尋回過去

發布日期: 2016至2017年度clock閱讀需時: 2m45s
scroll-down

潘濤阮(Thao-Nguyen Phan)透過畫作和影片,發掘被遺忘的越南歷史。她從紐約藝術家及導師鍾・祖娜絲(Joan Jonas)身上汲取靈感,克服在越南任職藝術家所面臨的種種挑戰。

撰文: 艾未・瓦拉赫(Amei Wallach) 2018年1月
  • 鍾・祖娜絲(Joan Jonas)
    導師
  • 潘濤阮(Thao Nguyen-Phan)
    門生

農曆新年過後,胡志明市的中心地帶仿如遊樂園般熠熠生輝。鍾・祖娜絲遠赴門生潘濤阮的家鄉,街上盡是以LED燈拼成的共產主義星形圖案,還有閃爍不斷的華麗旋轉木馬、亮眼的陽傘,以及象徵越南的蓮花花環,五光十色。

不到12個月前,潘濤阮初抵紐約與鍾・祖娜絲會面,她見識到這個地方對實驗創作的支持以及觀眾的涵養,感受甚深。短短的一年間,潘濤阮以勞力士門生的身分見證並協助祖娜絲在世界各地進行表演和演講,一段相互尊重的友誼亦由此而生。

這是祖娜絲首次到訪越南,對加深認識二人的藝術理念十分重要。短短的一年間,潘濤阮以勞力士門生的身分見證並協助祖娜絲在世界各地進行表演和演講,一段相互尊重的友誼亦由此而生。

她解釋,向日葵代表共產黨,而蓮花「則是純潔的象徵,出淤泥而不染。蓮花也是國家的象徵,即使人民生活條件不佳,但並不代表我們會受惡劣環境影響」。

一如1960年代以後的不少藝術家,祖娜絲也是糅合科技與深邃詩意的先鋒之一,而潘濤阮亦緊隨其步伐。祖娜絲在聲音、音樂、動作、舞蹈、繪畫和動態圖像上的分層實驗,影響深遠,讓觀眾以更繁複方式與藝術作品交流,並在過程中帶來創新表演和錄像藝術。

半個世紀以來,祖娜絲一直發掘世界文化,根據起源故事、文學形式以及古代與當代媒體,創造出她口中的「奇幻空間」,從中反思諸如身份建構與分裂以及自然世界被濫用等主題。

潘濤阮先後於越南美術大學(University of Fine Arts)及芝加哥藝術學院(School of the Art Institute of Chicago)接受繪畫訓練,奠定藝術基礎,及後集中發展自己的領域。在她發掘祖國埋藏的歷史之際,裝置、影片和雕塑成為了她的額外工具。

在潘濤阮的嬌小身軀與溫婉外表下,埋藏著無窮的創作力量。二月時,她正籌備在胡志明市舉辦首個大型個人展覽,其時曾有訪客參觀她的工作室,她一邊介紹展品,一邊表示:「我一直留意有關越南教育體系的批評,歷史逐步消失,被人遺忘。」她因而把展覽命名為「詩意失憶」(Poetic Amnesia),這無疑是對展覽方式和內容的恰當描述。

聲線輕柔的潘濤阮說:「歷史是由勝利一方所編撰,當北越在1975年戰勝,他們便改寫了歷史。背後卻傷痕累累。」

她渴望與祖娜絲分享其作品的來龍去脈及日常生活的無數故事,例如在交通燈轉綠前電單車於街上蜂擁飛馳的混亂情景,以及沿著行人路看見人群坐在凳上品嚐一碗碗美味河粉的畫面。

祖娜絲和潘濤阮參觀了數個博物館和遺址,了解這個在美國被稱為越南戰爭、在越南被稱為美國戰爭的戰事歷史。祖娜絲後指:「戰爭令我這個身處越南的美國人,感受甚深。」

一如以往,祖娜絲走到哪裡也會帶著GoPro相機,無論是到訪造紙工坊,或是參觀新興畫廊市場。當中不少照片均可在其年初的紐約展覽「無窗屋舍的真相」(What is Found in the Windowless House is True)找到。由潘濤阮從風箏大師手中覓得的竹紙風箏也在展覽中亮相。

祖娜絲在越南鮮有的實驗藝術空間Nha San中,向同坐在草蓆上的藝術家及策展人表示:「我正在認識越南,此處非常微妙且令人讚嘆。」祖娜絲以觀察員的身分細看越南,就如早前潘濤阮在其紐約、西班牙、意大利和印度的工作室度過的一個月時光。

