罗伯特・勒帕吉与马蒂亚斯・翁彼雷斯身兼多职

发布日期: 2018年icon-clock阅读需时: 2m35s
icon-scroll-down

罗伯特・勒帕吉(Robert Lepage)与门生马蒂亚斯・翁彼雷斯(Matías Umpierrez)是艺术上的灵魂伙伴,他们拒绝被角色定型,故从不同界别借鉴,缔造出不拘一格、特立独行的作品。

撰文: 罗伯特・库什曼(Robert Cushman) 2018年1月
  • 罗伯特・勒帕吉(Robert Lepage)
    导师
  • 马蒂亚斯・翁彼雷斯(Matías Umpierrez)
    门生

罗伯特・勒帕吉到访东京欣赏歌舞伎剧时,获悉将有机会与一位志趣相投的人合作。回想35年前,大歌舞伎团曾在蒙特利尔演出日本经典舞剧《狐》(The Fox),令这位加拿大顶尖戏剧艺术家深受启发。他忆述:“我知道当中定有适合我的元素。”

因此,勒帕吉在日本巡演最新作品时,也带着门生马蒂亚斯・翁彼雷斯观看同一剧目,更欣然发现担任主角的演员,正是当年主角的侄子。

世代相传的传统风格及艺术令人无法抗拒,当中的传承精神也让翁彼雷斯十分鼓舞。“我觉得舞台上的一切,仿如上演了千年一样。”

他补充:“我认为无论是传统戏剧或是其他想做的事,最重要的是让它展现在当下。”

在劳力士创艺计划下,二人在日本相聚,为丰盛的指导年揭开序幕,他们相互受益,全因这并非自上而下的指导,而是两名戏剧艺术家之间的分享,探讨拓展艺术媒介的哲学与方式。

勒帕吉身兼剧作家、导演、演员、监制及设计师多职,多才多艺,成就广泛。他现年59岁,出生地魁北克市就是他年来发展事业的基地。除了将本土作品带到世界各地,他亦备受不少国际公司的青睐,为不同制作担任导演。他曾执导电影及歌剧,其中与纽约大都会歌剧院(Metropolitan Opera)合作的《指环》(Ring Cycle)更是引起热论。

然而,他最有名的作品,莫过于其公司机器神剧团(Ex Machina)创作的剧目。它们在风格及形式上均迥然不同。部分是大型政治与抽象戏剧,如《太田川的七条支流》(The Seven Streams of the River Ota,1995年),全长七小时,其时间与空间设置皆游离不定,却又道出连贯故事。

最新的独脚戏《887》则是另一极端,他于去年更携同翁彼雷斯前往东京和伦敦参与表演。此戏剧让他回想起童年时期,而剧名正是其魁北克家乡的地址。他化身成迷人、有趣且强大的表演者(这是单人表演),同时担当总导演一职,创造出天衣无缝的视觉与声音效果。投影设备在现今并不叫人陌生,但在《887》中却无法让人确定现场演出停顿及影片开始的时间。

翁彼雷斯向他展示自己的作品,当中的模糊界线正是吸引他与这位年轻人合作​​的原因。勒帕吉说:“我的作品跨越不同界别。以戏剧为本,但我亦不时从歌剧、马戏团等领域借镜。我看到马蒂亚斯以同样方式创作,且较其他[计划]门生人选更具当代触觉。”

翁彼雷斯自小便受多种媒体薰陶。他说:“我在孩堤时代已接触陶器和雕塑[其父铸造石膏模型]、绘画及表演艺术。”

后来,生活所需促使他接触更多范畴。他的事业生涯始于“阿根廷的经济萧条期。国库空虚,大型艺术机构几乎破产。在没有资金的情况下,剧院成为我实现各种想法的地方”。

因此,他以各种身分为国内不同的剧院工作。“从艺术家的角度来看,我是平面设计师、道具人员,也是演员。我对于跨领域发展的决心正是由此而来。”

我的作品一直有戏剧的影子,却又并非戏剧。

与他合作的艺术家不一定是剧坛中人。他指:“[但]我认为剧院是我开始旅程的地方。我的作品一直有戏剧的影子,却又并非戏剧。一点也不像戏剧。”不过,他耸耸肩道:“但说不定是这样。”

