arrowLeftAll finalists

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the Rolex Awards, and what is the spirit of enterprise?

The Rolex Awards identify and invest in exceptional people around the world who are carrying out pioneering projects. Rolex Laureates are of all nationalities and backgrounds. They are united by a talent for independent thinking and the capacity to embrace projects that require creativity and determination in the face of considerable odds.

Why did Rolex set up the Awards for Enterprise?

The Rolex Awards for Enterprise were launched in 1976 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Oyster, the world’s first waterproof wristwatch.

How are winners chosen?

Rolex Award Laureates are chosen through a meticulous process that involves peer review, assessment, interview and evaluation of the likelihood of their project achieving its aims. This generates a short-list of candidates from whom an independent jury of international experts selects the Laureates. The Jury typically includes eminent explorers, scientists, entrepreneurs and educators convened from around the globe.

This year, votes from the public will be taken into account towards the final selection of the five Laureates.

What are the selection criteria?

The Rolex Awards for Enterprise support innovative work in science and health, the environment, applied technology, exploration and cultural heritage. In addition to demonstrating a spirit of enterprise and leadership, candidates must put forward projects or work plans that have a clear purpose, are original and have the potential for significant impact.

What do Laureates receive?

Laureates receive a cash grant to advance their projects. In addition, Rolex ensures winners receive access to its network of 140 past Laureates, international publicity through media coverage and a Rolex chronometer.

The 2019 Rolex Awards – Public votes

For the first time this year, members of the public are able to vote for the projects that inspire them the most. Results of the public vote will not be published: they will be given confidentially to a jury of experts, informing and assisting them to determine the selection of the five 2019 Rolex Awards Laureates. The voting period is from 6 May to 12 June, and winners will be announced on 14 June 2019.

How do I vote for a finalist or project?

Express your support for your favourite projects by voting for finalists and by sharing your votes on social media.
We encourage you to explore each of the projects before casting your vote by clicking on the “vote now” button.

Can I vote for more than one finalist?

You may vote for more than one finalist, but cast only one vote per finalist.

How are the public votes counted?

Votes from the public are aggregated through tracking tools. No personal data is collected by Rolex when you cast your vote.

When will the Laureates be announced?

The five selected Laureates will be announced on 14 June 2019.