劳力士创艺推荐资助计划2020至2021年度劳力士创艺推荐资助计划的导师与门生

发布日期: 2020年2月icon-clock阅读需时: 2m10s
icon-scroll-down

艺术大师斯派克・李(Spike Lee)、菲利达・劳埃德(Phyllida Lloyd)、林-曼努尔・米兰达(Lin-Manuel Miranda)及卡丽・梅・维姆斯(Carrie Mae Weems)将藉劳力士创艺推荐资助计划,传承创意火炬予年青新秀。

斯派克・李(电影)、菲利达・劳埃德(戏剧)、林-曼努尔・米兰达(开放类别)及卡丽・梅・维姆斯(视觉艺术),这四位在各自领域均突破创新且举足轻重的艺术家,于今天正式担任2020至2021年度劳力士创艺计划的导师。这些闻名全球的创意先驱将于未来两年,与杰出的年青艺术家紧密合作,互相交流构思,从而令至高的艺术水平得以跨越世代和地域限制,传承不朽。

美国电影制作人斯派克・李选择与凯尔・贝尔(Kyle Bell,33岁,美国)合作;英国导演菲利达・劳埃德则与惠特妮・怀特(Whitney White,33岁,美国)合作;美国艺术家卡丽・梅・维姆斯的门生为卡米拉・罗德里格斯・蒂亚娜(Camila Rodríguez Triana,34岁,哥伦比亚)。美国作曲家、填词人及演员林-曼努尔・米兰达则指导阿古丝蒂娜・圣马丁(Agustina San Martín,28岁,阿根廷)。

2020至2021年度 电影

斯派克・李与凯尔・贝尔

导师,斯派克・李:来自美国的斯派克・李堪为当代最具影响力与社会意识的电影制作人,他制作过无数挑战艺术界限的作品,横跨不同类型,其中共有超过35部长篇电影和纪录片。由他创作、执导以至演出的作品,在文化、历史及美学层面均出类拔萃,而他最新获奖的电影便是《黑色党徒》(BlacKkKlansman,2018年)。此外,斯派克・李亦是纽约大学(NYU)电影研究生课程的终身职位教授及艺术总监,更于第73届戛纳电影节(Festival de Cannes)担任评审团主席。

门生,凯尔・贝尔:过往五年,美国原住民电影制作人凯尔・贝尔致力叙述其民族的故事,他认为它们“没有得到叙述或倾听”。他身兼导演、摄影指导及电影剪接师,作品包括中心部地区艾美奖(Heartland Emmy)得奖纪录片Osiyo: Voices of the Cherokee People,以及短篇纪录片Dig It If You CanDefend the SacredThe Third,这三部作品均曾在全球各地的电影节上映。他也是2019年圣丹斯学院原住民奖学金得主。

2020至2021年度 戏剧

菲利达・劳埃德与惠特妮・怀特

导师,菲利达・劳埃德:英国导演菲利达・劳埃德的一系列大胆创新的戏剧、歌剧、音乐剧及电影作品广受赞誉。她致力通过其工作,在台上台下推动性别平等。她的作品屡获殊荣,其中便为大热音乐剧及电影《妈妈咪呀!》(Mamma Mia!),以及描述玛格丽特・撒切尔生平的《铁娘子》(The Iron Lady,2011年)执导。

门生,惠特妮・怀特:惠特妮・怀特是一位成功的导演、音乐家/作曲家及演员,堪为美国最炙手可热的年轻戏剧制作人之一。她在纽约旋转木马剧团(Roundabout Theatre Company)任职艺术助理,曾执导不同类型的戏剧,从经典的《奥赛罗》(Othello),以至获《纽约时报》赞赏的种族暴力作品What to Send Up When it Goes Down

2020至2021年度 视觉艺术

卡丽・梅・维姆斯与卡米拉・罗德里格斯・蒂亚娜

导师,卡丽・梅・维姆斯:卡丽・梅・维姆斯的艺术作品众多,通过图像、文字、电影、影片、表演,以及她的课堂、演讲、与多个领域的艺术家交流,深入研究性别、种族及阶级歧视等复杂的人生经验。她的艺术生涯高峰作品“厨桌系列”(The Kitchen Table Series,1989至1990年),探索各种不同的妇女的刻板印象。全球各大机构均有展出其备受赞誉的作品。

门生,卡米拉・罗德里格斯・蒂亚娜:哥伦比亚电影制作人兼视觉艺术家卡米拉・罗德里格斯・蒂亚娜的作品扣人心弦,引起观看者的反思。其选题如导师一致,描述日常生活的亲密关系。她的艺术作品在南美和欧洲均有独立或集体展出。此外,蒂亚娜也是赫卡电影公司(Heka Films SAS)的创始人,曾参与制作多部广获好评的纪录片,探索纪录片与虚构小说的交界。

2020至2021年度 开放类别

林-曼努尔・米兰达与阿古丝蒂娜・圣马丁

导师,林-曼努尔・米兰达:作曲家、填词人兼演员林-曼努尔・米兰达曾荣获普利策奖、格莱美奖、艾美奖及托尼奖,也是托尼奖得奖百老汇作品《汉密尔顿》(Hamilton)和《身在高地》(In the Heights)的创作者及原演员。他于2015年和2018年分别获颁麦克阿瑟基金会奖(MacArthur Foundation Award)及肯尼迪中心荣誉奖(Kennedy Center Honors),参与的电视节目和电影包括《佛西与沃登》(Fosse/Verdon)、《黑暗物质》(His Dark Materials)、《周六夜现场》(Saturday Night Live)、《海洋奇缘》(Moana)及《欢乐满人间2》(Mary Poppins Returns)。

