漢斯・亨特克斯免卻負重之苦的水桶

發布日期: 1996年clock閱讀需時: 40s
scroll-down

由南非建築師漢斯・亨特克斯(Hans Hendrikse)發明的Q Drum,讓數以千計的發展中國家居民,能以簡便方式每次運送50公升水,令他們的生活得到改善。

地點南非

在發展中國家,挑水對健康構成隱患。婦女和兒童常常被迫長距離搬運笨重累贅的容器,令背部和頸部容易受傷。有見及此,南非建築師漢斯・亨特克斯創作出簡單便宜的滾動水桶。這個Q Drum由漢斯與其兄弟皮爾特共同發明,設計目標是「越簡單、越易維修、越易更換越好」,以便在農村地區使用,而且無需人手提起。二人融合建築和工程技術,製作出環形塑料容器,繩子穿過縱向軸或中心孔,用以在不同地形拉動或滾動水桶。Q Drum讓數以千計居民的生活得到改善。

"我們就一個於20個月內經每天使用的水桶進行統計評估,計算出水桶合共行經12,000公里,轉動700萬圈,並為13人提供120,000公升家庭用水。"

亨特克斯於2012年去世,但他的滾動式水桶繼續在約翰內斯堡的製造要點生產。這個設計曾於世界各地展出,包括倫敦的科學博物館(Science Museum)和蛇形畫廊(Serpentine Galleries)。

  • 30公里

    部分南非居民挑水期間的步行距離

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close

Hans HendrikseWater drum eases burden

Published in 1996clockTime to read: 40s
scroll-down

The Q Drum invented by South African architect Hans Hendrikse has improved the lives of many thousands in developing countries, providing a simple, easy means to transport up to 50 litres of water at a time.

locationSouth Africa

In developing countries, fetching water can be a health hazard. Women and children are often forced to lug heavy, cumbersome containers over long distances, risking back and neck injuries. But South African architect Hans Hendrikse devised a simple solution with his low-cost, rolling water container. The Q Drum, co-designed with his brother Pieter, needed to be “as simple, repairable and replaceable as possible” so it could be used in rural areas and did not need to be lifted. Combining their architectural and engineering skills, the brothers came up with the donut-shaped plastic container, which has a longitudinal shaft or central hole, through which a rope is tied, to pull or roll the drum along all terrains. The Q-Drum has improved many thousands of lives.

After evaluating a drum that has been in use daily for 20 months, we calculated that it travelled a distance of 12,000 kilometres, made seven million revolutions, and provided 13 people with 120,000 litres of household water.

Hendrikse passed away in 2012, but his rollable water container continues to be produced at the principal manufacturing location in Johannesburg. It has been featured in exhibitions around the world, including at the Science Museum and the Serpentine Galleries in London.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page