古斯塔沃・杜达梅尔我不再是年轻的指挥家

发布日期: 2013年9月clock阅读需时: 2m50s
scroll-down

劳力士代言人古斯塔沃・杜达梅尔(Gustavo Dudamel)早已使乐迷拜倒在他的名下。这位魅力非凡的委内瑞拉指挥家,以崭新思维和大胆创新的手法演绎经典名作,为古典音乐带来新的冲击。

撰文:赫苏斯・鲁伊斯・曼迪雅(Jesús Ruiz Mantilla)

十多年前,一名才华横溢的年轻指挥家逐渐在世界打响名堂,他就是古斯塔沃・杜达梅尔。年轻的他来自赫赫有名的委内瑞拉国立青少年管弦乐团(El Sistema),该乐团于40年前由富远见的荷西・安东尼奥・艾伯鲁(José Antonio Abreu)创立,他对古典音乐的发展影响深远。一头卷发的杜达梅尔脸上挂着微笑,全身散发无穷的能量与活力,赢得一众青年的支持。如今,愈来愈少人欣赏古典音乐,而杜达梅尔正是这个领域的新希望。今天,他已成为委内瑞拉西蒙・玻利瓦交响乐团(Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra)的总监,该乐团是整个计划中最负盛名的一员,更获评论家誉为全球五大乐团之一。杜达梅尔亦是洛杉矶爱乐乐团的音乐总监,并定期担任不少国际音乐团体和机构的客席指挥,当中包括柏林与维也纳爱乐乐团、斯卡拉歌剧院(La Scala)及阿姆斯特丹音乐厅(Concertgebouw)。古斯塔沃・杜达梅尔自2008年起成为劳力士代言人,他不再视自己为年轻的指挥家,而是成熟、富有创见的思想家。

你由前途无限的音乐天才,摇身一变成为成就非凡的指挥家。现在的你正在实现梦想,感觉如何?

我不再视自己为年轻的指挥家。年仅18岁的赫苏斯・帕拉(Jesús Parra)刚于西蒙・拉图(Simon Rattle)的指挥下首度在萨尔茨堡(Salzburg)亮相,还有与我来自同一体系的迭戈・马瑟斯(Diego Matheuz)和基斯顿・巴斯克(Christian Vásquez),他们均非常年轻。新指挥家亦将会不断涌现。古往今来,一众伟人的音乐历程都是从年轻开始,随着时代的转变,投身音乐的人越趋年轻,这大概是因为现今更易进入乐坛。我知道我还有很长的路要走,亦明白到自己非常幸运,能够凭借一己之长,继续与合作的乐团一同发展。过往的经验与工作历程,让我如今变得更成熟。而最有意思的是,这令我不断提升对自己的期望。

你能诉说个中原因吗?

我们年轻时总是过份担心,在此人生阶段的想法和顾虑也许大多源于直觉,而非经验,都是自然而来,而且莽撞冲动,然后随着岁月的流逝,就会发现问题的症结往往在于“为何”而非“如何”。这正是我今天的处境,“如何”变得不太重要,我反而会经常问自己事情“为何”会这样。

古斯塔沃・杜达梅尔深信古典音乐早已变得大众化,不再属于特定地方或文化。

你可以列举一些例子吗?

为何要从特定角度去看一件作品?为何总是对乐团提出形形色色的要求,要求乐团属于某一风格或声音?

比起从前一辈的指挥家,这一代的年轻指挥家在社交网络等媒体的曝光率日益增加,我们对他们在事业上的要求愈来愈高。很少人能够像你一样适应这样的环境,并达致外界的期望。你觉得自己的成就获得足够肯定吗?

我很满意自己的现况。我不需要特别去证明什么,亦不会因追求特定的事业目标而给自己压力。我感兴趣的是作为艺术家本身的发展。尽管我的发展一直挺顺利,并无特别感到压力,但我以前却很想证明自己的能力和天赋,这当然都是年青时无知的表现。现在我学会了处之泰然,我也比从前更加好奇。我喜欢钻研音乐,探索其物理、哲学,当然还有艺术的层面。

你觉得上述哪一项最为重要?

我视全部为一个整体。我们不能将音乐单独看成一种声音、和声、节奏或色彩。音乐必须经过思考,才能变得透彻。要产生优秀作品,需要深刻反思,不一定要按部就班,但要自然合理。乐团亦必须有能力察觉到这些思维模式。单靠说话来解释是不足够的,也必须以手势示范。这一切都与才智、知识、直觉及感情之间的复杂关系息息相关。

你没有感到压力,这点令我很惊讶。一方面,这看似十分理想,但也带点轻率。你在荷西・安东尼奥・艾伯鲁创立的委内瑞拉交响乐团中地位尊崇,举世知名。这个重大责任,会否为你带来重担?

没有,从来没有,我可以向你保证。我从来不会在音乐会举行前觉得紧张,如果这样做便代表我感到不安。另一方面,我相当没耐性,肾上腺素常常飙升。我确实感觉到责任感的存在,但这并非压力,也就是说,我对自身和艺术方面努力发展是有责任的。我喜欢以此方式来形容我的“专业” ,而非使用“专业”此词。

为甚么你不喜欢“专业”一词?

这个词语太局限了。有些加入乐团的年轻人要求得到“专业”待遇,这令我很懊恼。我们是艺术家,创作和重新创作是我们的工作。重新创造音乐杰作是艺术家的责任,而非专业人士。亦因如此,我从来都没有压力。

你可以与我们分享国立青少年管弦乐团的基本原则吗?

最重要的是小组练习。个人练习也非常重要,但团队精神才是关键所在。这样的乐团经验让我们学会聆听别人的意见,对我们来说是非常重要的。我们身处同一乐团,在丰富的音乐训练支持下,共同练习令我们充满志气,奋力向成功进发。我在委内瑞拉巴基西梅托(Barquisimeto)的修业,为我奠定全面的基础,例如和谐感、美学、历史,还有一同表演的乐趣。正因如此,我很快便能与乐团沟通。

修业完成后,你从委内瑞拉来到美国,在当地取得佳绩,并获任命为洛杉矶爱乐乐团的音乐总监。你亦将新风格带入音乐里,在拥有悠久音乐传统的欧洲引起回响。我们应否合理解释传统的重要?一切又是否比我们想象来得更简单?

当然。某些字眼,尤其是“古典”一词,往往令人对音乐却步。虽然音乐在昔日专为社会权贵精英而设,而且只有获王公贵族资助才能于宫廷演奏,但这一切已成云烟。今天,人人都可以享受古典音乐。艺术是人类发展不可或缺的一部分。这种美学无法看见但能感受得到。音乐涵盖了所有艺术范畴,全因它同时为我们带来感受和体验。

古斯塔沃・杜达梅尔与乐团合力演出精彩绝伦的音乐,讲求表达才智、知识、直觉和感情之间的复杂关系。

如何克服障碍?

试想像古董汽车收藏的魅力,随着年月有增无减,而音乐也理应如此。除了乐曲,声音、概念及演绎方式均不断演变。我们应借助年轻一代的新动力和视野,使乐团能够新旧相融;音乐世界属于每一个人,无分你我。

这并非意味着音乐家要将曲目分散处理。例如,你为观众演奏所有马勒交响曲乐章。普通观众亦往往懂得欣赏当中最优秀的作品,故质量和数量并非对立。

纯粹主义者令流行古典音乐与新一代产生隔阂。他们认为只有极少数的人才有资格欣赏古典音乐,更要经由某些圈子加以控制和局限,藉此保持音乐的纯正。在现今的世代,这实在是无稽之谈。

有评论认为,充满宗派主义思维的瓦格纳支持者,正正是伤害瓦格纳作品的元凶。

的确如此,这种事情非常普遍,实在让人费解。如今,有一件事尤其令人反应激烈。不少人单凭指挥家的年纪便肆意批评,这就如我们认定长相佳的人都是没有智慧的。这些都是陈腔滥调,毫无根据。纯粹主义者往往都是这种态度。带有此等偏见的批评者,严重窒碍音乐的发展。

当委内瑞拉指挥家或郎朗等杰出中国钢琴家,捍卫并推广欧洲音乐的传统时,曾否遇到类似的偏见?

