达拉斯的动感大楼

发布日期: 2017年9月icon-clock阅读需时: 1m25s
icon-scroll-down

劳力士坚持原创设计、不断创新与精益求精的精神,延伸至品牌在全球各地的办公大楼。由日本建筑师隈研吾设计的一座外形“扭曲”的办公大楼在达拉斯拔地而起。

撰文:杰伊・梅里克(Jay Merrick)

著名日本建筑师隈研吾(Kengo Kuma)在得克萨斯州达拉斯市设计的一栋劳力士办公大楼成为该市建筑领域的新标杆。隈研吾精于在建筑物、周边环境和自然之间以富于原创的手法建立关联,因而蜚声国际。他还获选为2020年东京奥运会主场馆新国立竞技场的总设计师。

新办公大楼位于1984年在哈伍德区(Harwood District)落成的劳力士原办公楼附近,后者是第一座建造于达拉斯市郊的办公大楼。隈研吾解释说:“设计以大地与建筑物融为一体为主题。一般来说,办公大厦如同一座座独立的丰碑,与周围的土地之间泾渭分明。所以,我想到从周围的景观着手,用一层低矮的日式城墙将建筑物和地面连接起来。扭曲的建筑外形则展现出从地面到建筑的一种自下而上、源源不绝的动感,以呈现建筑物生机盎然的形态。”

建筑结构自下而上逐层扭转,因而营造出一种打破城市网状格局的视觉效果。从建筑物里面向外眺望,尤其是在较高的楼层,可以从非同寻常的视角观看达拉斯的远景。与完全朝向对面的建筑物相反,扭转的设计带来更加广阔的视野,让目光穿过十字街口,眺望更远处的城市风光。劳力士大楼打破了周围街道及建筑物的直角格调,驱车或徒步经过此地的人也会体验到同样不寻常的景象。

隈研吾,日本建筑师

在建造自用建筑物时,劳力士一向秉承与腕表制造相同的创新理念,显然,达拉斯塔也不例外。勇于创新和与环境完美交融的设计是隈研吾作品的典型特征。他设计的首栋建筑物建造于1988年,是一栋位于伊豆市的小澡堂,采用不规则外形,以钢筋、竹子和混凝土为原材料搭建。



从那时起,隈研吾将自然光、空间和经过巧妙调整的表面用于建筑物的设计,他称这种方法为“分解和解构”。直到今天,他的风格依然在建筑设计领域独树一帜。他的建筑设计曾在过去五届威尼斯国际建筑展中作专题展览。隈研吾的设计风格成就了多座多姿多彩的建筑物,例如位于东京的浅草文化观光中心(Asakusa Culture Tourism Centre),造型看上去就像是将八种房屋堆叠在一起;大和普适计算机研究大楼(Daiwa Ubiquitous Computing Research Building),外墙覆盖一层长短不一、蜿蜒曲折的杉木墙面板;位于东京的塑料之屋(Plastic House),墙体厚4毫米,以纤维增强塑料建造而成,质地类似于米纸或竹子;三得利美术馆(Suntory Museum of Art),外部采用竖直陶瓷百叶窗板,令人联想起古老的“无双格子”门窗。

劳力士大楼内部以一种不同方式重现了外墙的精致分层设计。

传统日式建筑元素也是劳力士达拉斯新办公大楼的设计基石。这栋大楼将成为劳力士销售及服务中心的新址。大楼基底围绕着低矮的石墙,此石墙借鉴自日本江户时代的护城石垣墙。不过,对这座位于达拉斯的大楼来说,石垣墙的作用似乎更侧重于建立而并非阻断建筑物与城市之间的连接。七层大楼从哈里海因斯大街(Harry Hines Boulevard)与穆迪街(Moody Street)拐角处的加高地基建起,看起来就像一叠稍显扭曲的纸牌。

隈研吾坚持将自然融入建筑之中,他的这一设计原则得到了劳力士的支持。劳力士一向以保护自然为己任,亦致力把自然环境引入达拉斯市中心的繁忙街道。第三代景观设计师内山贞文(Sadafumi Uchiyama)为大楼增添“绿意”,为每层楼板凸出的边缘布满植物,天台的露天两层活动空间以及地面周围亦设有花园。活动空间郁郁葱葱,地面周围则建有瀑布和小水池。

在设计上参考传统日式建筑也是隈研吾作品的典型特色。他特别热衷于模糊室内与室外的分界线。他煞费苦心地在建筑内创造出交界空间和阳台,也就是所说的“缘侧”(檐廊)。隈研吾表示:“在日本传统民居中,建筑物与外部的交界空间至关重要,其功能非常多元。这也不失为一个应对达拉斯炎热夏季的好方法。”

隈研吾将劳力士大楼的形与面解体,技艺精湛,巧夺天工。每一块升起的地板皆以三块为一组的遮阳板从外面遮挡。“我们想给人留下一种轻快的印象,所以将薄铝板作为遮阳板使用,底部蚀刻了类似木纹的图案。边缘制作非常精确,尖锐的边缘要尽可能纤薄,因为边缘是我们整个设计的一个重要组成部分。达拉斯的阳光非常猛烈,所以我们将遮阳板深度定为400毫米。绿色阳台亦可以吸收一部分反射至大楼的阳光。”