祖娜絲說:「潘濤阮總會前來參與我的重要項目,所以我相信她通過觀察獲益良多。」

潘濤阮喜歡這種形式。「我並非希望導師必須在我的工作室裡,告訴我該怎麼做。我不需要這樣。我只需要觀察,觀察任何事情:她閱讀的書籍或是她喜歡的電影和食物等等。我喜歡觀察她如何與人互動,她提出的各種問題,她如何工作又如何對事物產生好奇。這比我們在工作室中一起度過的時光更加重要。」

祖娜絲同意。「潘濤阮是位成就非凡的藝術家。她已完全成型。我們可就她的作品進行對話,但我覺得她應該以自己的方式發展。我只曾對她的影片給予意見,亦有告訴她我很喜歡她的畫作。」

潘濤阮總會前來參與我的重要項目,所以我相信她通過觀察獲益良多。

潘濤阮在遇上導師前製作了一些簡短影片,並開始組成《熱帶午睡》(Tropical Siesta)。她也繪製出一系列的小型畫作,以細膩手法淡化陰影與顏色,描繪出與背景分離的人物。他們憑姿勢傳遞出模糊的心理、歷史及憂患情感層面。在新畫作中,兒童在桌上睡覺、在水中漂浮,又或是一行五人把頭部穿在梯子之間走路,而他們亦會在影片中真實呈現這些動作。

潘濤阮在羅馬向祖娜絲展示其敘事影片的首個剪輯版本,風格冷酷卻不失抒情。祖娜絲就此單屏作品的結構及30分鐘長度表達意見。當她們一起觀看時,潘濤阮頓覺在兩個屏幕講述故事才是最佳方式。

她指這個14分鐘的雙頻道作品「如今看來更像是裝置,更濃縮,毫不像電影」。

此外,初剪版本的尾聲出現字幕總結,將孩子玩樂、遐想及記憶的不同片段連在一起,闡明語言的中心地位以及弄亂語言的危險。祖娜絲指,如此乾淨利落的結局甚具說服力。

在前往羅馬的同一旅程上,創作理念開始交織。潘濤阮在市內的耶穌會檔案館,查閱17世紀的原始文本和信件,內容關於一段鮮為人知的越南歷史。由於法國耶穌會傳教士亞歷山大・德・羅德(Alexandre de Rhodes)當年將越南文本的中文字符翻譯成今天以羅馬字母為基礎的越南文,部分越南歷史片段因而消失,其中包括潘濤阮在一些信件中看到關於耶穌會傳教士敘述的神話。

在《熱帶午睡》影片中,兒童在沒有教師、沒有字母、沒有紀律的情況下,重新演繹這些故事。他們在泥上漂浮,與潘濤阮從街上拾得的向日葵燈飾共舞。夢幻般的鏡頭就如她的畫作一樣精心構建,與稻田和樹蛙的鄉村景觀並列而置。夢境與現實模糊不清,形成潘濤阮口中「劇烈的樂觀精神」。

祖娜絲到訪工作室時,潘濤阮正籌備於四月份假胡志明市的首個重要藝術空間──工廠當代藝術中心(The Factory Contemporary Arts Centre)舉辦展覽。在越南,舉行公共展覽必須取得文化及觀光部的許可證。因此,國內畫廊寥寥無幾,許多藝術家僅互相展示作品而已。

藝術家和藝術專家也盼望經濟體系的持續開放會延伸至文化領域,儘管潘濤阮剛知悉工廠當代藝術中心的法律顧問建議不要向當局提交她的影片,以及她為展覽裝置匯集的眾多畫作。潘濤阮向祖娜絲透露她正考慮刪去具爭議的圖像;祖娜絲卻擔心自我審查會令作品變質。

祖娜絲解釋:「我想前往越南,是希望了解她與其他藝術家在當地的限制。現在我可與她談論這個問題,並提供協助。」

我從她身上學到:運用自己擁有的創作便可,說不定你擁有的已十分豐富。

最終,潘濤阮的影片原封不動,但屏幕卻在公開展覽中關閉,僅開放予受邀觀眾。潘濤阮說:「我從祖娜絲身上體會最深的一點,是要竭力保持靈活性,在任何情況下也可做出想做的作品,因為在越南往往缺乏支持。我們正處於轉型期,潛力巨大,不過目前情況始終有限。祖娜絲的創作方式,自由奔放。她不斷工作,觀看事物,拍攝影片。她不需要高級相機,單憑iPhone便可完成傑作。所以這一課十分寶貴。我從她身上學到:運用自己擁有的創作便可,說不定你擁有的已十分豐富。」

祖娜絲亦打算以其他方式提供協助:「我想與潘濤阮合作,主要是因為我對她的作品甚感興趣。除此之外,我認為支持越南女性並助她們在世界各地建立聯繫十分重要。這次經歷非常特別,我很享受我們之間的對話。我希望延續下去。她的作品應該展示於大眾眼前,且在許多不同的情況下展出。」

