日本建筑诗人

clock阅读需时: 1m10s
scroll-down

妹岛和世(Kazuyo Sejima)的优雅极简主义,重新定义公共建筑。蜚声国际的妹岛和世,曾设计出呈波浪形的劳力士研修中心和其他重要建筑物,引得全球建筑界纷纷仿效,其业务倍加忙碌。尽管她日理万机,但仍乐意抽空为劳力士创艺推荐资助计划培育新一代建筑师。

撰文:妮奥米・波洛克(Naomi Pollock)

有时候,一位建筑师的出名,在于其崭新视野足以颠覆业界的固有法则。妹岛和世便是其中一人。她与西泽立卫(Ryue Nishizawa)在东京合办SANAA事务所。二人主张举要删芜,摒弃多余墙壁,精简结构,并大量运用玻璃。完成后,这些设计往往营造出轻盈缥缈的观感,完全不像一座建筑物。

事务所曾创作多个瞩目设计,包括纽约的新当代艺术博物馆(New Museum of Contemporary Art)、位于洛桑联邦理工学院的劳力士研修中心和卢浮宫朗斯分馆(Louvre-Lens),在世界各地广受好评,更为二人于2010年夺得普利兹克建筑奖。

事实上,妹岛和世在早期已崭露头角,1987年开设公司前,她曾跟随著名设计大师、2013普利兹克奖得主伊东丰雄(Toyo Ito)学习。一如其他地方的年轻设计师,妹岛和世最初以设计住宅项目为主。1991年,她以半透明框架包裹雕塑群的概念,设计出再春馆制药女生宿舍(Saishunkan Seiyaku Women’s Dormitory)。此项目令她声名大噪,并引起评论家注意到这位语调轻柔但自信十足的设计师。

自此,妹岛和世踏上事业的康庄大道,业务蒸蒸日上。1995年,她与西泽立卫共同成立SANAA事务所,在事业上大展身手。除了这所专门负责大型工程的联营公司外,二人会各自承接小型房屋的独立项目。妹岛和世笑称:“我所有私人项目的面积总和,还不及SANAA的一个项目。”

如今,这三项业务都在东京东部一个独立宽敞的地方內进行。这座状似库房的建筑,原为一家钢铁公司的仓库,现在里面已放满一张张桌子,由40至50名设计师负责多个项目,地点遍布日本、法国、中国、以色列、美国及其他偏远地区。这里的室内设计与原来样貌相距甚远,每个表面都铺满不同施工和拆卸阶段的绘图、材料样版和研究模型,这些都是建筑业的基本工具。

流线型设计建筑:玻璃淡化了劳力士研修中心和周边环境的界限。

妹岛和世的工作区位于建筑物后方整排位置,从窗边可看见东京的一条小河流。她从所见景色中汲取灵感后,便在圆桌上绘画草图和进行非正式会议。事务所另一边总是忙个不停。每当她希望清醒头脑时,便会打开门往外走。

妹岛和世钟情于与周遭环境连接的横向空间,她不仅选择在这种环境中工作,还为客户营造类似的空间。SANAA在2004年建成的金泽市21世纪美术馆(21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art)便是其中一例。这座低层博物馆,坐落在金泽市,周围是宽敞草坪,对面是日本传统名园兼六园(Kenroku-en)。为配合附近的小型建筑物,妹岛和世运用透明玻璃墙围绕着整座博物馆,尽量消除内外的界线。内部设计亦彷佛延续了市内结构,以纵横交错的行道,贯穿多个单独的盒形画廊。

尽管SANAA植根于日本传统,但其建筑与周围景观融合一体的理念备受世界认同。2010年,劳力士研修中心于洛桑联邦理工学院校园内落成,这座建筑与校内环境有着独特的联系。大楼并非牢固直立在地面上,而是因应外边的地形和内部的功能需求蜿蜒起伏。玻璃冲淡了研究中心和周边环境的界限,内里更是空无一墙。相反,户外庭院和缓缓山坡把图书馆、学习区和其他场所巧妙分隔,形成一个明显的流线型内部设计。

劳力士研修中心位于洛桑联邦理工学院(Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne),于2010年落成。