尽管勒帕吉的作品汇集不同元素,但始终是戏剧性质,因为其表演场所是在剧院舞台上,也就是在一行行的观众席前。相比之下,翁彼雷斯的作品更贴近装置艺术。例如,《距离》(Distancia)是在剧院观众及现场管弦乐队面前演出,但演员却身在不同地方表演,事实上,他们的演出是透过直播展现在观众眼前。“不同平台之间的各种流动与联系,均在观众面前同步发生。”

TeatroSOLO的概念是由一名演员为另一人演出,他既是观众又是合作者。由于剧作曾于世界各地如布宜诺斯艾利斯、圣保罗、马德里及纽约演出,而每个城市又会在不同场地同时进行五项表演,这使观众人数以几何级数增长。翁彼雷斯说:“这为观众带来原始的戏剧体验──口头传统。”在纽约,一位演员先以自白方式与地铁月台上的志愿观众交谈;他们登上列车后继续互动,直至离开车厢。

翁彼雷斯谈及自己与勒帕吉:“我们是同一代的艺术家,不受一个领域所规限。”他笑着补充道:“我不知道这群艺术家是否存在,但我希望自己是当中的一员。”

当然,勒帕吉十分清楚,二人来自不同年代。“这是本创艺计划最令人兴奋的事情。知名的艺术家与其他新锐艺术家交流,原以为自己看透一切,但又会突然遇上像马蒂亚斯般有趣的人。他热衷于社交媒体,对戏剧、装置及创意活动也有自己的一套概念,教人又羡又妒。这使我更紧贴最新潮流。”因此,他们的关系减少了正规的教导,但增加了自发的交流。诚然,指导是双向的。

勒帕吉和翁彼雷斯在日本初次会面后,至2016年11月再度聚首,当时勒帕吉正为大都会歌剧院再次执导。勒帕吉在纽约工作期间,翁彼雷斯也参加了不同会议及排练,从中观察学习,并不时提问及提出建议。勒帕吉亲切地形容,他就像“海绵”般不断吸收。“马蒂亚斯会在休息时来找我,问道:‘歌手真的是这样工作吗?’当然,他有自己的看法。能够与自己一样满怀热情,但年代与背景完全不同的人合作,实是耳目一新的经验。”

我们是同一代的艺术家,不受一个领域所规限。

二人于2018年也会参与制作传统经典作品。翁彼雷斯与俄罗斯本土演员合作,执导契诃夫的《海鸥》(The Seagull),向难度挑战。勒帕吉则现身于加拿大的斯特拉特福德莎士比亚戏剧节(Stratford Shakespeare Festival),首度公演《科利奥兰纳斯》(Coriolanus),令人期待。为此,他与翁彼雷斯共赴纽约观赏相同剧目。勒帕吉“对制作不太感兴趣”,但“对演出印象深刻”。翁彼雷斯则意见不同。勒帕吉补充:“也许这是代沟的问题。当你50岁时,所知越多,便越有疑虑。他的想法则更加肯定。”

两师徒在特定工作中,以至规划整个职业生涯方面,皆可单独处理多项事务。这让翁彼雷斯倍感放心:“我十分欣赏罗伯特的排练构思与制作方式。他的作品常与世界各地的人士合作。无论在专业或艺术层面上,他都能两者兼顾,并同时处理多元合作计划。这使我深信自己也能同时进行不同工作,有些需时几个月,甚至数年不等,但这些计划均可在同一时间发展。”

勒帕吉同意:“在指导开始的数个星期,我们会交谈,但他会暂时离开,前往布宜诺斯艾利斯参与装置项目。我觉得他的脑袋内有着多个同时运作的隔间。”

二人经常周游列国。翁彼雷斯现居马德里,但在全球数个城市均有项目。而“全球”正是他常用的字词。

也许令人惊讶的是,他不相信即兴创作;一如《哈姆雷特》所说,他的演员“只需按本子办事,不用多言”。相反,勒帕吉认为演员是“叙事高手。我构思了基本的想法及情况,他们便会编写下去。他们知道该做什么,也知道如何表达。我会在作品公演或出版时,交给他们自行编辑”。

