诺贝托・路易・贾科梅安第斯标志

发布日期: 1996年clock阅读需时: 40s
scroll-down

阿根廷生物学家诺贝托・路易・贾科梅(Norberto Luis Jácome)成功拯救濒临灭绝的安第斯秃鹰,让这种雄伟鸟类继续在南美地区生活。

地点阿根廷

当地人喜见翼展三米的秃鹰在安第斯上空翱翔,皆因秃鹰被视为人类和宇宙之间的神圣联系。然而,这种繁殖率偏低的独特生物,有可能会从原居地消失。

要保育这个美丽星球的物种,文化变革是绝对必要的。

幸而诺贝托・路易・贾科梅打破了这个局面,在过去二十多年致力拯救秃鹰。他在布宜诺斯艾利斯发起安第斯秃鹰保护计划(Andean Condor Conservation Program),协助圈养诞生的秃鹰适应野外生活,借以提升自然群体数量。

他于1996年获劳力士雄才伟略大奖资助计划,但当时解放秃鹰的行动仍属筹备阶段。如今,在贾科梅和各国支持者的努力下,安第斯秃鹰再次于委内瑞拉的火地群岛(Tierra del Fuego)上高飞。人工孵化、不受人类影响自然繁殖,以及救援及复康中心的创立,成功让秃鹰重返野外栖息地。屹今项目共培育57只鶵鸟、拯救197只秃鹰,并放生当中160只,令野生秃鹰数目得以稳健上升。

  • 300公里

    安第斯秃鹰每天可滑翔的距离

  • 15公斤

    成年秃鹰的体重

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

close
Norberto L. Jácome

Icon of the Andes

Published in 1996clockTime to read: 40s
scroll-down

Argentine biologist Norberto Luis Jácome has brought back from near-extinction the Andean condor, a majestic symbol of South America’s birdlife.

locationArgentina

With a wingspan of three metres, condors are a beloved sight in the Andean skies, revered locally as a sacred link between humans and the cosmos. But slow to breed, these magnificent creatures were in danger of disappearing from much of their original habitat.

A cultural change is absolutely necessary if we’re going to guarantee the continuity of life on this beautiful planet.

Not any more. Norberto Luis Jácome has devoted more than two decades to saving the condor. His breeding programme, the Andean Condor Conservation Program at Ecoparque Buenos Aires, has prepared condors born in captivity for life in the wild, boosting the natural population.

In 1996, when he received a Rolex Award to support his project, he had yet to liberate his first condor. Today, thanks to Jácome and an international network of supporters, the Andean condor is again floating on thermal updrafts from Venezuela to Tierra del Fuego. Artificial incubation, breeding without human contact and a rescue and rehabilitation centre that reintroduces birds into the wild have achieved the rearing of 57 chicks, the rescue of 197 condors and the release of 160 to bolster dwindling wild populations.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page