2012年,SANAA在法国首都巴黎北部完成卢浮宫朗斯分馆项目。这座优雅建筑的原址在19世纪时是个煤矿。现在,分馆的数个画廊以直线相连,每个画廊其中一个转角又与另一个画廊的转角连接。朗斯分馆的外墙覆盖玻璃和铝,映照出周围的绿色景观,活像一幅抽象画作,而展厅亦打破常规,在每个房间设置独立墙壁展示艺术品。

在2011年地震发生后不久,她联同一群热心建筑师,协助那些因灾难而无家可归的灾民。为改善临时房屋的不足,他们开始创建“共有家园”(Homes-for-All)计划,让居民能够一起交流、喝茶。妹岛和世的设计项目位于宫戸岛(Miyatojima),是一座拥有巨大金属屋顶的小型房屋。尽管这个狭小空间只足够容纳一个小厨房,但广阔的有盖阳台却提供了户外空间,可供岛民聚会,渔民亦可在这里准备第二天的捕鱼作业。

“共有家园”计划的成功,启发了妹岛和世再进一步,这次,在劳力士创艺推荐资助计划的支持下,她于2013年指导来自中国云南省的新进建筑师赵扬,为气仙沼市(Kesennuma)设计另一个“共有家园”。妹岛和世表示:“共同建造比空谈来得更有意义。”赵扬的建筑位于海边,这里不仅是乡民聚会的地方,也是当地渔民的市场和休息处。此建筑于2013年10月正式开放。

自此,妹岛和世设计或完成了数个大型项目,作品充分展现其独特构思及新颖元素。她在美国康涅狄格州的得奖建筑格雷斯农庄(Grace Farms),是一个艺术、信仰及司法中心,设有蜿蜓的蛇形遮篷,横跨地势起伏的乡村地区。2016年,她在东京的墨田北斋美术馆(Sumida Hokusai museum),展出葛饰北斋(Katsushika Hokusai)的经典艺术作品。这个巨型建筑的表面朦胧反射周边景致,饶有风情。

妹岛和世的最新项目包括悉尼的新南威尔士美术馆(NSW Art Gallery),以及日本公司西武集团(Seibu Group)的Red Arrow号列车。车厢外部将配备镜面设计和大型曲面玻璃窗。

妹岛和世的简约风格一直满足客户的需求。不论是海外的大型博物馆,还是日本北部的简单聚会场所,妹岛和世总能够在实用和优雅之间取得平衡。

文化流传

艺术

探索

分享此页面

Japan’s Architectural Poet

clockTime to read: 1m10s
scroll-down

Kazuyo Sejima’s elegant minimalism has redefined the public building. Her designs for the undulating Rolex Learning Center and other major buildings have ensured that she has a global following and a busy practice. But she still had time to nurture an emerging architect as part of the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative.

by Naomi Pollock

Occasionally an architect emerges whose vision is so fresh that it redefines the very essence of the discipline. Kazuyo Sejima is one of those architects. Together with Ryue Nishizawa, she heads up the Tokyo firm SANAA. Paring back excess, the duo does away with walls, slims down structural elements and uses glass liberally. The results are buildings so light and ethereal that they barely seem like buildings at all.

It is no wonder that the firm’s impressive accomplishments, among them New York’s New Museum of Contemporary Art, Lausanne’s Rolex Learning Center at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale and the Louvre-Lens, garner admiration around the globe and landed the pair the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 2010.

Sejima’s remarkable talents first became evident when she opened her own firm in 1987 after an apprenticeship with the esteemed designer, and 2013 Pritzker Laureate, Toyo Ito. Like young designers globally, Sejima’s first works were residential projects. However, it was the completion in 1991 of the Saishunkan Seiyaku Women’s Dormitory, a cluster of sculptural forms encased in a semi-transparent box, that catapulted her into a bigger arena and immediately caused architecture critics to take note of the soft-spoken but confident designer.

Since that time, Sejima’s career has been on a straight, upward trajectory. In 1995, she expanded her practice by establishing SANAA with Nishizawa. In addition to their joint firm, which handles mostly large-scale works, Sejima and Nishizawa maintain their own individual practices that focus on modest buildings. “The combined floor areas of my private works are still smaller than a single SANAA project,” says Sejima smiling.