潘濤阮說:「命中注定我會遇上鍾。我會與她建立一段持久的關係。」

艾未・瓦拉赫是在紐約工作的藝術作家及電影製作人。她是國際藝評人協會(Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art,AICA)美國分會的名譽主席。

計劃

勞力士創藝推薦資助計劃

探索

分享此頁面

close

Recovering the past

Published in 2016-2017clockTime to read: 2m45s
scroll-down

Thao-Nguyen Phan exhumes the poetry of Vietnam’s forgotten history with paintings and video works. She is inspired by her mentor, New York artist Joan Jonas, to see past the challenges of being an artist in her country.

by Amei Wallach January 2018
  • Joan Jonas
    The Mentor
  • Thao-Nguyen Phan
    The Protégé

In the aftermath of the Lunar New Year, the centre of Ho Chi Minh City glittered like an amusement park. When Joan Jonas visited her protégée Thao-Nguyen Phan in her home town, swags of communist stars, outlined in LED, arched above streets that also flashed gaudy whirligigs, illuminated parasols, or garlands of megawatt lotus flowers, emblem of Vietnam.

Less than 12 months earlier, when Thao-Nguyen first went to New York to meet Joan Jonas, she was struck by how much was possible in a place where experiment was celebrated and audiences were educated. In her whirlwind year as a Rolex protégée, Thao-Nguyen had witnessed, and sometimes helped, as Jonas prepared performances and talks around the world, and a mutually respectful friendship had grown.

This was Jonas’s first visit to Vietnam and crucial to deepening their artistic understanding. In Thao-Nguyen’s studio, cast-off decorations scavenged from the New Year’s streets lay on the floor, cloth-covered frames of once-flamboyant lotus flowers stripped and transformed into lighted sculpture and props for her video-in-progress.

Sunflowers she explained symbolize the Communist Party, and the lotus “is the representation of purity, because the lotus grows in dirty mud but it doesn’t have the smell of mud. It is the symbol of the nation because we live in poor conditions, but that doesn’t mean we are affected by the bad conditions.”

Like so many artists since the 1960s, Thao-Nguyen is heir to a practice that Jonas helped pioneer, fusing technology with the enigmatic intuitions of poetry. Jonas’s influential experiments in layering sound, music, movement, dance, drawing and moving images allowed the audience to engage with a work of art in more complex ways, and helped deliver trailblazing performance and video art in the process.

For half a century, Jonas has mined the world’s cultures, conflating origin stories, literary forms and ancient and contemporary media to create what she calls “magical haunted spaces” in which to rethink universal themes, such as the beginnings of cultures and beliefs, the construction and fragmentation of identity, and the abuse of the natural world.

Thao-Nguyen’s art is rooted in her training as a painter – at the Vietnam University of Fine Arts and the School of the Art Institute of Chicago – and her attention fixed on her own backyard. Installation, video and sculpture are additional tools she brings to the task of unearthing her country’s buried history.

Thao-Nguyen is petite and girlishly pretty in a manner that belies the force of her work. “I’m concerned with criticizing the educational system in Vietnam, where history is erased and there is a big amnesia,” she said in February, when guiding a visitor on a studio tour of the work she was preparing for her first major solo exhibition in Ho Chi Minh City. She had already titled it Poetic Amnesia, an apt description of both approach and content.

“History is written by the winners and when the North won the war in 1975, they rewrote history,” says Thao-Nguyen in her deceptively gentle voice. “There was a lot of trauma.”

She was eager to share with Jonas the context of her work and the untold stories beneath everyday experiences, such as navigating chaotic streets where herds of motorbikes stampede before the lights turn green, and slaloming along sidewalks where diners on banks of stools feast on fragrant bowls of pho.

Jonas and Thao-Nguyen visited museums and sites of what is known as the Vietnam War in the United States, and the American War in Vietnam. “It’s very touching being an American in Vietnam because of the war,” Jonas remarks later.

As always, wherever she goes, Jonas had her GoPro camera on hand as they toured paper-making studios, and took in the fledgling gallery scene. Many of those images found their way into her What is Found in the Windowless House is True exhibition in New York earlier in the year. So, too, did the bamboo and paper kites by a master kite maker Thao-Nguyen tracked down.

“I’m learning about Vietnam, and it’s very subtle and surprising,” Jonas told an audience of artists and curators gathered on rush mats in Nha San, one of Vietnam’s rare experimental art spaces. Jonas was the observer in Vietnam, just as Thao-Nguyen had been during the month she spent at her studio in New York, and in Spain, Italy and India.

“Thao always comes when I’m working on a major work, so I think she learns a lot by watching me,” Jonas says.

