艾力謝路・高沙里斯・依拿力圖

艾力謝路・高沙里斯・依拿力圖(Alejandro G. Iñárritu)兩度榮獲奧斯卡最佳導演獎,與荷里活傳奇人物尊・福(John Ford)及約瑟曼・基維茲(Joseph L. Mankiewicz)並齊,在電影史上寫下光輝一頁。

他的首部長篇電影《狗男女的愛》(Amores Perros,2000年)和及後的西班牙母語作品《美麗末日》(Biutiful,2010年),均獲得奧斯卡最佳外語片提名。《巴別塔》(Babel,2006年)在三大洲、四個國家取景,並以四種語言演繹,成功獲得七項奧斯卡金像獎提名。

你能夠通過經驗指導更多,因為經驗是活著的。它們會不斷影響你。

艾力謝路・高沙里斯・依拿力圖

2014年,他執導及共同編撰首部喜劇《飛鳥俠》,並獲九項奧斯卡金像獎提名,最終贏得四項大獎,而依拿力圖便榮膺當中三項。2016年,他憑《復仇勇者》再次勇奪奧斯卡金像獎,成為史上第三位連續兩年贏得最佳導演獎的製作人,而電影亦榮獲12項金像獎提名。

他的最新作品《肉與沙》(CARNE y ARENA)是一部概念性的虛擬實境裝置電影,情節基於真實背景,讓觀眾感受難民的心路歷程。作品於2017年奧斯卡理事會獎頒獎禮(Governors Awards)贏得獎項。他的電影作品經常以非線性鋪排,展現環環交織的故事。電影情節的時間由導演所構建,對故事演繹舉足輕重。

艾力謝路・高沙里斯・依拿力圖

開啟自覺意識

導師如何協助年青電影製作人?

導師能夠說其所思所想。部分會賦予你知識,教導你電影的製作方法。若要成功,你必須這樣做,親臨影院,克服問題,然而這只是知識理論。而「另一類」導師則有所不同……他們讓你看清自己,了解你從未見過的一面;他們讓你有自信實踐,即使你自覺不知所措。

當你能夠抒發人生閱歷,將它化作個人象徵的圖像時,那已是極美的作品。我們均具有這種能力,只待伯樂發掘。

他們讓你看清自己,了解你從未見過的一面;他們讓你有自信實踐。艾力謝路・高沙里斯・依拿力圖

而你便具有那「另一類」的才能,對嗎?

也許。有時候參與年青人的會議,若有歷時約一、兩個小時的座談機會,而你又有一些想法或經驗希望分享,那經驗便確實能夠為他人的作品或自身帶來啟迪。

我認為你可以從分享自己犯下的錯誤中學習更多。如果有人能夠因而避免重蹈覆轍,那也是一種成就。

新一代電影製作人明白知識與經驗的分別重要嗎?

新一代電影製作人常認為在互聯網備有所需知識,而且可以隨時查找,故覺得自己已具備足夠知識。但是沒有人生閱歷的沉浸,這種知識也是沒有任何用處。

你可以從書本中學習嗎?

任何經驗也要較書本知識更為透徹。因為事情可以通過上千種方式解決,沒有人有最終的定案。沒有任何人。你能夠通過經驗指導更多,因為經驗是活著的。它們會不斷影響你。

你曾有過導師嗎?

我非常榮幸得到過兩位導師指點,他們的指導方式大相逕庭,卻同樣不只於傳授知識,讓我發揮最佳表現。這正是導師的工作。我曾有幸跟隨博學的波蘭移民盧域・馬古利斯(Ludwik Margules)學習戲劇,他教導我要經常質疑自己,並在過程中接納一切不確定的因素。他改變了我對導演角色的理解。此前我以為已明白執導的意義,卻沒有真正理解、深厚知識及自覺意識。他帶給我自信,讓我在解答自己的疑問時不再懼怕,且心懷對電影藝術的謙遜與崇拜之情。我認為老師不能教導這種事情。老師只會傳授知識,但智慧卻是在此以外。他令我對人類戲劇充滿熱忱,迷上通過電影製作揭示人性的擬劇論。

我非常榮幸得到過兩位導師指點,他們的指導方式大相逕庭,卻同樣不只於傳授知識,讓我發揮最佳表現。

艾力謝路・高沙里斯・依拿力圖

另一方面,我的朋友歐恩斯托・波里奧(Ernesto Bolio)不太理解電影,卻深明人生真諦(而人生便是電影的主要題材)。他甚具智慧與耐心,教導我接受、學習、轉化及克服生命中最艱難的時刻。你總不會孤身一人。某程度而言,他開啟了我的自覺意識,敞開大門,使我了解自己,展示最佳一面。因此我希望協助他人,正如這兩位男士扶助我一樣。

導演的時計

滿載歷史的腕錶

externalLinkRolex.com

分享此頁面

Alejandro G. Iñárritu

Alejandro G. Iñárritu’s two Best Director Oscars have earned the Mexican filmmaker a place in movie history next to Hollywood legends John Ford and Joseph L. Mankiewicz.

