艾圖路・干沙里斯尋覓美洲人的早期足跡

發布日期: 2008年clock閱讀需時: 45s
scroll-down

艾圖路・干沙里斯(Arturo González)曾在墨西哥猶加敦半島(Yucatán Peninsula)叢林中的蜿蜒水道進行探索,找到有關美洲人來源的線索,挑戰有關美洲早期原住民的傳統理論。

地點墨西哥

墨西哥生物學家兼水底考古學家艾圖路・干沙里斯透過探尋末次冰河時期海平面上升前猶加敦半島上人類生活的蹤跡以及淹沒於水中的當地洞穴,重新評估美洲史前時期的歷史。

作為土生土長的美洲人,我有興趣了解他們的背景,以及是從何處、何時率先踏足此地。

干沙里斯在洞穴中發現的骸骨或比其他在美洲發現的歷史更悠久。其中一具骸骨經由三所外國化驗室分析,估計有超過11,600年歷史,並且跟數千年後主宰該地區的瑪雅人種毫無相似之處。干沙里斯認為新發現的骸骨當中,部分頭蓋骨的形狀跟東亞的人種有共通之處。

他的探索所得促使科學界重新探討有關早期人類何時及如何踏足美洲的理論。干沙里斯與團隊在洞穴發現的人類生活遺跡以及研究結果在墨西哥坎昆(Cancún)人類與歷史學院(National Institute of Anthropology and History)的瑪雅文化博物館(Maya Museum)以及其他眾多當地博物館中展示。

他的探索結果已獲不同雜誌取材並寫成60餘篇專題報導。

  • 11,600年

    干沙里斯發現的骸骨估計歷史

  • 10,000年至60,000年

    干沙里斯與團隊在猶加敦洞穴所找到的化石歷史,包括已絕種的駝類、巨形犰狳及馬科物種的化石。

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

Arturo GonzálezIn search of the first Americans

Published in 2008clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

Arturo González’s expeditions through the flooded labyrinths far beneath the jungle covering Mexico’s Yucatán Peninsula are shedding light on the origins of the Americas and challenging traditional theories about its earliest inhabitants.

locationMexico

Mexican biologist and underwater archaeologist Arturo González is helping to reassess American prehistory by recovering evidence that humans lived in the Yucatán Peninsula region before sea levels rose in the last Ice Age and inundated local caves.

As an inhabitant of the Americas, I’m interested in knowing who these people were, where they came from, and when their first steps in the Americas occurred.

Skeletons found in the caves by González are possibly older than any other human remains in the Americas. One has been estimated by three foreign laboratories to be more than 11,600 years old and bears no resemblance to the Maya who came to dominate the region thousands of years later. If anything, according to González, the newly discovered skeletons have a cranial morphology resembling that of people in eastern Asia.

The findings are forcing the scientific community to rethink its theories about when and how early humans travelled to the Americas. The relics González and his team of specialists have discovered in the caves and the resulting research have been displayed in the Maya Museum of Mexico’s National Institute of Anthropology and History in Cancún, as well as in many other Mexican museums.

His work has been the subject of more than 60 articles in magazines.

  • 11,600 years

    Estimated age of one of the skeletons discovered by González

  • 10,000 - 60,000

    Age range of fossils retrieved by González and his colleagues, including those of extinct camelids, giant armadillos and horses, from Yucatán’s caverns

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page