批评者视野狭隘,全因他们一直拥护这些音乐传统,并以完全相同的方式理解音乐。然而时移势易,音乐不再属于特定的地方或文化。相反,音乐遍布全球,真正变得普及。尽管我们来自音乐已大众化的地方,但这依然是我们希望带出的讯息,亦是最重要的一环。整个重点并非在于孕育音乐家,而是让人找到方法发展自己和实现自己的愿望。

我比从前更加好奇。古斯塔沃・杜达梅尔

这是否是国立青少年管弦乐团所追求的目标?

乐团的目标是要远离个人主义,完成一些有意义的事。荷西・安东尼奥・艾伯鲁是我见过最具抱负的人,而这个志向就是集体进步,教导青少年善用时间。他使青年与儿童有机会学习具价值和情感的东西,并引领他们追求美丽。艺术是我们教育中最重要的部分,它给予我们时空去创造美丽。时间是我们最大的资产,我们必须以此来调节先天的悟性,使自己不断进步。

委内瑞拉国立青少年管弦乐团

由荷西・安东尼奥・艾伯鲁于1975年创立的委内瑞拉国立青少年管弦乐团计划,堪为全球音乐教育的典范。不少国家均希望以这种音乐教育(包括资助模式)栽培年轻人,事实上,这个计划由最初到今天都是以社会为本,旨在消除贫困和扑灭青少年犯罪。此计划目前包含全国各地共125个青少年管弦乐团,即每个城市平均拥有一个以上的乐团,成功达致创办人的理想目标。另外还有31个交响乐团,其中的音乐家大多来自委内瑞拉国立青少年管弦乐团体系,当中包括整个体系的瑰宝──委内瑞拉西蒙・玻利瓦交响乐团。

目前约有40万名委内瑞拉儿童和青少年受惠于国立青少年管弦乐团计划,相关课程由政府拨款和来自世界各地的私人捐款资助。这个计划获西蒙・拉图等著名音乐家的赞赏,他指这是他所知最重要的教学工作;而此计划亦定期与享誉全球的音乐家合作,如普拉西多・多明戈(Plácido Domingo)和拉图本人。此外,这是一所培育演奏家和指挥家的学校,备受外界肯定,导师包括洛杉矶爱乐乐团和委内瑞拉西蒙・玻利瓦交响乐团现任音乐总监古斯塔沃・杜达梅尔、威尼斯凤凰歌剧院(La Fenice)首席指挥迭戈・马瑟斯及基斯顿・巴斯克。

文化流传

艺术

探索

分享此页面

Gustavo DudamelI'm not a young conductor anymore

Published in September 2013clockTime to read: 2m50s
scroll-down

Rolex Testimonee Gustavo Dudamel has the world at his feet. The charismatic Venezuelan conductor has shaken the foundations of classical music with his open mind and bold, new interpretations of old classics.

by Jesús Ruiz Mantilla

Just over 10 years ago, a talented young conductor began making his mark throughout the world. The young man came out of Venezuela’s extraordinary “Sistema” network of orchestras, which was created around 40 years ago by the visionary José Antonio Abreu, who was to have a profound impact on classical music. With a smile hidden in a shock of curly hair and a contagious energy and liveliness, the young conductor won over crowds – crowds of young people. He was Gustavo Dudamel, who embodied hope for the world of classical music, which had been declining in popularity. Now, he is Music Director of the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra of Venezuela – the most prestigious in the Abreu system and hailed by critics as one of the five best orchestras in the world. He is also Music Director of the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra and a regular guest conductor for the world’s finest musical ensembles and institutions, from the Berlin and the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestras to La Scala and the Concertgebouw. Gustavo Dudamel, a Rolex Testimonee since 2008, no longer considers himself a young conductor and has matured into an original thinker.

You have quickly gone from being a promising musical prodigy to an accomplished conductor. How do you feel now that you are living your dreams?