His debut feature film, the 2000 drama Amores Perros, as well as the second film he directed in his native Spanish language, Biutiful (2010), were nominated for Best Foreign Language Film Oscars. His 2006 film Babel, set in four countries on three continents and shot in four languages, earned seven Academy Award nominations.

You can teach more through experiences because experiences are alive. They continue to impact on you.

Alejandro G. Iñárritu

In 2014, he directed and co-wrote his first comedy, Birdman. The film received nine Academy Award nominations, and went on to win four Oscars, including three for Iñárritu. In 2016, he won another Academy Award, for The Revenant, becoming only the third director in history to win the Best Director Oscar two years in a row; the film itself was nominated for 12 Academy Awards.

His latest work, CARNE y ARENA (Virtually present, Physically invisible), is a conceptual, virtual reality installation that allows viewers to experience a fragment of the personal journeys undertaken by refugees. It was awarded a special Oscar at the 2017 Governors Awards. Iñárritu’s films often feature interconnected stories and a nonlinear narrative, a realm where time is manufactured and plays a paramount role.

Alejandro G. Iñárritu

Opening consciousness

How can a mentor help a young filmmaker?

A mentor is able to say what they think, what they feel. The one who gives you the knowledge, who tells you that cinema is done like this. To succeed you need to do this, to be in theatres, to make it work, but that is just knowledge. The “other” is something else… someone who helps you see something within yourself, something that you had not seen and who gives you the confidence to carry it out, even if you think you don’t know it.

When you are able to express your human experience and translate it into images that reveal to you who you are, that is already poetic. We all have that ability, we just need someone to discover us.

Someone who helps you see something within yourself, something that you had not seen and who gives you the confidence to carry it out.Alejandro G. Iñárritu

And you have that “other thing”, don't you?

Could be. Sometimes I have these meetings, conferences with young people, where if it is a one-hour talk, two hours, if there is anything, some line, some experience you can share, truly, that experience can illuminate someone’s work or someone’s inspiration.
I think you learn a lot more from the mistakes you can share, the ones you have participated in. If someone can learn to avoid exactly what you did, that is part of the contribution.

Is it important that new generations of filmmakers understand the difference between knowledge and experience?

Often, new generations think that because knowledge is available on the Internet, and is there waiting for them at any time, that it is inside of them. But that knowledge doesn’t do anything if there isn’t a complete immersion inside the experience of the person.

Can you learn from a book?

Any experience can be more revealing than a knowledge you learn from a book. Because things can be done in a thousand ways and nobody has the last answer. Nobody. You can teach more through experiences because experiences are alive. They continue to impact on you.

Did you have a mentor?

I was lucky to have two mentors who – in very different ways and beyond just transmitting knowledge – brought out the best in me. That is what a mentor does. Ludwik Margules, an erudite Polish immigrant with whom I was lucky to study theatre, taught me to always question myself and to embrace uncertainty as part of the process. He transformed my perception of what it was like to be a director. I had jumped to a conclusion of what directing was like, but I didn't have the real perception, the deep knowledge, the consciousness. He gave me the self-confidence to answer my own questions without fear, and with humility and veneration for the art. I don’t think it’s possible for a teacher to tell you that. A teacher gives you knowledge, but wisdom is something else. He filled me with a passion for human drama, to the dramaturgy of being able to represent human nature in the art of filmmaking.

I was lucky to have two mentors who – in very different ways and beyond just transmitting knowledge – brought out the best in me.

Alejandro G. Iñárritu

On the other hand, my friend Ernesto Bolio, who knows very little about movies, but knows a lot about life (and life is the stuff that movies are made of). With patience and profound wisdom, he taught me to accept, learn and to transform, overcome the most difficult situations of my life. You don’t go anywhere alone. In a way, he opened my consciousness, he opened the door of light to get to know myself and to get the best out of myself. That’s why I would like to be there for someone else, in much the same way these men were there for me.

Director’s timepiece

A watch with its own history

icon-externalLinkRolex.com

View all projects: