于rolex.org搜索

再现消失的森林

小劳利・库伦

小劳利・库伦(Laury Cullen Jr.)与务农家庭合作,恢复巴西大西洋沿岸森林(Atlantic Forest),同时改善当地经济,应对气候变化。

巴西巴拉那帕内马河畔的农业区出现绿色长廊,堪为新希望的象征。这些不时有虎猫、美洲狮及貘出没的狭长森林通道,连系受威胁野生动植物、受破坏的雨林,以及当地的贫困农民和家庭。

1990年代,当护林员小劳利・库伦初次到访圣保罗州巴拉那帕内马河畔,研究濒临灭绝的黑狮面狨时,巴西大西洋沿岸森林近80%的林地已经消失。树木因木材需求或开辟耕地而遭砍伐,这对许多当地独有的动植物极具灾难性。

库伦忆述:“当我们首次来到巴拉那帕内马河畔地区,看到此处的卫星照片,便发现仅余的野生动植物无法长久存活。此地区四分五裂,大西洋森林部分与其他公园相距甚远。”

30年后,人类进程终于为这处点燃希望。森林长廊及小型树林冒起,由务农家庭悉心打理。他们现在的工作与树木、野生动植物、乳牛,以及咖啡、玉米和木薯等作物环环相扣,收入较以往单靠农耕为多。

库伦说:“巴拉那帕内马河畔是一个非常特别的地方。这是个半落叶森林,连接塞拉多的干旱草原及大西洋沿岸森林西部的雨林,可谓生物多样性的宝库。举例而言,这里有塞拉多特有的鬃狼,以及雨林独有的黑狮面狨。同时,此处亦有美洲虎、美洲狮、虎猫、雀鸟、蝙蝠及两栖动物。这实是大西洋森林及塞拉多两个生态系统交汇融合的热点。”

今天,备受威胁的野生动植物,与通过土地安置计划移居到该区的人类共存。库伦相信在多方面而言,这些居民都是森林存活的关键。

‘梦想地图’一方面尝试拯救或恢复森林地貌,一方面协助在此定居的6,000个家庭。小劳利・库伦

为启发农民,他研发了“梦想地图”(Dream Map),以科学方式计划恢复60,000公顷森林及其中动物,连接孤立的旧有森林部分,让野生动物可以在林间穿梭。

他解释:“‘梦想地图’一方面尝试拯救或恢复森林地貌,一方面协助在此定居的6,000个家庭。我们手上有人民、森林、地貌及物种四个层面,必须在保育方案中串连它们。”

库伦于2004年赢得劳力士雄才伟略大奖,让他能够与当地的无地民众合作,开展重新植林工作,并成立首个社区树苗圃。苗圃数量及后增至12个,大部分由女性营运,为超过100种当地树木培育树苗。为减轻土地压力,计划亦积极寻找提高农民收入的方法,让他们不必再被迫开辟耕地。

我们种植的每棵树,均是由当地民众在社区苗圃所培植的。小劳利・库伦

库伦说:“我们种植的每棵树,均是由当地民众在社区苗圃所培植的。他们亦负责种植及监测,为农村贫困居民提供工作及稳定食物来源。他们的双眼灵动有神,生活得到改善,全因食物供应稳定。故此,他们均感到非常感激、自豪及成功。”

他强调没有当地民众的协助,就无法实行计划。“如果不把民众视为长远及社区保育的关键部分,便没可能拯救这片仅余的森林。” 在此方面,他的保育方式与国家公园和自然保护区的一般概念不同,并没有禁止务农。相反,农业与植林更是相辅相成。

“我认为这与自尊和信任有莫大关系。信任是我们与当地社区合作的基石。有了信任,沟通才会简单快捷,一切水到渠成。”

自计划开展以来,库伦的“梦想地图”已领导恢复2,000公顷的森林,种植400万棵树,为当地社区带来200万美元的收入。相对于其他持续开发土地的地区,此再生计划每年会抵消800,000公吨的碳排放,协助全球对抗气候变化。

“梦想地图”体现劳力士“保护地球,恒动不息”计划的许多价值观。它大胆尝试以创新方式恢复地貌,保留传统,同时协助受影响的当地社区塑造美好未来,不断探索保护地球的崭新途径。

库伦投身保育工作25年,深信其模型可以在世界各地应用,绿化地球。

2004年发布

重建翠绿森林

阅读原文

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

里程碑

探索更多

A vanishing forest reborn

Laury Cullen Jr.

Working with dedicated farming families, Laury Cullen Jr. is restoring Brazil’s Atlantic Forest while contributing to the local economy and helping to fight climate change.

