and say this is what I firmly believe in, and this is what I am putting on the table to go in a direction that I think benefits us or benefits the architecture and the environment.”

When we meet, Kamara has just made a presentation of her design at the Royal Academy of Arts in London, explaining her plans for a centre that uses sustainable and traditional methods of building to forge a new kind of architecture. “I fundamentally believe that architecture is about people,” she says. “I want to make space for people to live in and feel good about. I happen to be doing it in Niger, but I could do the same thing elsewhere. Working with David helped me generalize my thinking even more.”

As she developed her ideas, she sent sketches and notes to Adjaye, and he responded but never gave her direct instructions. “I don’t think that would have been interesting for him,” Kamara says. “I think he was much more interested in seeing where my head was and what I wanted to do. Then he would just say things like, ‘OK this is good, but you said you wanted to achieve this other thing, but that’s not what you sent me.’ He’d always push me [to] make it bolder.”

Kamara jokes that she learned that Adjaye had many forms of response. “He’d say, ‘not bad’, or ‘this is good’, or ‘hmm, keep working’,” she says, laughing. “Then, every once in a while, he would express elation, which is obviously what I am looking for.” More seriously, she says the effect on her has been profound. “I think I am going to need another year to process it, because it was so fundamental.

“Normally, I would be so hard on myself, second guessing my design decisions, which is normal because I am at the start of my career… But working through this project with David has allowed me to trust my voice more. His reactions have confirmed that I can trust my design instinct. That kind of confidence usually just comes with time and experience. The mentorship has allowed me to confirm my voice and not apologize for it.”

Adjaye talks of her achievements with great pride. “She’s really grown incredible wings,” he says. “I look forward to her maturing in the world and I am so happy to have been at this critical moment with her. I look forward to her journey, I really do.”

In the course of their work together, Kamara herself has become a role model. When she was beginning the cultural centre project, she ran workshops to investigate what different people wanted. Among those she consulted were a group of teenagers, some of them young women, who quizzed her about her career and how she entered her profession. “I think it opened up possibilities in their minds,” she says. “Now we are helping some of them apply to architecture school.”

Kamara describes the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative as a wonderful apprenticeship. “It’s been life-altering in so many ways,” she says. “It wasn’t just about architecture. We talked about aspirations for the future. About dreaming. What do you dream you could leave behind? How do you live a life that would have had some value?

“I hoped to be David’s protégé pick because I wanted to be a stronger architect. Because there are so many challenges in the African context as an architect, I wanted to develop my skills to be up to the task. That’s what I wanted and I feel that’s what David gave me.”

Sarah Crompton is one of Britain’s most respected writers and broadcasters, commentating on all aspects of culture and the arts. Her work appears in The Guardian, The Sunday Times, The Times and The Observer, among others.

Programme

Rolex Mentor and Protégé

Discover