门生,阿古丝蒂娜・圣马丁:阿根廷导演、编剧、电影摄影师、着色师及电影剪辑师阿古丝蒂娜・圣马丁,因叙事手法大胆创新而闻名,她期望导师可以“培育和拓展她的创意思维”。圣马丁最近完成长篇电影Matar a la bestia(2020年),其立体多面的作品广获青睐,更凭《怪物上帝》(Monster God,2019年)于第72届戛纳电影节赢得最佳短片评审团特别奖。

计划

劳力士创艺推荐资助计划

探索

Mentor and ProtégéMentors and Protégés for 2020-2021 Arts Initiative

Published in February 2020icon-clockTime to read: 2m10s
icon-scroll-down

Artistic masters Spike Lee, Phyllida Lloyd, Lin-Manuel Miranda and Carrie Mae Weems will pass on their creative legacy to rising talents in the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative.

Four of the most groundbreaking and influential artists in their respective disciplines – Spike Lee (Film), Phyllida Lloyd (Theatre), Lin-Manuel Miranda (Open Category) and Carrie Mae Weems (Visual Arts) – have been named today as mentors in the 2020−2021 Rolex Arts Initiative. These world-renowned innovators will each spend the next two years in close collaboration with an outstanding young artist with whom they will exchange ideas and ensure that artistry at the highest level is transmitted across generations and geographic boundaries.

American filmmaker Spike Lee has chosen to work with Kyle Bell, 33, United States; British director Phyllida Lloyd with Whitney White, 33, United States; and American artist Carrie Mae Weems with Camila Rodríguez Triana, 34, Colombia. American composer, lyricist and actor Lin-Manuel Miranda chose Agustina San Martín, 28, Argentina.

Film 2020 - 2021

SPIKE LEE & KYLE BELL

The Mentor, Spike Lee: One of the most influential and socially conscious filmmakers of his generation, American Spike Lee has produced a prodigious body of artistically daring work across a range of genres, including more than 35 feature films and documentaries. Among the culturally, historically and aesthetically significant films that he creates, directs and sometimes acts in is the recent award-winning BlacKkKlansman (2018). Lee, a tenured Professor and Artistic Director at the New York University (NYU) Graduate Film Program, has been named the President of the Jury at the 73rd Festival de Cannes.

The Protégé, Kyle Bell: Over the past five years, Native American filmmaker Kyle Bell has strived to tell the stories of his people, “stories that don’t get told or whose voices are not heard”. His work as director, director of photography and film editor has included the Heartland Emmy-winning documentary show Osiyo: Voices of the Cherokee People, as well as short documentaries such as Dig It If You Can, Defend the Sacred and The Third, which have been screened at film festivals worldwide. He was named a 2019 Sundance Indigenous Program Fellow.

Theatre 2020 - 2021

PHYLLIDA LLOYD & WHITNEY WHITE

The Mentor, Phyllida Lloyd: Widely recognized for her broad range of bold and innovative theatre, opera, musical and film productions, British director Phyllida Lloyd has spent most of her career promoting gender equality both on and off stage. Among the highlights of her award-winning productions, she directed both the smash-hit musical and film of Mamma Mia!, as well as the Margaret Thatcher biopic, The Iron Lady (2011).

The Protégée, Whitney White: An accomplished director, musician/composer and actress, Whitney White is making her name as one of the most sought after, young theatre-makers in the United States. Artistic Associate at New York’s Roundabout Theatre Company, she has directed a variety of theatrical genres from the classics such as Othello to What to Send Up When it Goes Down, a play about racialized violence that was hailed by The New York Times.

Visual Arts 2020 - 2021

CARRIE MAE WEEMS & CAMILA RODRÍGUEZ TRIANA

The Mentor, Carrie Mae Weems: Carrie Mae Weems’s prolific output through image and text, film, video, performance and her many lectures, presentations and interactions with individuals across a multitude of disciplines delves into complex human experiences including sexism, racism and class. Through her career-defining The Kitchen Table Series (1989-1990), she examines various stereotypes of womanhood. Her highly acclaimed works are exhibited at major institutions throughout the world.

The Protégée, Camila Rodríguez Triana: Colombian filmmaker and visual artist, Camila Rodríguez Triana creates works with great emotional power that question the viewer and, like her mentor’s themes, portray intimate relationships in everyday spaces. Her art has been exhibited in solo and group shows in South America and Europe. As founder of Heka Films SAS, Triana has been responsible for several acclaimed documentary features that explore the limits between documentary and fiction.

Open Category 2020 - 2021

LIN-MANUEL MIRANDA & AGUSTINA SAN MARTÍN

The Mentor, Lin-Manuel Miranda: Pulitzer Prize, Grammy, Emmy and Tony award-winning composer, lyricist and actor Lin-Manuel Miranda is the creator and original star of Broadway’s Tony-winning Hamilton and In the Heights. A recipient of the 2015 MacArthur Foundation Award and the 2018 Kennedy Center Honors, his TV and film credits include Fosse/ Verdon, His Dark Materials, Saturday Night Live, Moana and Mary Poppins Returns.

The Protégée, Agustina San Martín: Known for her bold vision as a storyteller, Argentinean director, screenwriter, cinematographer, colourist and film editor Agustina San Martín is looking to her mentor to “nurture and broaden her creative universes”. Having recently completed the feature film To kill the beast (Matar a la bestia, 2020), San Martín has gained recognition for her multifaceted work, including winning a Special Mention Jury Prize for Best Short Film at the 72nd Cannes Festival for Monster God (2019).

View all projects:

Programme

Rolex Mentor and Protégé

Discover