詹姆斯・卡梅隆

劳力士与电影艺术

探索

scroll-down

詹姆斯・卡梅隆(James Cameron)是享负盛名的电影制作人及探险家。他身兼导演、编剧及制片人,于过去三十年间,制作出众多经典难忘电影:《终结者》(The Terminator,1984年)、《异形》(Aliens,1986年)、《深渊》(The Abyss,1989年)、《终结者2:审判日》(Terminator 2: Judgment Day,1991年),《真实的谎言》(True Lies,1994年)、《泰坦尼克号》(Titanic,1997年)及《阿凡达》(Avatar,2009年)。

电影艺术
大师

他的电影不仅在视觉效果上带来了巨大变革,更在全球创下众多记录;《阿凡达》打破全球影史票房纪录,而同样的纪录《泰坦尼克号》则保持了 12 年之久。卡梅隆的电影亦获得多项奥斯卡®提名及大奖。《泰坦尼克号》更刷新了提名及获奖最多记录,在当届获得14项提名,并囊括了11个奖项,其中包括卡梅隆赢得的最佳影片、最佳导演及最佳剪辑奖。

自1969年,卡梅隆便一直向往水肺潜水,共花上3,000小时探潜,当中更有500小时使用潜水盔的经验。为结合潜水与电影这两项爱好,他担任《深渊》的编剧、监制及导演,革新水底拍摄及采光技术。深海的魅力令他对著名船骸泰坦尼克号产生兴趣。1995年,卡梅隆乘坐12人潜水器探索泰坦尼克号,准备拍摄长篇电影。在此探索历程中,卡梅隆空前研发出适用于深海高压环境的拍摄、采光及机械装备。旅程上取得的技术成就,让他希望将深海探索经验带给世界各地的观众,并因而在其纪录片中谈及海洋探索及保护。

访谈

电影的卓越传承对你有什么意义?

我一直锲而不舍地找寻改善电影作品的方法,增加与观众的共鸣。我试过在团队和制作中推行一套想法,尝试让电影更进一步,因为我害怕以往订立的创作方向会一成不变。这就是我心中追求卓越的恒动传承。世上没有完美的事物。你或许可以在数学运算完美准确,但却不能在艺术上达至完美。然而,你会希望为银幕上呈献的作品感到自豪,因为它会流传至后世。

害怕失败,往往会令你进步。当你知道作品会流传多年,如果你有幸出版成功的电影,甚至五十年后仍有观众欣赏,对于在电影中留有瑕疵的恐惧,便会推动你进步,发奋努力,而这就是我作为电影制作人希望拥有的心理素质。我想持续奋斗,不希望感到已经达成目标。制作电影的过程非常有趣,而其中最深刻的便是作品为你不断带来惊喜。

你会如何勉励年轻电影制作人?

对于刚出身的电影制作人,我会给他们一些老派劝勉,因为尽管媒介不断改变,某些事物始终恒久不变。第一:你需要触动人心。这个准则愈来愈难以达成,因为现在有太多不同工具,近乎无边无际的视觉特效,你或会渐渐失去对人心的触觉。我想及的另一个要点便是永恒不朽,这是故事的基本建构,你会如何叙述故事,如何铺排,如何吸引观众,如何令他们身同感受?这些要素非常重要。

不用理会工具、华丽镜头及夺目特效,你只需要保持真诚,反思自己的情感,因为这便是你与观众沟通的媒介。

自信的电影制作人会接纳身边以至上级的意见。

你认为电影制作人的责任是什么?

我们务必在对白行间中带出信息。我觉得现在世上充斥着许多负能量,而作为电影制作人,我们可以积极行善、重新检视自己,或推出表扬人类美德的电影。譬如,角色被带到一个极端的地方,我们便可以从中学习,我亦会在此低调地加入一些责任信息,这是我一贯的作风。

当灵感爆发时 ,马上付诸行动 。

什么使电影作品历久不衰?

电影能够跨越时代洪流,但是有许多作品却不想向这方面发展。它们宗于当代,富于时代精神。电影首先必须触动全球所有观众。制作电影时,你需要在新鲜与经典中找到平衡。所有文化均有某些相同的特质,若果你找到这些基本元素,便可以吸引来自上述文化背景的观众。举例说明,在雨林居住的土著民族欣赏《阿凡达》时均非常激动,因为电影以大都会的角度讲及他们的生活问题。尽管这个例子有所不同,但它仍然围绕我们心中的基本元素,那便是爱以及对大自然的向往。倘若你希望制作历久不衰的电影,便必须从基本考量人心和人类境况。

分享此页面

James
Cameron

Rolex and cinema

scroll-down

James Cameron is an acclaimed filmmaker and explorer. As director, writer and producer he is responsible for some of the most memorable films of the past three decades: The Terminator (1984), Aliens (1986), The Abyss (1989), Terminator 2: Judgement Day (1991), True Lies (1994), Titanic (1997), and Avatar (2009).