Today, all three practices occupy a single, cavernous space located on Tokyo’s east side. Though the shed-like building once served as a storage facility for a steel company, today it holds a maze of desks where 40 to 50 designers work on a wide range of projects located in France, China, Israel, the United States and other far-flung places, in addition to Japan. A far cry from the pristine interiors that the designers create, every surface is covered with drawings, material samples and study models in various states of construction and deconstruction – the basic tools of the trade.

Fluid Architecture: a glass skin softens the divide between the Rolex Learning Center and its surroundings.

Sejima’s workspace is at the back where it spans the width of the building and looks out at a small river, one of the many that once flowed through Tokyo. Inspired by her view, the architect generates sketches and holds informal meetings at her round desk, while her studio hums with activity in the background. But when she wishes to clear her head, Sejima simply slides open the doors and steps outside.

Drawn to horizontal space with a strong connection to its surroundings, Sejima not only chooses to work in such a setting, she also creates them for her clients. The 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art completed by SANAA in 2004 is a case in point. Located in the castle town of Kanazawa, the low-rise museum sits amid a spacious lawn across from Kenrokuen, one of Japan’s finest traditional gardens. Sized to match the small-scale buildings nearby, the museum is encircled with a clear glass wall that minimally separates inside and out. Like a continuation of the urban fabric, the interior contains a collection of individual, box-like galleries connected by a grid of walkways.

Though it may be rooted in Japanese tradition, SANAA’s merging of architecture and landscape exports easily. Completed in 2010 on the campus of the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, the Rolex Learning Center engages in a unique dialogue with its site. Instead of sitting firmly on the ground, the building undulates in response to the topography outside and the functional requirements inside. While a glass skin softens the divide between the study centre and its surroundings, inside there are no walls at all. Instead, outdoor patios and gentle slopes loosely separate libraries, study areas and other functions, yielding a remarkably fluid interior.

The Rolex Learning Center, at the EPFL (the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), was completed in 2010.

In 2012, SANAA completed the Louvre-Lens, an outpost of Paris’s most famous museum located north of the French capital. Erected on the grounds of a late 19th-century coalmine, this elegant building is a chain of rectilinear galleries that touch tangentially at their corners. Clad with glass and aluminium, the building exterior reflects the green landscape like an abstract painting, while the exhibition halls defy convention by displaying art on freestanding walls in the centre of each room.

Shortly after the 2011 earthquake and tsunami Sejima teamed up with a group of architects keen to help those left homeless by the disaster. Intent on improving the conditions at the meagre, temporary housing blocks, they began creating communal Homes-for-All where residents could socialize and sip tea. Located on the island of Miyatojima, Sejima’s contribution was a tiny building with a huge, metal roof. While the enclosed space holds little more than a small kitchen, the vast, covered terrace offers an outdoor room where islanders can congregate and fishermen prepare for the next day’s catch.

The success of that Home-for-All project inspired Sejima to take on another one, this time under the auspices of the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative. In 2013, Sejima mentored an emerging architect, Yang Zhao, from Yunnan Province in China, as he designed a Home-for-All for the town of Kesennuma. “Making something together is better than just talking,” explained Sejima. Situated at the seashore, Zhao’s building is not only serving as an assembly spot for townspeople but also as a marketplace and rest area for local fishermen. The building was opened in October 2013.

Since then, Sejima has designed or completed several major projects – and done so in characteristically novel ways. Her award-winning Grace Farms centre for the arts, faith, and justice in Connecticut in the US, features a continuous, snaking canopy which flows across an undulating rural site. In 2016, her Sumida Hokusai museum in Tokyo became a home for the iconic art of Katsushika Hokusai, in a monolithic building with a subtly reflective surface.

Sejima’s latest projects include designs for the NSW Art Gallery in Sydney, and Red Arrow trains for the Japanese manufacturers, Seibu Group. The train carriages’ outer shells will have a mirror-like finish and unusually large curved glass windows.

Sejima’s minimalist expression has always championed her client’s needs. Whether an expansive museum in a foreign land or a simple gathering place in northern Japan, Sejima creates remarkably usable buildings of unparalleled elegance.

Perpetuating Culture

Arts

Discover

Share this page