I don’t see myself as a young conductor anymore. You find young conductors such as 18-year-old Jesús Parra who has just made his debut in Salzburg under Simon Rattle, as well as Diego Matheuz and Christian Vásquez coming from the same system as me. There’s an explosion of new conductors, and it’s to be expected. The greats of past and present were once young musicians and, over time, the ranks of those wanting to devote themselves to music are growing younger and younger, possibly because it’s a world that has become more accessible. I know I still have a long way to go and I’m aware of being one of the privileged few with the tools at my disposal to continue developing with the orchestras I conduct. My degree of maturity today corresponds with the years that have passed and the developments in my career that have brought me this far. However, the most interesting part of it all is that you steadily raise the bar in terms of what you expect from yourself.

Can you explain why?

You tend to worry a lot when you are young, and perhaps the ideas and concerns you feel during this period of your life stem more from instinct than experience. They are perhaps more natural and more impetuous, and then as time goes on, you notice that the question becomes less about the how and more about the why. That’s where I stand today, the “how” is becoming less of an issue, as I ask myself more and more about the “why”.

Gustavo Dudamel fervently believes that classical music has been democratized and no longer belongs to particular places or cultures.

Can you give some examples?

Why should a given piece be seen from a particular angle? Why ask this or that from the orchestra – be it a certain style or a particular sound?

The career of a young conductor of your generation is more exposed than ever and has a high media profile, including social networks – all of which becomes very demanding. Few are able to survive in this jungle, yet you have done so and have amply fulfilled the expectations generated around you. Do you feel that you receive sufficient recognition for these achievements?

I feel fine where I am. I don’t think I have anything to prove and I don’t put pressure on myself to build something in particular in terms of my career. What interests me is my development as an artist. I used to feel more of a desire to prove things, and especially to prove I had talent – all of which is part of the folly of youth – even though everything evolved quite naturally for me and I didn’t feel pressured. I am more comfortable today and my curiosity goes way deeper than in the past. I love delving into music, exploring its physical, philosophical and, of course, artistic dimensions.

Which of these do you feel are most important?

All of them, taken as a whole. Music cannot be considered merely as a sound, a harmony, a rhythm or a colour. It must also be viewed through the prism of the thought that gave rise to such notes. The creation of some masterpieces required deep reflection – not necessarily in an orderly way, but in a natural and grounded manner. The orchestra must also be able to sense these thought patterns. It is not enough to try to explain them in words; you have to do it through gestures too. It is all about this complex relationship between your intellect, your knowledge, your intuition and your feelings.

I am surprised that you didn’t feel the pressure. On the one hand, that seems like a healthy approach, but maybe also somewhat flippant. You were the emblematic figure of José Antonio Abreu’s Venezuelan orchestra, which is held up as an example around the world. Didn’t a responsibility like this weigh heavy on your shoulders?

No, never, I can assure you. I never feel nervous before a concert – if I did it would be a sign of insecurity. On the other hand, I am highly impatient and my adrenalin shoots up. I do indeed feel a sense of responsibility, which is different from pressure – a responsibility to develop personally and artistically, the terms I prefer to use more than “professionally”.

Why don’t you like the term “professionally”?

It’s too limited. What bothers me is when it is used by young people who, on joining an orchestra, demand professional treatment. We are artists. We create and recreate. Recreating the music of the great geniuses calls for artists, not professionals. That’s why I have never felt pressured.

Could you share with us the founding principles of El Sistema?

The most important thing is group practice. Studying alone is also important, but teamwork plays an essential role. This experience in the orchestra, the act of listening to others, of producing such or such a sound, was very important to us. We have all played in an orchestra, and the aspiration to succeed stems from this shared practice backed by extensive musical training. My studies at Barquisimeto [Venezuela] laid the foundations for all the rest: they instilled in me a sense of harmony and aesthetics, a taste for history and… the pleasure of performing together. This is also why I find it easy to connect with orchestras.

With this training behind you, you left Venezuela and met with great success in the United States, where you were appointed Music Director for the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra. You have caused ripples throughout Europe, the home of a grand musical tradition; you have brought a decidedly fresh approach to music. Should one rationalize the importance of this tradition? Is everything in fact more organic than one might think?