Thao-Nguyen prefers it that way. “I’m not asking that the mentor has to be in my studio and show me what to do. I don’t need that. I just observe and the observation could be about anything: about the books she reads, the films she likes, the food – everything. I like to observe how she reacts with people and the kinds of questions she asks, how she is always making her work, always curious about things. That is more important than the time we spend together in the studio.

Jonas agrees. “Thao is a very accomplished artist. She’s fully formed. We can have a dialogue about her work, but I feel she should also be left to develop in her own way. I only gave her comments about her videos, while I simply told her how much I liked her paintings.”

Thao always comes when I’m working on a major work, so I think she learns a lot by watching me.

Thao-Nguyen had made some brief videos before she met her mentor, and had begun putting together what would become Tropical Siesta. She had been working on a series of small paintings in which delicately reductive washes of shading and colour depict characters separated from their context. Their gestures alone transmit ambiguous layers of psychology, history and fraught emotion. In the new paintings, children sleep on desks, float in water, walk five in a row with their heads between the rungs of a ladder – actions for real children to enact in the video.

In Rome, Thao-Nguyen showed Jonas the first edit of the brutal yet lyrical video narrative that she had assembled. Jonas commented on the structure and 30-minute length of the single-screen work. As they watched together, it occurred to Thao-Nguyen that it would be better to tell her story on two screens.

“It now feels more like an installation, more condensed, not like a film,” she says of the two-channel, 14-minute result.

Also, the rough cut had ended with a summarizing subtitle to pull together the disparate threads of child’s play, reverie and memory that illuminate the centrality of language and the hazards of meddling with it. Such a neat ending might be rather didactic, Jonas suggested.

On that same trip to Rome the themes began to coalesce. At the city’s Jesuit Archives, Thao-Nguyen was able to consult original 17th-century texts and letters concerning a phase of little-known Vietnamese history she had been studying. The French Jesuit missionary Alexandre de Rhodes translated the Chinese-based characters of Vietnamese script into the romanized alphabet in which Vietnamese is written today. As a result, Vietnam lost a part of its heritage, including some of the myths Jesuit missionaries recounted in letters that Thao-Nguyen found.

In the Tropical Siesta video, children with no teachers, no alphabet and no discipline re-enact those tales. They float in mud and dance with the lighted sunflower decor that Thao-Nguyen had rescued from the streets. Dream sequences composed as meticulously as her paintings, are juxtaposed with rural views of rice paddies and tree frogs. Dream and reality blur into what Thao-Nguyen calls “a sense of dreadful optimism”.

By the time that Jonas visited her studio, Thao-Nguyen was preparing for her April exhibition at The Factory Contemporary Arts Centre, the first major art space in Ho Chi Minh City. A Ministry of Culture and Tourism licence is mandatory for a public exhibition in Vietnam. As a result, galleries are sparse and many artists only show to one another.

Artists and arts professionals are hopeful the growing economic freedoms will spill over into culture, though Thao-Nguyen had just learned The Factory’s legal consultants were advising against submitting her video to the authorities, as well as many of the paintings she was composing as an installation for the exhibition. Thao-Nguyen confided to Jonas she was considering removing the contested images; Jonas was concerned self-censoring would eviscerate her work.

“One of the reasons I wanted to go to Vietnam was to understand her situation in relation to the constraints on artists there,” Jonas explains. “I feel now I can talk with her about that. And help her.”

I learned from her: you just work with what you have and maybe what you have is very rich.

In the end, Thao-Nguyen’s video remained intact, but the video screen hung dark in the public exhibition, turned on only for invited viewers. “What I learned most from Joan is trying to be flexible and make the work you want to make in any situation, because in Vietnam you are always complaining about the lack of support,” Thao-Nguyen says. “We are in a transition and there is a lot of potential here, but for now the situation is limited. The way Joan works, she is so open and so free. She is working all the time and looking at things and shooting videos. She doesn’t have to have a fancy camera; she can just use her iPhone, and make good work. So that’s the most important lesson. I learned from her: you just work with what you have and maybe what you have is very rich.”

Jonas is also intent on helping in other ways: “The main reason I wanted to work with Thao is because I was so drawn to her work. Beyond that I thought that it would be very important to support a woman from Vietnam and help to establish connections for her in different parts of the world. It has been a very special experience and I enjoy the dialogue we have together. I hope that it continues with her. Her work should be shown, and will be shown in many different circumstances.”

“Meeting Joan was something like destiny,” Thao-Nguyen says. “To be with Joan is a lasting relationship.”

Amei Wallach is a New York-based arts writer and film-maker. She is President Emeritus of the US chapter of AICA (Association Internationale des Critiques d’Art).

Programme

Rolex Mentor and Protégé

Discover

Share this page