大衛・洛奇潘尼茲改寫人類史前史

發布日期: 2004年clock閱讀需時: 45s
scroll-down

自1991年起,古人類學家大衛・洛奇潘尼茲(David Lordkipanidze)帶領一支由國際專家組成的團隊挖掘全球其中一個最重要的史前遺跡,那裏是現時已知最早走出非洲的人類祖先骸骨出土之處。

地點格魯吉亞

現任格魯吉亞國家博物館館長大衛・洛奇潘尼茲是研究人類史前史的權威學者。

它們的狀況良好,讓我們能研究原始人類化石骸骨中許多未知的特徵,而且可供研究的化石不只一個。

於2013年,他與同事發表了重要的研究結論,指出那些早期人屬(Homo)化石,與在格魯吉亞首都第比利斯(Tbilisi)西南面約90公里的德馬尼西(Dmanisi)出土、具有180萬年歷史的一個頭骨化石或屬同一血統,這事曾獲世界各地的媒體報導。

數以百計的科學家和學生曾參與有關挖掘工作,而洛奇潘尼茲亦計劃繼續進行相關研究。他表示:「我們可以肯定將在德馬尼西找到新發現,因為該地區至少有50,000平方米的範圍埋藏着石器工具,並有人類化石尚未出土。」他在近年被推選加入不同的重要科學組織,如美國國家科學院及世界藝術與科學學院。他曾獲頒授多個獎項,其中包括於2014年的宏博研究獎(Humboldt Research Award)。他還把格魯吉亞國家博物館塑造成一個結合文化、教育和科學且活力滿溢的地方。

  • 1.5米

    洛奇潘尼茲所發現的格魯吉亞原始人身高

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close
David Lordkipanidze

Rewriting human prehistory

Published in 2004clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

Since 1991, palaeoanthropologist David Lordkipanidze has led an international team excavating one of the world’s foremost prehistoric sites where the bones of the earliest-known human ancestors to venture out of Africa have come to light.

locationGeorgia

David Lordkipanidze, now Director General of the Georgian National Museum, is at the forefront of research on human prehistory.

Their state of preservation is exceptional, enabling us to study many previously unknown aspects of the skeleton of fossil hominids for the first time, and in more than one individual.

In 2013, he and his colleagues reached a critical conclusion that the early Homo fossils may represent one species and belong to the same, single lineage, through their discovery of a 1.8 million year-old skull at Dmanisi in Georgia, located about 90 km south-west of the capital Tbilisi. The story was picked up by media all over the world.

Hundreds of scientists and students have been involved in the excavations, which Lordkipanidze plans to continue. “We can say for sure that Dmanisi has enormous potential to yield new discoveries as we know that at least 50,000 square metres of the site contain stone tools – and these still remain to be excavated for fossil humans,” he says. He has in recent years been elected to prominent scientific organizations, such as the National Academy of Sciences and the World Academy of Art and Science. Among his many awards, he won the Humboldt Research Award in 2014. He has also transformed the Georgian National Museum into a vibrant space for culture, education and science.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page