阿尔多・洛・库托环球医生

发布日期: 1993年clock阅读需时: 45s
scroll-down

近四十年间,医生阿尔多・洛・库托(Aldo Lo Curto)一边在意大利北部行医,一边展开旅程,与全球各地的土著一同生活,并为他们提供治疗和训练。

地点巴西

世界各地的弱势土著往往缺乏医疗服务,令生活无法改善。意大利医生阿尔多・洛・库托决心改变此况,他每年均与传统医师和治疗师在世上最遥远的国度逗留长达六个月。

了解探访者的传统以及他们的治病方法,是我向来关注的事情。西方过分强调医学技术,忽略了人与人的接触。

洛・库托于1980年代初开始他的年度之旅,为土著诊治并教导他们如何避免再次患病。十年后,他与一名巴西植物学家和一名漫画家合作,以漫画方式编写健康教育指南,并凭此获颁劳力士雄才伟略大奖。这本名为Indo: Manual de Saúde的指南,专为亚马逊居民而设,融合了西方和传统医学。洛・库托估计阅读人数已达数千人。此指南的成功,促使他着手出版其他刊物,包括一本为巴西贫民窟居民而设的指南,以非洲居民为对象的英语和法语版本,以及在南美洲派发的西班牙语版本。

最近,洛・库托先后到访马达加斯加,运用自身技能协助弱势人力车夫;为巴西亚马逊地区带来捐赠的医疗用品;前往偏僻渔村和社区;并与蒙古游牧家庭共处。洛・库托有意为他的刊物推出电子版,让更多人受惠。

  • 2,000本

    首部亚马逊土著指南的印刷量

  • 20,000人

    在巴西接触到他的指南

  • 40个

    洛・库托医生提供诊疗服务的国家数目

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

close

Aldo Lo CurtoDoctor to the world

Published in 1993clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

For almost four decades, physician Aldo Lo Curto has divided the year between his medical practice in northern Italy and making trips to heal, teach and live among the world’s indigenous people.

locationBrazil

The most vulnerable among indigenous people worldwide often lack the healthcare required to improve their lives. Italian physician Aldo Lo Curto has made it his life’s mission to change that, working alongside traditional doctors and healers during his six-month sojourns to some of the world’s most remote places.

My constant concern is to understand the traditions of the people I visit and to understand how they deal with illness. In the West there is too much emphasis on technology in medicine and not enough on human contact.

Lo Curto began his annual pilgrimages in the early 1980s, treating indigenous people and teaching them how to avoid becoming sick again. A decade later, he was recognized with a Rolex Award for his work with a Brazilian botanist and a cartoonist to produce a health-education manual in comic-strip style. Indo: Manual de Saúde, written for the Amazonian people, blends Western and traditional medicine. Lo Curto estimates it has reached thousands. It proved so successful, he was encouraged to publish many other manuals, including one for Brazilian slum dwellers, and versions in English and French to distribute in Africa and in Spanish for South America.

More recently, Lo Curto has visited Madagascar, where he offered his skills to help disadvantaged rickshaw-pullers; brought donated medical supplies to the Brazilian Amazon, and travelled to isolated fishing communities and villages; and spent time with nomadic families in Mongolia. Lo Curto intends to turn his print editions into e-books so more people can benefit.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page