谢尔盖・贝雷兹努克西伯利亚虎救援行动

发布日期: 2012年icon-clock阅读需时: 0min 56s
icon-scroll-down

西伯利亚虎是世上最大型的猫科动物,数以千计的西伯利亚虎一度在亚洲森林生活。谢尔盖・贝雷兹努克(Sergei Bereznuk)正奋力抵抗偷猎者以及外界对其栖息地的破坏,拯救这种濒临灭绝的动物。

地点俄罗斯

老虎是强大力量和王者权力的象征,令人类神往。虽然人类对老虎着迷不已,但同时因为他们的贪婪与无知,导致这种魅力慑人的物种濒临灭绝。就在100年前,全球野虎数目多达100,000只,如今却只剩约3,500只。

单凭反偷猎活动不足以遏止偷猎者。我们要从当地人民的内心和思想入手。我们必须教育子孙后代。在老虎消失殆尽前,我们必须加以保护!

曾任工程师的谢尔盖・贝雷兹努克因苏联解体而被迫另觅出路。他接触到老虎保育工作后,一直在西伯利亚虎(又称东北虎)的主要聚居地——俄罗斯远东地区致力捍卫老虎生态。西伯利亚虎是现存最后六个老虎亚种之一(另外三个亚种现已灭绝)。

贝雷兹努克通过最新技术追踪老虎偷猎者并积极游说当地政府,决心营救西伯利亚虎,免得这种雄伟动物日后只能在故事和照片中出现。历年来,贝雷兹努克及其凤凰基金(Phoenix Fund)取得重要成果,所举办的老虎日(Tiger Day)每年吸引成千上万的俄罗斯游客,当中不乏年轻一代,共同颂扬老虎的生活并协助康复的年幼老虎放归野外。

  • 540只

    俄罗斯野生西伯利亚虎的数目

  • 200公斤

    成年西伯利亚虎的平均体重

  • 10,000人

    在海参崴(Vladivostok)参与2015年老虎日的民众数目

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索更多

close
Sergei Bereznuk

Race to rescue the Siberian tiger

Published in 2012clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

The Siberian tiger, the world’s biggest cat, once roamed Asia’s forests in the thousands. Sergei Bereznuk is battling poachers and habitat destruction to save this endangered animal from extinction.

locationRussia

The tiger has a powerful grip on the human psyche, symbolizing a potent energy and the power of kings. But, in spite of this infatuation, this charismatic species is endangered – because of human rapacity and ignorance. Just over 100 years ago, the global population of tigers in the wild was 100,000; today only about 3,500 survive.

Anti-poaching activities alone will not win the war against poachers. We have to fight for the hearts and minds of the local people. We must educate our future generations. We must protect the tiger for our future before his time runs out!

Formerly an engineer, Sergei Bereznuk was forced by the breakup of the Soviet Union to find another job. He discovered tiger conservation, and since then has been passionately engaged in championing the Siberian (or Amur) tiger in its principal homeland, Russia’s far east. The Siberian tiger is one of the last six tiger subspecies (three subspecies are now extinct).

Whether using the latest technology to track down tiger poachers or lobbying his government, Bereznuk is determined to save the Siberian tiger from becoming a magnificent but vanished animal, known only through stories and photos. Some of the greatest successes scored by Bereznuk and his Phoenix Fund have been establishing the annual Tiger Day that attracts thousands of Russian visitors, mainly children, to celebrate the lives of tigers, and the release, after rehabilitation, of young tigers into the wild.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page