於rolex.org搜尋

為火山把脈

安德魯・麥高尼戈

多達8億人居住在全球各地500座傳統活火山的範圍內,生活潛藏威脅。

對蘇格蘭火山學家安德魯・麥高尼戈(Andrew McGonigle)而言,及時發出爆發預警是一項兼顧人道及科學精神的使命。

2008年,安德魯・麥高尼戈獲頒勞力士雄才偉略大獎,隨即建造及駕駛無人機,蒐集活火山化學樣本並分析其中的氣體成分,以預測火山未來的爆發時機。

他說:「勞力士大獎協助團隊發展我以往一直研究的技術,它至今已獲多位世界各地的火山學家應用。」

除了飛航感應器,麥高尼戈現在亦使用超靈敏的智能手機鏡頭技術,「觀看」屬紫外線光譜的上升火山氣體。他希望通過觀察火山口排氣的趨勢,推斷充滿氣體的灼熱熔岩開始湧出之際,從而預測未來爆發。

我們可以看到它[火山]『呼吸』,目睹氣泡在岩漿柱上升,最後釋放到空氣中,並觀察這些氣體排放的變化。這是前所未有的成就。安德魯・麥高尼戈

他解釋:「這表示我們現能夠為火山把脈。我們可以看到火山『呼吸』,目睹氣泡在岩漿柱上升,最後釋放到空氣中,並觀察這些氣體排放的變化。這是前所未有的成就。」

麥高尼戈希望未來其鏡頭可以放置在全球所有最危險的火山口旁,全天候監察火山並發出爆發預警,拯救偏遠地區的居民。他的技術價格相宜且堅固耐用。他警告:「火山爆發時會出現各種意想不到的情況,總不可能到附近的電子零件店購買部件。」

麥高尼戈工作的重點挑戰是可靠分析火山氣體排放的模式,以準確推斷未來的爆發時機。他指出:「問題是世上沒有一模一樣的火山。它們的化學成分及爆發方式各異,有些會穩定恒常地釋放氣泡,例如是西西里島的斯通波利火山;有些則是罕見卻廣泛的爆發,如公元79年維蘇威火山的普林尼式噴發。這意味我們必須為五大火山類別各自整合出龐大的知識庫。」

麥高尼戈當前的目標是勘察足夠火山,涵蓋全球不同的地理環境,以準確辨識各個火山的危機警號。換言之,這表示需要找出不同火山類別的「呼吸」模式。

在斯通波利火山及埃特納火山完成技術的初步實地試驗後,他將測試範圍擴大至智利安第斯山脈及太平洋火山帶的火山。在智利北部,地質學家菲利普・阿奎萊拉(Felipe Aguilera)一直測試麥高尼戈的氣體蒐集技術,並與他合作發展自動化智能手機感應器技術,以便持續監測火山活動。

麥高尼戈的研究結合探索與人文目標,充分展現「保護地球,恒動不息」計劃的精神。火山堪為地球上最奇妙的秘境之一,通過對它的嶄新了解,以及可以拯救生命的全新技術,有望在未來避免遭遇這種比人類歷史更為遠古的自然災害。

此外,美國太空總署亦有接洽麥高尼戈,嘗試將感應器應用於地球以外,因為它們非常輕盈而且對紫外線極為敏感。自2018年,他一直與美國太空總署噴射推進實驗室的科學家及工程師合作,研發適用於月球車實地工作的小巧儀器。計劃目標是測量月球的含水量,進一步了解太陽系的演變。這種建基於其感應器的儀器,目前正改良成適合飛航的設計。

2008年發布

預測火山爆發

閱讀原文

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

里程碑

探索更多

Taking a volcano’s pulse

Andrew McGonigle

Eight hundred million people live in the shadow of fiery death, within striking range of one of Earth’s 500 historically active volcanoes.

For Scottish volcanologist Andrew McGonigle, providing timely warning of an impending eruption is a goal that is both humanitarian and scientific.

In 2008, Andrew McGonigle received a Rolex Award for Enterprise that enabled him to build and fly a drone capable of chemically sampling and interpreting the gaseous breath of active volcanoes, with the aim of predicting when they are likely to explode.

“The Award really helped us push forward the technology that I’d been working on previously, to the extent that now this is being used by a number of volcanologists across the planet,” he says.

Along with his flying sensors, McGonigle now uses ultra-sensitive smartphone camera-based technology that can ‘see’ the rising volcanic gases in the ultraviolet spectrum. By observing the increasing flow of emissions at the vent, he hopes to be able to foreshadow an impending eruption, as the explosive, gas-filled lava works its way up the volcano’s throat.

We can, in effect, see it [the volcano] ‘breathing’ as the gas bubbles rise through the magma column and escape into the air, and observe the variations in these waves of gas. This has never been done before.Andrew McGonigle

“This means we are now able to take the volcano’s pulse. We can, in effect, see it ‘breathing’ as the gas bubbles rise through the magma column and escape into the air, and observe the variations in these waves of gas. This has never been done before,” he explains.

McGonigle hopes that one day his cameras can be placed on all the riskiest fire mounts across the globe to provide round-the-clock monitoring and danger alerts that will save lives, even in very remote locations. His technology is designed to be affordable and robust. “Anything that can go wrong in a volcanic environment will go wrong and there are no electronic shops just down the road where you can go and buy spare parts,” he warns.

The key challenge in McGonigle’s work lies in interpreting the patterns of volcanic gas emissions with sufficient reliability to enable confident prediction of what is about to happen. “The problem is that no two volcanoes are exactly alike. They have widely different chemistries and eruptive styles – from a constant, regular bubbling, like Mount Stromboli in Sicily, to a much rarer, vast explosion like the Plinian eruption of Vesuvius in AD79,” he points out. “This means we have to assemble a very large knowledge base for each of the five main classes of volcano.”

McGonigle’s task now is to survey enough volcanoes, in different geological settings around the world, to recognize the danger signs reliably in individual mounts. In effect, this means characterizing the different families of volcano by their breath.

After initial field trials of his technology on Mt Stromboli and Mt Etna in Italy, he has expanded the scope of his testing to volcanoes in the Chilean Andes and the Pacific Ring of Fire. In northern Chile, geologist Felipe Aguilera has been testing McGonigle’s gas sampling technology and working with him on the automation of his smartphone sensor-based technology, to develop a continuous sentinel for volcanic activity.

Through its combination of discovery and human benefit, McGonigle’s research is a good illustration of the Perpetual Planet initiative. The fresh understanding of the volcano, one of the planet’s most marvellous engines, is combined with a potentially lifesaving new technology that may, one day, abolish a natural threat older than humanity itself.

McGonigle has also been approached by NASA concerning application of his sensors beyond Earth, given the very low weight and high ultraviolet sensitivity of these units. Since 2018 he has been working with scientists and engineers from NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, in order to develop a highly compact instrument, suitable for operation on board a lunar rover. The intended mission is to probe the abundance of water on the moon and to expand understanding of the evolution of the solar system. The instrumentation based on his sensors is currently being engineered into a flight-ready format.

PUBLISHED IN 2008

Forecasting volcanic eruptions

Read the original article

Rolex awards for enterprise

Milestones

Discover more