Absolutely. Certain terms, such as the very word “classical”, have put most people off music. While it is true that at one time this music was reserved for the elite and performed in courts under the patronage of monarchs and the aristocracy, that’s no longer the case. Today, it belongs to everyone. Art is part and parcel of human development. It is a way of gaining access to a beauty that cannot be seen, but rather sensed. This is why music encompasses all the other arts, because it is felt and experienced.

For Gustavo Dudamel, creating masterpieces with an orchestra requires expression of the complex relationship between intellect, knowledge, intuition and feelings.

How does one overcome the barrier?

Think of the vintage charm of a collector’s car, of the way that this same car has adapted over the ages. That is how we should understand music. Not only has composition evolved, but so too have sounds, concepts and the way they are transmitted. We should take advantage of the fresh impetus that younger generations, with their new vision, are imparting to orchestras; music is a world that belongs to each and every one of us.

This doesn’t necessarily mean dealing with repertoires in bits and pieces. For example, you, yourself, offer your audience complete cycles of Mahler symphonies. The audience, albeit amateur, always appreciates the best works. Quality and quantity are not mutually exclusive.

Purists create a distance between popular classical music and the new generations. They believe that this music is the preserve of a handful of privileged people and that to maintain its purity, it needs to remain boxed in under the control of certain circles. It is utter nonsense to think like that in this day and age.

Some critics believe that nobody did more harm to Wagner than Wagnerians themselves with their sectarian mind-sets.

Yes, indeed, and such approaches are all too prevalent. It’s really strange. Today, there’s one thing in particular that people react fiercely to. So many readily criticize and attack a young conductor solely because of his age. It’s the same as thinking that somebody who is good-looking can’t be intelligent. These are clichés with no substance whatsoever. Purists are very inclined to attitudes like these. With such prejudices, some critics severely hamper the development that music should be enjoying.

Do similar prejudices arise when music in the grand European tradition is being safeguarded and promoted by Venezuelan conductors or brilliant Chinese pianists such as Lang Lang?

The critics’ blinkered outlook is due to their always having owned this music and always understanding it in exactly the same way. However, things are changing and music no longer belongs to a particular place or culture. Instead, it is becoming global and truly universal. That is what we are trying to demonstrate and this is the most important thing – aside from the fact that we come from places where access to music has been democratized. The whole point is not about creating musicians, but about giving human beings the means to achieve self-development and self-fulfilment.

My curiosity goes way deeper than in the past.Gustavo Dudamel

Is that what the Abreu system aspires to?

Its ambition is to achieve something good that is geared away from individualism. I don’t know anyone more ambitious than José Antonio Abreu, but this ambition is all directed towards collective progress – a common purpose that teaches children and young people to make the most of their time. He enables them to learn something that is worthwhile, something filled with emotion, directed towards a quest for beauty. Art is the most important part of our education, and gives us a physical and temporal space in which to create beauty. Time is our greatest asset and we must use it to fine-tune our innate sensitivity and to evolve into better human beings.

EL SISTEMA, VENEZUELA’S YOUTH ORCHESTRA PROGRAMME

El Sistema, created in 1975 by José Antonio Abreu, has come to epitomize the benchmark for musical education worldwide. Many other countries would like to adopt this form of musical education for young people (along with the funding model), although the project actually stems from – and is still today – a social initiative designed to fight poverty and delinquency. It currently consists of 125 youth orchestras around the country, translating into more than one in each city, just as its pioneer had dreamed. That’s in addition to the 31 symphony orchestras, with musicians from the El Sistema programme, including the jewel in the crown of the entire system: the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra of Venezuela.

Around 400,000 children and young people in Venezuela are currently benefiting from classes under El Sistema, which is funded by government grants and private contributions from all over the world. It is highly regarded by major musical figures such as Simon Rattle, who views the programme as the most significant teaching endeavour he has ever known; and it regularly collaborates with prestigious, world-renowned musicians such as Plácido Domingo and Rattle himself. It is also a recognized school for performers and conductors trained by Abreu, including Gustavo Dudamel, current Music Director of the Los Angeles Philharmonic and the Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra of Venezuela; Diego Matheuz, current Principal Conductor at La Fenice opera house in Venice; and Christian Vásquez.

Perpetuating Culture

Arts

Discover

Share this page