占士・金馬倫

占士・金馬倫(James Cameron)的電影不僅在藝術概念和先進視覺效果上帶來了巨大變革,更在美國及全球創下眾多記錄;《鐵達尼號》(Titanic)保持全球影史票房紀錄之冠達12年,其後被《阿凡達》(Avatar)打破,並維持同一紀錄10年。

金馬倫的電影亦獲得多項提名及大獎。其中《鐵達尼號》便創下提名及獲獎紀錄,榮獲14項奧斯卡提名,並贏得11項金像獎,包括最佳影片獎、最佳導演獎及最佳剪輯獎。

我們在前人的基業上發展。


占士・金馬倫

金馬倫的職業生涯充分體現他的愛好──電影製作、海洋探索及科技,其中環境保育思想更與其作品環環相扣。他擔任《深淵》(The Abyss)編劇、監製及導演,革新水底拍攝及採光技術。深海的魅力令他對著名船骸鐵達尼號產生興趣。1995年,金馬倫乘坐12人潛水器探索鐵達尼號,準備拍攝長篇電影,並空前研發出適用於深海高壓環境的拍攝、採光及機械裝備。《鐵達尼號》令金馬倫希望潛入更深處。2012年3月26日,他創下單人深潛紀錄,乘坐共同設計及製造的DEEPSEA CHALLENGER潛水器深入水底11公里(7英里),抵達馬里亞納海溝(Mariana Trench)挑戰者深淵的世界最深處。金馬倫堅持為觀眾送上真實、陌生及想像世界的嶄新迷人體驗。

占士・金馬倫

創意薪火相傳

你對指導有甚麼看法?

你不能強迫別人接受指導。他們必須樂意聆聽你的分享。最佳的方式是為他們提供創作環境,如果需要協助,他們自會發問。若然他們不欲提問,那你便應該退下來。

我的高中生物學老師麥堅時(McKenzie)常鼓勵我們這些瘋狂的邊緣分子抒發自己。學校從沒有戲劇課程,所以我們便決定成立一個。我們會在課後建造舞台、設置燈光、製作佈景,以至演出劇目。他定立方針,然後讓我們隨心而發。

麥堅時老師常鼓勵我們這些瘋狂的邊緣分子抒發自己……他定立方針,然後讓我們隨心而發。占士・金馬倫

你同意指導是雙向性嗎?

史丹利・寇比力克(Stanley Kubrick)是我最喜受的電影製作人之一。我從他身上學到不要重覆橋段。我長途跋涉到訪他位於英國的住所,並告訴他其作品對我的莫大意義。然而他卻不想談起舊事。他當時正著手製作新電影《人工智能》(A.I.),希望詢問我關於《真實謊言》(True Lies)的視覺特效,因為他知道有一種嶄新的數碼複合技術。

我花上整整一天指導史丹利・寇比力克。那確是一次非凡體驗。史丹利好像海綿般吸收知識。他已年近八十,卻仍然保持小孩的開放心境,虛心學習技術,了解使用方法及如何更進一步。

合作製作電影有何意義?

電影導演有時會萌起絕妙的構思,卻無法實現。即使像我一樣親手編寫題材,也會有不清作品發展的情況,那時候我便會與其他藝術家合作釐清構想。得到藝術家的反饋非常重要。我喜愛與天賦洋溢的人結伴,一和一唱,彷如爵士樂隊。

你可以描述電影製作藝術的知識傳遞過程嗎?

我們在前人的基業上發展。我們看到先例,因而感到興奮,不禁說「我希望做出那作品」,或「創作自己的版本」。然後我們須傳承所知至新一代製作人。

藝術家的一筆一畫、鏡頭的每寸移動、編劇的每行對白,均是出自他們的總經歷。你可以吸收電影、書本、藝術、音樂及人生的經驗,通過你的心思轉化,成就出非凡作品。

觀看雷・哈利豪森(Ray Harryhausen)的電影《神秘島》(Mysterious Island)時,我深受啟發。我其時還是三、四年級。我隨即開始繪畫我構想的《神秘島》漫畫,因為我不甘只當粉絲。我希望創作出自己的版本。

得到藝術家的反饋非常重要。我喜愛與天賦洋溢的人結伴,一和一唱,彷如爵士樂隊。

占士・金馬倫

我學習傑克・科比(Jack Kirby)和其他漫畫家的繪畫技巧。我仔細看漫畫,並學習畫出各種姿勢。它與古典藝術截然不同。他們通過一系列圖像敘述故事,就如電影。至今我仍然覺得在片場每天的工作與漫畫家無異。

創意薪火相傳,而你更是置身其中。你手中拿著那創意之火。時機來臨時,你必須將薪火傳承下去,某位心懷熱忱和眾多意念,且希望與下一代宣揚密切題材的創意之士,將接過火炬展開旅程。

導演的時計

滿載歷史的腕錶

externalLinkRolex.com

分享此頁面

James Cameron

James Cameron’s films have blazed a trail for their artistic realization and for advanced visual effects, setting numerous performance records in the United States and internationally. Titanic held the record for the highest grossing film in history for 12 years, only surpassed by Avatar, which maintained that record for another decade.

