凯瑟琳・毕格罗

凯瑟琳・毕格罗(Kathryn Bigelow)成为导演前,曾在旧金山艺术学院(San Francisco Art Institute)修读绘画,并在哥伦比亚大学(Columbia University)考获电影专业硕士学位。她为其首部长篇电影《无爱》(The Loveless ,1981年)共同编剧并担任导演,此作品广受好评。

她于1990年代执导三部动作电影:《霹雳蓝天使》(Blue Steel,1990年)、《终极豪情》(Point Break,1991年)及《末世纪暴潮》(Strange Days,1995年,由同为劳力士代言人的詹姆斯・卡梅隆担任编剧及制片人),挑战动作镜头的传统拍摄手法,其视觉审美观点备受认可。

我觉得你不会知道自己正在传授知识予他人。

凯瑟琳・毕格罗

其后的作品奠定她在好莱坞世界的地位,其富政治元素的动作惊悚电影包括《拆弹部队》(The Hurt Locker,2008年)及《刺杀本・拉登》(Zero Dark Thirty,2012年),她凭借两部电影获得奥斯卡提名,其中更因《拆弹部队》而荣膺奥斯卡最佳影片奖及最佳导演奖。毕格罗的最新执导作品《底特律》(Detroit),采材自1967年底特律暴动,探索美国种族暴力的问题。她的电影审视生活环境中的政治矛盾,让这位导演透过电影界抒发情感。当中描述的情节反映现实情况,协助观众辨识社会现状。

凯瑟琳・毕格罗

灵感的形成

你会如何描述指导过程?

我觉得你不会知道自己正在传授知识予他人。这是指导的本质。启发或指导的过程,不论如何加以描述,总离不开传递资讯、知识或想法,而且是不自觉的。你不会想“我正在接受指导”或“我的作品有可能正为别人提供学习契机”。这是一种无形、直观,而且不能控制的过程。

过程总离不开传递资讯、知识或想法,而且是不自觉的。凯瑟琳・毕格罗

谁是你艺术生涯初期的导师?

劳伦斯・韦纳(Lawrence Weiner)推动整个观念艺术运动的诞生,并将此概念传递给我等,使我们启发良多。那段变革不断的日子令人非常兴奋,你少不免会受它影响。它成为你创作与意识的一部分,永远在作品中看到其踪影。这正是资讯和知识传递的方式。最少对我而言就是这样。

你同意指导关系是双向性吗?

这不仅是提供或传递知识者的责任。这是一种辩证、一种交流。这是如何提供以及收取讯息的方式,知识便是从中传递。就劳伦斯而言,指导向来是一种交流。他非常严厉,处处挑战你的构想。你为何想制作这作品? 这为何是一个有趣的构想? 他会提出这些丰富的存在性问题,十年间我们大概每周最少碰面数次,展开精彩而严谨的讨论,充满挑战性,使人既兴奋又沮丧。对我而言,灵感就是这样形成。

知识如何恒久传承?

观看艺术作品、物品、信息或电影都是一种变化,它改变你的宇宙观,潜移默化。然后此观念又会经由你的行动表现出来,例如对话、电影、画作、信息或书籍。故此,资讯传递本就是恒久不息,再通过其他人不断深化。你由此得知资讯。你因此受它影响。杰出的艺术作品会让你感到惊喜,因为你没有预计结果;当电影作品成功震撼我,我便会感到兴奋万分。我不希望预想故事结构。我想被它所迷倒。劳伦斯・韦纳打开我的双目,让我了解到仔细检验与接受惊喜的思维角度,以及艺术如何演进和传递资讯。我们的思维非常多变。

你不能够忘却所学,亦不能忘记所知。我们并非电脑,不能按下删除按钮。你具备这一切资讯、探险点滴、发现、影响、灵感。它们藉由你传承下去。

你不能够忘却所学,亦不能忘记所知。

凯瑟琳・毕格罗

试想像满布鱼群的珊瑚礁。那些就是你的影响力。你在世上游走,它们便不其然来到你的身边。而你就是那曾影响过你、与你擦碰过、对你仁慈或冷酷的珊瑚礁的一部分。生命的汪洋冲刷着你,如浪涛般打击你,你只想拼命浮在水面。有时候你会喘不过气来。这是一个艰难严峻的过程,尤其当你获得慑人却谦逊的非凡之士所启发。这是一种变革,没有其他方法可以描述它。

导演的时计

满载历史的腕表

icon-externalLinkRolex.com

浏览所有项目:

Kathryn Bigelow

Kathryn Bigelow, who originally studied painting at the San Francisco Art Institute before receiving a Master’s in Film from Columbia University and becoming a filmmaker, in 1981 co-wrote and directed her first feature film, The Loveless, which gained critical acclaim.

