聂宗典加拿大的多元文化之声

发布日期: 2004年icon-clock阅读需时: 0min 47s
icon-scroll-down

聂宗典(Dora Nipp)涵盖广泛内容的口述历史访谈记录,详尽记述了加拿大移民推崇种族多元化的生活及体验,并探索他们对这新家园的贡献。

地点加拿大

聂宗典希望加拿大的国民紧记并重视历史,特别是移民的种族多元化历史。她开展了口述历史访谈记录的保存计划,这些记录记载了加拿大移民迁移至当地的苦与乐及生活体验,她亦在多伦多开办展馆供访客聆听这些录音。作为安省多元文化历史委员会(Multicultural History Society of Ontario)的行政总裁,她令组织所收藏的历史记录及义工人数大幅增长。于过去数年,超过300名志愿者投身参与逾500个口述历史记录项目,进行包括制作、编辑及评注访谈稿的工作,并协助研究及撰写讲述者的生平记录。现时组织已有超过9,000小时的口述记录及84,000张照片,记载了在加拿大生活的60个不同种族群组的历史。

我们在欣赏这些故事的同时,能让我们更懂得如何应对歧视问题。

2017年,聂宗典与组织将参与加拿大联邦成立一百五十周年的庆祝活动,运用所收藏的记录及原始信息展示国家的种族多元化及对移民所背负的责任。

  • 9,000小时

    安省多元文化历史委员会所记录的访谈录音时数

  • 500项

    由组织录制的口述历史记录数目

  • 60个

    曾有成员参与访谈的种族群组数目

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索更多

Dora NippCanada’s diverse voices

Published in 2004clockTime to read: 40s
scroll-down

Dora Nipp’s extensive oral history interviews documenting the lives and experiences of Canada’s immigrants celebrate their ethnic diversity and explore the contribution they have made to their new homeland.

locationCanada

Dora Nipp wants her fellow Canadians to remember and treasure their past, particularly the wide ethnic diversity of the nation’s immigrants. She set out to preserve a collection of oral history interviews with immigrants, recording the joys and hardships of their journeys to, and lives in, Canada. She helped establish a museum in Toronto where visitors can listen to these recordings. As Chief Executive Officer of the Multicultural History Society of Ontario, she expanded the organization’s acquisitions and its volunteer initiatives exponentially. In the past few years, 300-plus volunteers have engaged with more than 500 oral history testimonies, producing, editing and annotating interview transcripts, and researching and writing biographical notes on narrators. In total, the Society has more than 9,000 hours of oral testimonies and 84,000 photographs – gathered from members of 60 ethnic groups now living in Canada.

The more we celebrate these stories, the better equipped we are to confront discrimination today.

In 2017, Nipp and the Society will be involved in Canada’s sesquicentennial celebrations, marking the 150th anniversary of the Confederation, using the archival collections and primary source material to highlight the country’s ethnic diversity and its debt to immigration.

  • 9,000

    Hours of interviews recorded by the Multicultural History Society of Ontario

  • 500

    Oral history testimonies recorded by the Society

  • 60

    Ethnic groups whose members have recorded interviews

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page