Cameron’s films have also earned numerous nominations and awards. Most notably, Titanic received 14 Academy Award nominations and won 11 Oscars, both records, including Cameron's three Oscars for Best Picture, Best Director and Best Editing.

We build on the shoulders of the people who came before us.

James Cameron

Cameron’s career expresses his passions – filmmaking and oceans exploration and technology, the latter part of the environmental advocacy interwoven in much of his creative work. He wrote, produced and directed The Abyss, which broke new ground in underwater cinematography and lighting. His attraction to the deep ultimately drew him to the Everest of shipwrecks: Titanic. In 1995, Cameron made 12 manned-submersible dives to the Titanic in preparation for his feature film, developing unprecedented filming, lighting and robotic equipment for use in the extreme pressures of the deep. Titanic fuelled Cameron’s desire to go even deeper. On 26 March 2012, he made a record-breaking solo dive to the earth’s deepest point, piloting the DEEPSEA CHALLENGER submersible he co-designed and engineered 11 kilometres (7 miles) to the bottom of the Challenger Deep in the Mariana Trench. Cameron continues to bring audiences new and compelling experiences of worlds real, alien and imagined.

James Cameron

Passing on the torch of creativity

What is your approach to mentoring?

You can’t force it on them. They have to want to hear what you have to share. The best way is to provide an environment to let them create within, and if they want your help, they’ll ask for it. And if they don’t, it’s better to just stay the heck back.

My high school biology teacher Mr McKenzie encouraged us crazy, fringe-type kids to express ourselves. My school had never had a theatre arts programme so we created one. We would stay after school for hours to create a stage, put in lighting, build sets to put on plays. He created the framework and let us go.

Mr McKenzie encouraged us crazy, fringe-type kids to express ourselves… he created the framework and let us go.James Cameron

Would you agree mentoring is a two-way process?

One of my favourite filmmakers was Stanley Kubrick. I learned from him never to do the same thing twice. I made a pilgrimage to his house in England and got to tell him how important his work was to me. But he didn’t want to talk about his old stuff. He was making a new movie called A.I. and wanted to pick my brain about how we did the visual effects in True Lies because he knew that there was this new thing with digital composites.

I literally spent the day mentoring Stanley Kubrick. It was the most surreal experience. Stanley was like a sponge. Here is a guy who was almost 80 and still open and childlike, and all about the craft, all about learning how to do it and do it better.

What is the value of collaboration in filmmaking?

There’s this idea that the auteur shows up with a perfect vision, but it doesn’t work that way. Even somebody like myself who writes my own material, I come in with a hazy out-of-focus picture and then I work with the artists to refine that picture. Getting the feedback from other artists is the important thing. I love to surround myself with the most talented people available and then just riff, just jam, like a jazz combo.

Can you describe the process of how knowledge is transferred in filmmaking?

We build on the shoulders of the people who came before us. We see the example, it excites us and we say I want to do that, or my version of that. Then we have to pass on what we know to a new generation.

Every brush stroke an artist makes, every move of the camera, every line of dialogue any screenwriter writes, is based on the sum total of everything they’ve experienced. You can absorb movies, books, art, music, the experience of your life, it all goes into a blender, through the filter of your mind’s eye and comes out as something.

When I saw Ray Harryhausen’s movie Mysterious Island, I was on fire. I was in the third or fourth grade. I started drawing my own Mysterious Island comics because I didn’t want to just be a fan. I wanted to do my own version.

Getting the feedback from other artists is the important thing. I love to surround myself with the most talented people available and then just riff, just jam, like a jazz combo.

James Cameron

I learned to draw from Jack Kirby and other comics artists. I saw the comics and learned the poses. It was so different from classical art. They were telling stories in a series of pictures, just like cinema. I still think of the work that I do every day on the set as very much like that.

There’s a torch of creativity that gets passed down and there’s you standing there. You’ve got that torch in your hands for a moment. At a certain point you have to pass that torch on, and someone exploding with ideas and with passion and things to say that are relevant to their generation will take that torch and run with it.

Director’s timepiece

A watch with its own history

externalLinkRolex.com

Share this page