Master
of his craft

James Cameron’s films have blazed new trails in visual effects and set numerous performance records both domestically and abroad; Avatar is the highest grossing film in history, and Titanic held that same record for 12 years. Cameron's films have also earned numerous nominations and awards. Most notably, Titanic received 14 Academy Award nominations and won 11 Oscars®, both records, including Cameron's three Oscars® for Best Picture, Best Director and Best Editing.

Cameron has been an avid scuba diver since 1969, logging more than 3,000 hours underwater, including 500 hours in helmets. Seeking to combine his two great passions – diving and filmmaking – he wrote, produced and directed The Abyss, which broke new ground in underwater cinematography and lighting. His attraction to the deep ultimately drew him to the Everest of shipwrecks: Titanic. In 1995, Cameron made 12 manned-submersible dives to the Titanic in preparation for his feature film. For that expedition Cameron developed unprecedented filming, lighting and robotic equipment for use in the extreme pressures of the deep. The technical success of that expedition fuelled his desire to bring the experience of deep ocean exploration to audiences around the world, which is expressed in his documentary filmmaking about ocean exploration and conservation.

The interview

What does perpetual excellence in filmmaking mean to you?

I’m perpetually seeking a way to make the film better, to increase the way in which it resonates with people. I’ve tried to push for an ethos amongst the entire crew and throughout the production, to take a film beyond, to go that little bit farther because frankly I’m terrified that the creative decisions we make will persist forever. That’s the perpetual part that in my mind drives you towards excellence. There’s no such thing as perfection. You can have perfection in mathematics but you can’t have perfection in art. But you want to be proud of what you put up there on the screen, because it will persist forever.

Being afraid of failure, makes you better. When you know that it’s going to last for years and if you’re lucky and it’s a successful film, people may be seeing it 50 years from now, that fear of putting something in there that you don’t like, that’s what makes you good or at least it keeps you striving and that’s where I want to be as a filmmaker. I want to constantly be striving. I don’t ever want to feel like I’ve arrived. The journey is the fun part, the best experience in filmmaking is when your own movie surprises you as you go along.

What would you like to say to young filmmakers?

To a filmmaker who is just getting established, I would give old school advice because the medium is constantly changing but there are certain things that don’t change. One: you’ve got to deal with the human heart, which is getting harder because there are so many tools, it’s virtually unlimited now with visual effects, and you could start to lose touch with the human heart. The other thing that I think is timeless is the basics of storytelling, how do you tell a story, how do you unfold it to the audience, how do you draw them in and make the audience care? These are the critical things.

It’s not about the tools, it’s not about the flashy shots, it’s not about the big special effects. You have to speak with an authentic voice and stay constantly in touch with your own emotional self because that, ultimately, is what you’re communicating to the audience.

A confident filmmaker is open to ideas, from those around you, and from those above.

Do you think that as a filmmaker, you have a responsibility?

I think it’s our responsibility to put forth messages between the lines. I think there are enough negative voices in the world right now, that as filmmakers we can do good, we can reacquaint ourselves or reinforce in movie theatres those things that are great about being a human being. Let’s see a character taken to an extreme place, that’s how we learn as human beings but let’s have some kind of undercurrent of responsibility; at least that’s how I approach it.

Know when lightning strikes and be quick to bottle it.

What makes a film endure?

It is possible to make a film that stands outside its time, but a lot of films don’t want to do that. I think they want to be very much of the moment and of the zeitgeist. First of all, a film has to speak universally to people. You have to find a balance of the fresh and the classic approach to filmmaking. There are certain human universals that lie underneath every culture. If you get back down to those elemental things, then you can entertain and absorb someone in any one of those cultures. I found, for example, with Avatar that people that lived an indigenous life in the rainforest who had an opportunity to see the film were as enthralled by it – because it dealt with their issues – as people who lived in a major metropolitan city. It worked on them in different ways but it was still dealing with that elemental thing within us, which is our love and our attraction to nature. If the goal is to make a film that lasts over time, you’ve got to deal with the human heart and the human condition at its most elemental level.

Share this page