在这栋大楼内部,木材的运用方式格外引人注目,称得上达拉斯最独具匠心的室内设计。例如董事会会议室的墙壁和天花板都铺了一行行凸起的木板;员工休息室天花板上的木板层层重迭;一楼接待区摆放着与江户时代日本武士有关的手工艺品,墙壁以木板条制作而成。隈研吾说道:“这些空隙用来提升轻盈感。我们想避免沉实的感觉,这非常重要。”因此,劳力士大楼内部以一种不同方式重现了外墙的精致分层设计。它的每一部分都体现了隈研吾对空间、形态、表面及自然别具一格的生动演绎。

浏览所有项目

文化流传

艺术

探索

close

A dynamic tower for Dallas

Published in September 2017clockTime to read: 1m25s
scroll-down

Rolex’s ethos of design and innovation of the highest quality extends to the buildings the company commissions all over the world. In Dallas, Japanese architect Kengo Kuma has designed an office tower that twists out of the ground.

by Jay Merrick

In Dallas, Texas, the great Japanese architect Kengo Kuma, has designed a Rolex office building that sets new architectural benchmarks in the city. Kuma, who was chosen to design the centre-piece of the 2020 Tokyo Olympics – the National Stadium – has an international reputation based on his mastery of highly original connections between buildings, sites and nature.

The building is on a site in the Harwood District near Rolex’s original 1984 building – the first office block ever built in uptown Dallas. “The theme of the design is the integration of the land with the building,” Kuma explains. “Usually, office buildings are independent monuments, and the building is separate from the land around it. So I thought of starting with the landscape by connecting the building to the ground with a low Japanese castle wall, and twisted the building to show the continuous movement from terrain to building, from the bottom to the top – the dynamic form of the building.”

The structure twists as it rises, which means that it has the effect of visually unlocking the city’s street grid. Those looking out from the building – particularly at the higher levels – get unusual angled vistas across Dallas; instead of facing buildings directly opposite, the twist presents them with more open views across road intersections and the cityscape beyond. And those driving or walking past the Rolex building experience an equally unusual break in the otherwise right-angled rhythm of the streets and buildings around it.

KENGO KUMA, Japanese Architect.

In the construction of its own buildings, as in its watchmaking, Rolex has always embraced innovative ideas, and the Dallas tower is clearly no exception. The adventurous and environmentally sophisticated design is typical of the work by Kuma, whose first building, in 1988, was a small, irregularly formed bathhouse in Izu composed of metal, bamboo and concrete.



Since then, the way Kuma uses natural light, space and subtly modulated surfaces in his approach to buildings – “dissolution and disintegration”, as he puts it – continues to be unique. His architecture has been featured at five editions of the International Architecture Exhibition in Venice. Kuma’s design approach produces highly diverse buildings, such as the Asakusa Culture Tourism Centre in Tokyo, which resembles a stack of eight different kinds of houses; the Daiwa Ubiquitous Computing Research Building, with its exquisitely meandering veils of cedar shingles; the Plastic House in Tokyo, whose walls are made of 4 mm-thick, fibre-reinforced plastic, which resembles rice paper or bamboo; and the Suntory Museum of Art, whose vertical ceramic louvres recall historic musougoshi screens.

The delicate layered design of the Rolex building’s exterior has been repeated, in a different way, inside the building.

Historic Japanese architecture has also supplied the quite literal bedrock of the design of Rolex’s new Dallas office, which will be used as a sales and service centre. Its base is surrounded by a low rock rampart, a reference to the ishigaki walls around Japanese castles in the Edo period. In the Dallas building, the rampart is seen more as a point of connection with the city than as a defence from it. The floors of the seven-storey building ascend from its raised base at the corner of Harry Hines Boulevard and Moody Street, and rotate like a slightly twisted deck of cards.

Kuma has a philosophy of integrating nature into his buildings, encouraged by Rolex, which, as a company championing the natural world, was keen to bring nature right into the heart of the busy streets of Dallas. The projecting edges of each floor-deck are covered with plants, and there are also gardens in the open, two-storey event space at the top of the building, and around its base – a “greening” provided by third-generation landscape designer Sadafumi Uchiyama. The event space is planted with trees, and the base around the building also has small pools and waterfalls.

Also typical of Kuma’s work are the design references to historic Japanese architecture. He is particularly interested in blurring the boundaries between interiors and exteriors; he always takes great care to create in-between spaces and verandas, known as engawa, in his buildings. “Creating an in-between space is a very important tradition in Japanese homes, and its function is ambiguous. But it is also a good solution for the hot summer climate in Dallas,” he says.

  • Internally, there is a striking use of wood in what must be some of the most unusual office building interiors in Dallas.

Kuma’s dematerializations of form and surfaces in the Rolex building are masterly. Each of the rising floorplates is screened externally by a set of three brise-soleil. “We wanted to give an impression of lightness, so there is thin aluminium for the brise-soleil, etched like wood grain on the underside. The edges are very precise – a sharp edge that’s as thin as possible, because edges are an important part of our design. Natural sunlight in Dallas is very strong, so we control that with 400 mm deep brise-soleil. The green balconies also control the reflection of sunlight into the building.”

Internally, there is a striking use of wood in what must be some of the most unusual office building interiors in Dallas. The walls and ceiling of the boardroom, for example, are lined with projecting wooden boards; the staff lounge ceiling has overlapping boards; and the walls of the ground floor reception area – which contains artefacts from Japanese warriors of the Edo period – are composed of gapped boards. “These gaps are to increase the sense of lightness,” says Kuma. “And that was very important because we wanted to avoid a feeling that was too solid.” And so, the delicate layered design of the Rolex building’s exterior has been repeated, in a different way, inside the building. Every part of it embodies Kuma’s uniquely sensual articulations of space, form, surface and nature.

Perpetuating Culture

Arts

Discover

Share this page