翁彼雷斯说:“我们在这方面持不同的观点。但我认为罗伯特的做法十分自然,效果很好。或许将来我会改变。我对此抱持开放态度。”罗这正是本创艺计划的意义所在。

伯特・库什曼自1998年担任《国家邮报》(National Post,加拿大)的戏剧批评家,于1973年至1984年间为《观察家报》(Observer,英国)的戏剧批评家。他亦是广播员及表演者。

计划

劳力士创艺推荐资助计划

探索

close

Robert Lepage & Matías UmpierrezMen of many parts

Published in 2018clockTime to read: 2m35s
scroll-down

Artistic soulmates who refuse to be typecast, Robert Lepage and his protégé Matías Umpierrez borrow from various disciplines to furnish their eclectic, maverick productions.

by Robert Cushman January 2018
  • Robert Lepage
    The Mentor
  • Matías Umpierrez
    The Protégé

It was during a visit to a Kabuki play in Tokyo that Robert Lepage knew he had teamed up with a kindred spirit. Canada’s leading theatrical artist had been inspired by the classical Japanese dance-drama 35 years earlier when the Grand Kabuki troupe performed The Fox in Montreal. “I knew there was something there that was for me,” he recalls.

So, while touring his latest production in Japan, Lepage took protégé Matías Umpierrez to see the same play and was delighted to discover the actor playing the title role was the nephew of the man he had seen in the same part all those years before.

The overwhelming sense of tradition, of art passed from generation to generation, also affected Umpierrez, who found the sense of continuity inspiring. “I felt that everything that happened on the stage [had] happened for maybe a thousand years.

“For me it’s not important whether you do traditional theatre or if you do whatever you want, but it’s most important that it happens in the present moment,” he adds.

Their time in Japan marked the blossoming of a mutually beneficial mentoring year under the Rolex Arts Initiative, less one of top-down instruction, more a sharing of philosophies and approaches between theatre artists committed to expanding the boundaries of the medium.

Lepage’s talents are diverse, his accomplishments extensive: playwright, director, actor, producer, designer. Aged 59, he was born in Quebec City, which has remained his base throughout his career. As well as taking his home-grown creations all over the world, he is also in demand internationally as a director of other companies’ productions. He has directed films and especially opera, including a controversial Ring Cycle, for the Metropolitan Opera in New York.

But his reputation rests on the theatre pieces he has created for his company Ex Machina. These vary considerably in style and form. Some are huge political and metaphysical dramas, such as The Seven Streams of the River Ota (1995), which plays for seven hours and whose settings wander extraordinarily far in time and space while still telling a coherent story.

At the other extreme are the solo pieces, such as his latest, 887, which he has taken over this past year – with Umpierrez in attendance – from Tokyo to London. He looks back in this piece to his boyhood; the title refers to his family’s Quebec address. He functions as a charming, funny and ultimately powerful performer (in that sense it’s a one-man show) and as a master director, creating seamless patterns of sight and sound. Projections are by now a familiar device but in 887, it’s impossible to tell where the live action stops and the video begins.

This blurring of the lines is what attracted him to the work of Umpierrez when the younger man presented his portfolio. “My work is multidisciplinary,” says Lepage. “It’s principally in theatre but I’m always seeing what I can borrow from opera, circus and so on. I saw that Matías was engaged in the same way, but with a more contemporary sensibility than other candidates [for the mentorship].”

Umpierrez’s commitment to multimedia goes back to his earliest years. “Since I was a child,” he says, “I was influenced by pottery and sculpture [his father is a plaster cast maker], painting and performing arts.”

Later, his versatility was further fuelled by necessity. He began his career “in one of the worst economic periods in Argentina. There was hardly any money in the country and the big arts institutions were almost broke. Theatre became the place where I could do whatever I wanted without the concern of money.”

So, he worked for theatres all over the country in various capacities. “For artists, I became a graphic designer, a prop man, an actor. That’s how I made it my resolution to become interdisciplinary.”

My work has always had a reflection of theatre but it’s not the theatre.

Some of the artists he worked for were theatre people, others not. “[But] I still think that theatre is the place I start my journey. My work has always had a reflection of theatre but it’s not the theatre. It doesn’t look like theatre but,” he adds with a winning kind of mental shrug, “maybe it is.”

