于rolex.org搜索

Call to Earth

阻止全球最大的沙漠扩张

(CNN) - 全球最大的沙漠正不断扩张。在过去一个世纪,撒哈拉沙漠扩大超过10%,现占地逾330万平方英里(860万平方公里),覆盖北非11个国家。

撰文:内尔・路易斯(Nell Lewis);影片:斯蒂芬妮・布兰迪斯(Stefanie Blendis),CNN
发布日期: 2021年3月阅读需时: 3分15秒

位于沙漠南部的半干旱萨赫勒地区深受影响。本来已经短缺的水资源更为稀少。泥土质量不断下降,植被不足导致食物供应出现问题。联合国估计约1.35亿人依赖这些土地为生,他们的生活岌岌可危。

非洲联盟于2007年推行的大胆方案,或可阻止炙热沙漠扩张,保护萨赫勒的社群。在未来10年,“绿色长城”(Great Green Wall)计划有望恢复西至塞内加尔、东至吉布提的1亿公顷土地,开辟阔15公里(9英里)、长8,000公里(5,000英里)的空间,种植树木、植被、草地及植物。

“绿色长城”计划

计划旨在于2030年前恢复横跨11个国家的1亿公顷荒地。

项目早前曾因为资金短缺及不稳定,而出现经营困难,幸好于1月收到法国、世界银行及其他捐款人的140亿美元新注资,获得联合国估计于2030年达成目标所需的近半资金(总数为330亿美元)。

如果能够完整实行计划,此长城的长度将为大堡礁的三倍之多。大堡礁目前是全球最大的生命结构。

起步

距离期限还有九年,前路漫漫。截止目前,计划已恢复400万公顷土地,仅为目标的4%,但如果纳入“绿色长城”官方区域以外的地方,数字则可上升至近2,000万公顷。

多个国家曾采用不同保育措施,例如重新植林、混农林业、建造梯田及修整沙丘,其中后者的技术能够防止沙丘移动一段时间,让植被可以重新生长。他们亦逐步开始以掘井及建立灌溉系统,保护水资源。

埃塞俄比亚据报恢复的土地最多,种植55亿株植物及幼苗,共有超过15万公顷的重新植林地及70万公顷的梯田,两者合并更是伦敦逾五倍之大。

非洲联盟委员会的“绿色长城”计划统筹埃尔维斯・保罗・坦格姆(Elvis Paul Tangem)说:“我们花了十多年时间协调各国及策略。但现在我们已经奠定了基础,知道哪些方法可行,哪些不行。我们正在向着目标快速迈进。”

坦格姆表示最大的得着之一,就是明白社区合作的重要。他说:“我们重回前线社区,仔细研究他们的需求,以及流传数个世纪的土著知识和方法。”

社群价值

法裔突尼斯环境专家莎拉・杜米(Sarah Toumi)曾参与计划近期的筹款活动,她认同只有取得当地居民的全力支持,此等规模的项目才有望成功。

她告诉CNN:“植树非常容易,但培育树木却毫不简单。开支在干旱地区尤其高昂,您需要灌溉、照料,又要防止动物咬食树木。”

植树非常容易,但培育树木却毫不简单。莎拉・杜米

这都是杜米的经验之谈,她成立了“全民种相思”(Acacias for All),旨在恢复突尼斯受沙漠化影响的土地。她表示此组织已在这区域中种植超过70万棵相思树。

邀请社群加入,并展示恢复土地的重要,一直是计划持续营运的关键。杜米的组织协助农民认识采集相思树树叶、果实及树胶的方法,令他们可以藉此赚取生计。

“绿色长城”除了恢复土地的目标,还希望在乡村地区制造1,000万个职位。根据联合国报告,目前已有335,000个新职位,水果和树林产物的收入更达9,0000万美元。

杜米说:“这为居民建立可持续的生计……由此,他们可以在生态系统中和平生活,同时保留传统及地貌。”

宣扬和平

此地区的人口急速上升,土地恢复与职位增加日益重要。综观整个非洲,未来15年有多达3.75亿名年轻人加入职场,其中超过一半将居于乡村地区。

如果社区因为沙漠化及土地退化而出现职位短缺,他们便极有可能选择移居。《联合国防治荒漠化公约》前执行秘书兼法国总统生物多样化性特使莫妮克・巴布特(Monique Barbut)形容,这会引发全球的政治动荡。

她补充,计划涉及11个国家,有助团结非洲领袖,“让此地区回复生机,稳定非洲当地的政治局势”。

坦格姆亦表示同意,并强调这是“天然资源管理及地区政治稳定的重要桥梁”。“绿色长城”在完成后,有望成为影响全球的自然方案先例。

合作关系系列

Call to Earth

探索

Call to Earth

Holding back the world’s largest desert

(CNN) – The world’s largest desert is growing. In the last century, the Sahara Desert expanded by more than 10%, now covering an area of more than 3.3 million square miles (8.6 million square kilometers) and spanning 11 countries in the north of Africa.

By Nell Lewis; video by Stefanie Blendis, CNN
Published in March 2021icon-clockTime to read: 3min 15s

The Sahel region, a semi-arid belt that acts as a buffer zone just south of the desert, is most affected. Water, already scarce, is becoming scarcer. Soil quality is deteriorating, and a lack of vegetation is leading to food insecurity. The UN estimates roughly 135 million people who depend on these degraded lands are at risk.

But an ambitious plan, launched by the African Union in 2007, could help to hold back the hot sands and protect the Sahel communities. Within the next decade, the Great Green Wall initiative hopes to restore 100 million hectares of land between Senegal in the west and Djibouti in the east, creating a 15-kilometer-wide (9 miles) and 8,000-kilometer-long (5,000 miles) mosaic of trees, vegetation, grasslands and plants.

The Great Green Wall initiative

A mission to restore 100 million hectares of degraded land across 11 countries by 2030.

Having previously struggled with insufficient and unpredictable funding, the project received a major boost in January: $14 billion in new funding from France, the World Bank and other donors — contributing nearly half of the $33 billion the UN estimates is needed to achieve the 2030 goal.

If completed in full, the wall will be more than three times the length of the Great Barrier Reef, currently the largest living structure on Earth.

Fresh shoots

Nine years away from its deadline, there is still a long way to go. So far, 4 million hectares of land has been restored — just 4% of the overall goal — though this rises to almost 20 million hectares when counting areas outside of the official Great Green Wall zones.

Countries have tried a variety of conservation measures, such as reforestation, agroforestry, creating terraces, and dune fixing — a technique that prevents the movement of sand long enough to let natural vegetation establish itself. They are also taking steps to protect water supplies, by drilling bore holes and building irrigation systems.

Ethiopia is reported to have restored the most so far, producing 5.5 billion plants and seedlings, and planting more than 150,000 hectares of reforested lands and 700,000 hectares of terraces — which together make up an area more than five times the size of London.

“It took us more than a decade to set up the countries and all the strategies,” says Elvis Paul Tangem, coordinator of the Great Green Wall initiative at the African Union Commission. “But now we have laid the groundwork, we have seen what has worked and what has not worked, and we are on the highway to achieve our objectives.”

Among the biggest lessons learned is the importance of community collaboration, says Tangem. “We went back to the frontline communities and looked exactly at their needs and the indigenous knowledge and practices that have been going on for centuries,” he says.

Community value

Sarah Toumi, a French-Tunisian environmentalist involved in the initiative’s recent fundraising push, agrees that such an ambitious project will only be possible if local residents are fully behind it.

“It’s very easy to plant a tree, but it’s not easy to grow one,” she tells CNN. “It’s expensive in arid areas: you have to water it, you have to take care of it, you have to prevent animals from eating it.”

It's very easy to plant a tree, but it’s not easy to grow one.Sarah Toumi

Toumi speaks from her own experience after founding an organization called Acacias for All, which aims to restore land affected by desertification in Tunisia. The organization has planted more than 700,000 acacia trees in the region, she says.

Bringing communities into the initiative and demonstrating the value of restoration has been vital to the sustainability of the project. Toumi’s organization helps to teach farmers how to harvest the leaves, fruits and gum of the plant so that they can make a living from it.

In addition to the Great Green Wall’s target for land restoration, there is also the goal to create 10 million jobs in rural areas. So far, 335,000 have been created and growing fruit and forest products has earned $90 million, according to the UN.

“It’s about creating sustainable livelihoods for people ... so that they can live peacefully in their ecosystems and preserve their traditions and preserve their landscapes,” says Toumi.

Promoting peace

As the population grows rapidly in the region, land restoration combined with job creation is becoming all the more urgent. Across the African continent, more than half of the 375 million young people entering the job market in the next 15 years will be living in rural areas.

If there is no job for someone in their community due to desertification and land degradation, they are likely to migrate — which could trigger political instability across the world, says Monique Barbut, former executive secretary of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification and special envoy for biodiversity to the French President.

By involving 11 countries, the initiative could help to unite African leaders, she adds, “(bringing) life back to that region of the world, which will help us stabilize that part of Africa on political grounds.”

Tangem agrees, noting “the strong link between natural resource management and political stability in the region.” Once complete, the Great Green Wall could help provide a nature-based solution with a global impact.

Partnership Series

Call to Earth

Discover