Corridors of new hope wend like delicate green tendrils through the open farming landscape of Pontal, Brazil. Prowled by ocelots, pumas and tapirs, these slender forest passages form links in a chain of renewal – for threatened wildlife, an all-but destroyed rainforest and the region’s poor farmers and their families.

When forester Laury Cullen Jr. first moved to Pontal do Paranapanema in São Paulo state in the 1990s to study an endangered species of monkey, the black lion tamarin, more than 80 per cent of the once-mighty Mata Atlântica, Brazil’s vast Atlantic Forest, was gone. Felled for timber and cleared for farming, its removal had come at a devastating price to many native animals and plants, most of which are not to be found anywhere else on Earth.

“When we first arrived in the Pontal region, and seeing the landscape from satellites, we realized that most of the remaining wildlife had zero chance of survival in the long term,” Cullen recalls. “It is a highly fragmented landscape and the Atlantic Forest fragments are very isolated from the remaining parks.”

Three decades on and the march of human progress has taken a hopeful turn. Corridors and islands of forest are springing up anew, tended by the caring hands of farming families who today earn a better living from the intermingled trees, wildlife, dairy cattle and crops – such as coffee, corn and cassava – than they were able to from agriculture alone.

Pontal is “a very special place”, Cullen says. Its semi-deciduous forest, linking the dry savannah of the Cerrado and the rainforest of the western Mata Atlântica, makes it a fountainhead for biodiversity. “You have, for example, the maned wolf which is endemic to the Cerrado, you have the black lion tamarins, which are specific to the rainforest. At the same time, you have species such as jaguars, pumas and ocelots, birds, bats and amphibians. It is truly a hotspot, created by this blending of two ecosystems, the Atlantic Forest and the Cerrado.”

Today, the imperilled wildlife shares the landscape with a sizeable human population, relocated to the region in a land resettlement scheme. They, in many ways, hold the key to whether or not it can survive, Cullen believes.

The Dream Map is like trying to rescue or to recover the history of the landscape but also remembering that we have 6,000 families settled in its area.Laury Cullen Jr.

To inspire the farmers, he invented a ‘Dream Map’, a scientifically based plan to restore 60,000 hectares of vanishing forest along with its animals, linking the isolated fragments of the old forest so wildlife can move between them.

“The Dream Map is like trying to rescue or to recover the history of the landscape but also remembering that we have 6,000 families settled in its area. So we have the people, the forest, the landscape and the species. We have to combine all of these in the same conservation equation,” he explains.

The Rolex Award for Enterprise that Cullen received in 2004 enabled him to involve local landless people for the work of reforestation and to establish the first of 12 community tree nurseries – many of them run by women – that produce the seedlings of more than 100 types of native tree species. To ease pressure on the land, the programme also seeks innovative ways to raise the farmers’ incomes so they are no longer forced to clear land.

Every single tree that we plant is produced by the local people in the community-based nurseries.Laury Cullen Jr.

“Every single tree that we plant is produced by the local people in the community-based nurseries,” Cullen says. “They are the ones who do the planting and all of the monitoring, so it is a great opportunity to provide jobs and food security for the rural poor. Their eyes are bright, their eyes are shining, they are having a better quality of life – and that has to do with food security. So there is a very great sense of gratitude, pride and realization of success.”

He stresses that without the engagement of the local people, his programme would not exist. “We could not save this last remaining forest if people were not a key component of the long-term conservation and community-based conservation approach.” In this respect especially, his vision differs from the traditional concept of national parks and nature reserves where farming is excluded. Here, it is completely integrated with restoration.

“I think it has to do with pride and trust. Trust is the glue that holds the relationship between us and the local people. When trust exists, communication is easy, instant and makes life easy.”

Since it began, Cullen’s Dream Map has guided the restoration of 2,000 hectares of forest and the planting of four million trees, and generated US$2 million for the local economy. In contrast to other regions where land clearing persists, this expanse of renewal is now also helping the world to combat climate change by locking up 800,000 tonnes of carbon every year.

The Dream Map epitomizes many of the ideals that inspire Rolex’s Perpetual Planet initiative. It ventures boldly into new fields of landscape restoration, preserving the past while helping to build the future for the communities it affects, all the time discovering fresh ways to perpetuate our world.

A quarter of a century of hands-on experience has convinced Cullen that his is a model that can be followed anywhere in the world to help regreen our planet.

PUBLISHED IN 2004

RECREATING THE EMERALD GREEN FOREST

Read the original article

View all projects

Rolex awards for enterprise

Milestones

Discover more