In the 1990s, she directed a trilogy of action films, Blue Steel (1990), Point Break (1991) and Strange Days (1995), written and produced by fellow Rolex Testimonee James Cameron. In these films she challenged the conventions of action cinema and garnered praise for her visual aesthetic.

I don’t think you know at the time that it’s happening, that you’re passing on knowledge to somebody else.

Kathryn Bigelow

Her position as a Hollywood heavyweight was solidified with her subsequent films, the political action-thrillers The Hurt Locker in 2008 and Zero Dark Thirty in 2012, both of which earned her Oscar nominations. For The Hurt Locker, Bigelow won Academy Awards for Best Picture and Best Director. With her most recent film, Detroit, Bigelow directed and produced a film based on the 1967 Detroit riots, exploring race-related violence in the United States. Her films provoke an examination of the politics that surround us, and have established the director as a true auteur. They have depicted incidents in time which act as a reflection on society, in turn, helping to define that same society.

Kathryn Bigelow

The genesis of inspiration

How would you describe the mentoring process?

I don’t think you know at the time that it’s happening, that you’re passing on knowledge to somebody else. This is the authenticity of it. Looking at the process of inspiration or mentorship, however you want to describe it, it is really a process of transferring information, transferring knowledge, a way of thinking, and it’s unconscious. You don’t think, oh, I’m being mentored or my work is potentially providing a crucible for somebody else to learn from. It’s an invisible, intuitive process you can’t control.

It is really a process of transferring information, transferring knowledge, a way of thinking, and it’s unconscious.Kathryn Bigelow

Who was your mentor in those formative years as an artist?

Lawrence Weiner basically gave birth to an entire movement called conceptual art, and then transferred that to people, like me, who were emboldened by it. I found it to be a very exciting, transformative period, and you carry it with you in some way. It becomes part of your creative and intellectual construct and comes out in the work you do forever. That’s how that transferring of information and knowledge occurs. At least it was that way for me.

Would you agree the mentoring relationship is a two-way process?

It is not only incumbent on the person providing the knowledge or transferring the knowledge. It’s a dialectic. It’s a communication. It’s a way of providing a text and then how that text is received, and that is where knowledge is transferred. With Lawrence, it was always a conversation. He would be very challenging, challenge your ideas. Why do you want to make this? Why is that an interesting idea? He would pose these wonderful existential questions and over 10 years, we probably met at least a few times a week and we would have these great, rigorous conversations that were in equal parts challenging, exciting, frustrating. That, for me anyway, is the genesis of inspiration.

How is this transfer of knowledge perpetuated?

Receiving a particular work, or object, or text or a film, is transformative, it changes the way you see, your perception of the universe, and you internalize that. Then it becomes externalized in whatever you are doing – a conversation, a film, a painting, a text or a book. So there is a transmission of information that perpetuates itself, and is then re-internalized through other people. You’re informed by it. You’re influenced by it. A great work of art surprises you, you didn’t anticipate it, and when a film surprises me, that’s when I’m excited. I don’t want to anticipate something, a narrative construct. I want to be surprised by it. Lawrence Weiner opened my eyes to the process of both examination and surprise, and how art can enhance, inform. Our minds are very elastic.

You can never unlearn what you learn, you can never unknow what you know. We’re not like computers, we can’t hit delete. You have all of that information, all of those explorations, those discoveries, those influences, those inspirations. They live on with you.

You can never unlearn what you learn, you can never unknow what you know.

Kathryn Bigelow

Think of a coral reef with all these schools of fish. Those are all your influences. You’re swimming in this world and then they’re all around you. You are part of that coral reef that has influenced you, that has brushed up against you, been kind to you, been cruel to you. It is the sea of life that washes over you, buffets you like a current and you just try to stay afloat. There are times when you’re gasping for air. It is a challenging, rigorous process, especially if you’re being inspired by somebody who is so extraordinary and intimidating and humbling. It’s just transformative, there is no other way to describe it.

Director’s timepiece

A watch with its own history

icon-externalLinkRolex.com

View all projects: