奈埃梅卡・艾古奥努农场无线电台

发布日期: 2010年clock阅读需时: 50s
scroll-down

虽然尼日利亚是非洲当中人口和经济均最具规模的的城市,但贫穷问题令乡郊小农仅能勉强糊口。幸而,奈埃梅卡・艾古奥努(Nnaemeka Ikegwuonu)及其电台网络让农民得以学习提高农产收入的方式。

地点尼日利亚

尼日利亚的人口达1.87亿,超过90%的人民每天赚取不足2美元,当中不少是小农。艾古奥努自幼在农村社区长大,放学后负责饲养家禽和牛只,他注意到农民极少接触有关耕作方式和环境问题的信息。

数以百万计的民众曾收听这个无线电台节目。节目向农民灌输知识,以助他们管理农作物并在困难环境下完成收割。

2003年,他创立了小农基金会(Smallholders Foundation),透过电台向农村社区提供信息,让农民能够发问,同时就当代农业技术和环境保护表达意见。电台网络的听众现已增至约二百万人。基金会亦推动两家全新营利公司的发展,分别是ColdHubs Limited(主力延长本土农产品的保质期)和Agripreneurship Academy(培训年青农民)。

艾古奥努过往曾与ColdHubs共同设计创新的太阳能冷冻房,能保存易腐烂并使其保鲜期由2天延长至21天。他亦设计出保藏木薯的革命性铁丝网手推车,令这种尼日利亚主食的保质期由3天延长至16天。

他先后荣获24个国内和国际奖项,包括现称非洲粮食奖(African Food Prize)的非洲绿色革命亚拉奖(Yara Prize for Green Revolution)。

  • 1.87亿

    尼日利亚人口

  • 70%

    尼日利亚的自给农业人口

  • 32个

    尼日利亚地区能够收听伊克胡努的农场无线电台

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

close

Nnaemeka IkegwuonuFarming by radio

Published in 2010clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Nigeria has Africa’s biggest population and economy, but poverty afflicts the countryside where smallholders eke out a living. Thanks to Nnaemeka Ikegwuonu and his network of radio stations, they are now learning how to improve farm incomes.

locationNigeria

More than 90 per cent of Nigeria’s population of 187 million – many of them farmers on smallholdings – survives on less than US$2 a day. Growing up in a rural community, Ikegwuonu spent his after-school hours raising poultry and cattle, and noticed that farmers had little access to information about farming practices and environmental issues.

The radio programmes have been heard by millions of people. It’s all about knowledge, helping farmers to manage their crops and harvesting in difficult circumstances.

In 2003, he founded the Smallholders Foundation to provide the rural community with information via interactive radio – so farmers can themselves both ask questions and provide feedback on contemporary agricultural techniques and environmental conservation. The radio network audience has grown to an estimated 2 million. His foundation is also the springboard for two new for-profit companies: ColdHubs Limited (focusing on improving the shelf life of local produce) and the Agripreneurship Academy (training young farmers).

With ColdHubs, Ikegwuonu has already designed a revolutionary solar-powered walk-in cold room that stores, preserves and extends the shelf life of perishable food from two days to 21 days. He also designed a wire-mesh trolley that will preserve cassava, extending the shelf life of Nigeria’s staple food from three days to 16.

He has won 24 awards, both national and international, including the Yara Prize for Green Revolution in Africa (now the African Food Prize).

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page