安德鲁・缪伊尔先天与后天

发布日期: 2008年clock阅读需时: 50s
scroll-down

南非保育专家安德鲁・缪伊尔(Andrew Muir)善用自然环境,协助因艾滋病而成为孤儿的年轻人解决就业问题并建立生活技能,从而提升生活水平。

地点南非

2006年,原野非洲基金会(Wilderness Foundation Africa)总裁安德鲁・缪伊尔推出Umzi Wethu(我们的家)计划,为缺乏就业前景的年轻人提供生态旅游相关的培训和工作机会,如公园护林员和为观光客下厨的厨师。Umzi Wethu还为学员安排生活技能训练、健康咨询、一对一辅导及野外体验活动。

我亲证一些曾在社会迷途或是无法投身职场的弱势社群,现在能够赚取8,000兰特(540美元)以上的收入。他们有能力维持生计之余,更可支付学位和文凭费用,这些实例令人非常鼓舞。

缪伊尔表示:“我知道推动Umzi Wethu继续营运的唯一方法,就是制定持之以恒的全盘计划。毕竟,这些孤儿大部分于过去18年间均为弱势社群,因此有必要使用集中而全面的措施,借以扭转现今局面。”

迄今已有三百名年轻人从Umzi的三所学院毕业,各人均完成为期50周的课程。其中92%的毕业生成功就业,85%于一年后继续留任或升任更高工作岗位。缪伊尔现正筹办另一计划Umzi Wethu Siyazenzela,以非寄宿模式协助更多年轻人,他们将会于连续16周的计划中学习“就业准备与生活技能”,内容与Umzi Wethu相近。每年约有300名学生获Siyazenzela取录。

  • 60%

    因艾滋病而成为孤儿的青年参加Umzi Wethu的比率

  • 92%

    缪伊尔的学院毕业生成功就业比率

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

close
Andrew Muir

Nature and nurture

Published in 2008clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Andrew Muir, a South African conservationist is using the natural world to support young people orphaned by AIDS improve their lives, helping them to find jobs and develop life skills.

locationSouth Africa

In 2006, Andrew Muir, as CEO of the Wilderness Foundation Africa, set up the Umzi Wethu (Our Home) programme to give young people, who have few prospects of employment, training and jobs in the ecotourism sector, from park rangers to chefs cooking for tourists. Umzi Wethu also provides life-skills training, wellness counselling, one-to-one mentoring and wilderness experience.

To see how someone who was so-called lost to society, or highly vulnerable and unable to enter the job market, can now earn R8,000 [US$540] or more and support their households, and even pay for themselves to do degrees and diplomas, that is rewarding.

“I knew that the only way we could make Umzi Wethu work was by creating a comprehensive and long-lasting programme,” Muir explains. “After all, the vulnerability of these orphans has generally been 18 years in the making and will need something pretty intense and all-embracing to turn it around.”

Three hundred young people have graduated from the 50-week course at Umzi’s three academies. Of the graduates, 92 per cent are in jobs and 85 per cent still hold those or higher-ranking jobs a year later. Muir has now created a sister programme, the Umzi Wethu Siyazenzela, designed to help much bigger numbers of young people in a non-residential programme lasting 16 weeks and including “job-readiness and life-skills” components similar to Umzi Wethu. About 300 students are accepted into Siyazenzela each year.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page