Lepage’s productions, however eclectic their ingredients, are conventionally theatrical in that they take place on stages, in theatres, before audiences seated in rows. Umpierrez’s, on the other hand, are better described as installations. Distancia, for example, is performed before a theatre audience and with a live orchestra. The actors, however, are somewhere else: in several different locations, in fact, with their contributions being streamed live. “And all the streamings and connections between all those different platforms are happening at the same time in front of the audience.”

Or there is TeatroSOLO, performed by one actor for one other person, who functions as both audience and collaborator. But since the show has been done all over the world from Buenos Aires and São Paulo, to Madrid and New York, with five simultaneous performances at different sites in each city – the audience has grown exponentially. “It exposes the audience,” says Umpierrez, “to a primal theatrical experience – the oral tradition.” In New York, an actor started talking in confessional fashion to a volunteer spectator on the subway platform; the interaction continued as they boarded the train and concluded after they left it.

Umpierrez says of himself and Lepage: “We’re both part of a generation of artists that doesn’t define themselves by one discipline – I’m not aware that generation exists but I like to think I’m part of it,” he adds with a laugh.

But, of course, they do belong to different generations, as Lepage is well aware. “That’s the most exciting thing about this mentorship programme. When you’re an established artist, you’re mingling with other established artists, you feel you’ve seen it all, then suddenly somebody like Matías comes along. He’s into social media, he has his own concept of what theatre should be, what installations and creative events should be – you feel at the same time very jealous. It’s putting me up to date on the new trends.” Their relationship, therefore, has been less formal instruction, more spontaneous interchange. Mentorship, as has often been noted, can be a two-way street.

After that initial meeting in Japan, Lepage and Umpierrez reconvened in November 2016 when Lepage was again directing at the Met. During Lepage’s residency in New York, Umpierrez was sitting in on meetings and rehearsals, observing, learning, asking questions and making his own suggestions. He was there to absorb, to be in Lepage’s affectionate description, “a sponge”. “Matías will come up to me in coffee breaks and say ‘is this really how singers work?’ And, of course, he has his own opinion. It refreshes my eyes and ears to have someone who’s as passionate about it as I am, but comes from a completely different generation and background.”

We’re both part of a generation of artists that doesn’t define themselves by one discipline.

In 2018, both men will be mounting their own productions of traditional classics. Umpierrez faces the daunting prospect of directing a Russian masterpiece, Chekhov’s The Seagull, in Russia with local actors. Lepage is making his long-awaited debut at Canada’s Stratford Shakespeare Festival with a production of Coriolanus. In anticipation of this, he went with Umpierrez to see the same play in New York. Lepage “wasn’t too interested in the production” but was “impressed with the performances”. Umpierrez wasn’t. “Maybe it’s a generational thing,” adds Lepage. “When you’re 50 you know much more, you have doubts. He’s more affirmative.”

In common, mentor and protégé are multitaskers, within a particular work and in the manner they organize their careers. Umpierrez has found this reassuring: “One thing I’ve found fascinating is the way Robert conceives his rehearsals and produces his projects. They’re generally global collaborations with people from all over the world. He’s able to work professionally and artistically and collaborate on such a diverse range of projects simultaneously. It reinforces my own idea that I can work on several things – some take a couple of months, some take years – but they’re all developing at the same time.”

Lepage concurs: “In our early weeks we’d be having conversations and he’d have to go off and attend to this installation in Buenos Aires. I think there are many compartments in his head, working at the same time.”

And they’re both restless travellers. Umpierrez now lives in Madrid, but he has projects in several cities across the world. Global is a word he uses a lot.

Perhaps surprisingly, he doesn’t believe in improvisation; his actors have, in Hamlet’s phrase, to say no more than is set down for them. Lepage, in contrast, believes in actors as “great storytellers. I come up with the basic idea and situation, and they become responsible for writing it. They know what to do and how to say it, and I leave the actual editing to when the show’s opened or if it’s going to be published.”

“On this,” says Umpierrez, “we have different points of view. But I think Robert’s is absolutely natural and it’s fantastic because it works very well. And maybe in the future I will change. I’m open to that.” And that is what this mentorship programme is about.

Robert Cushman has been theatre critic of the National Post (Canada) since 1998, and was theatre critic of the Observer (UK) from 1973 to 1984. He is also a broadcaster and performer.

Programme

Rolex Mentor and Protégé

Discover

Share this page