勞力士創藝推薦資助計劃向大師學習

發布日期: 2015年clock閱讀需時: 2m40s
scroll-down

以《飛鳥俠》(Birdman)勇奪奧斯卡®最佳導演的艾力謝路・高沙里斯・依拿力圖(Alejandro G. Iñárritu),以其野蠻溫柔藝術,在特拉維夫的一間戲院裡,第一次感動年輕電影人湯姆・修法勒(Tom Shoval)。十五年後,修法勒在勞力士創藝推薦資助計劃中,拜師於依拿力圖門下,直接從導師那裡學習如何成為老練的電影製作人,從中吸收更多的人生經驗。修法勒將在本文與我們分享2014至2015年度的門生經驗中,令人難忘的回憶。

撰文:湯姆・修法勒(Tom Shoval)

十六歲時,艾力謝路・高沙里斯・依拿力圖就給我上了第一堂課。我當時就已經愛電影如痴,我的少年時期以電影為生。我看遍所能看的電影,並一字不漏地閱讀我所能找到的電影資訊。為了當上電影製作人,我甚至開始跨出慎重的第一步:轉到特拉維夫的一所中學,該學校提供電影課程。

那一年的冬天冷冽。有一天,我趁風暴來襲翹課,並鑽進早場電影。那部片是依拿力圖的《狗男女的愛》(Amores Perros);我久聞其名,早已迫不及待想看。戲院裡除了一對老夫婦外,空空如也。

電影開始放映,而我瞬間就被赤裸裸、野蠻、嚴厲的影像震懾住。坐在那裡的我,為這個發現激動不已,我想,來自不同世代的全然陌生人,只有在戲院裡,才能共享如這部電影般強大的秘密。對我而言,《狗男女的愛》講述命運,探討個人故事如何成為所有人的故事。

本片著名的鬥狗場面中,那群狂吠的狗將令我永生難忘;該場面是那麼強而有力地表現生命中的暴力循環,然而,卻又那麼悲傷與溫柔。看過那一幕後,我明白,假如我能一圓導演之夢,我也要努力實現這份惻隱之心。

拜師學藝的召喚

十五年後,我正在波蘭華沙的一條大道上散步。我的處女作《綁架練習曲》(Youth)正在一個電影節放映。該片參加過多個電影節,因此,我已成為「常客」,每當電影被放映時,我習慣在城市裡遛躂,並規劃好回程,以便及時趕上問答時間。

艾力謝路・高沙里斯・依拿力圖於洛杉磯卡爾佛市(Culver City)的辦公室中。

我的手機突然響了。那是一個未知來電。我想我知道那是誰,當下怔在原地。

過去幾個月來,我一直在「勞力士創藝推薦資助計劃」的候選名單上。令我喜出望外的是,艾力謝路・高沙利斯・依拿力圖是今年的電影導師。一個月以前,作為入圍的最後三強之一,我飛到洛杉磯與他見面。

我的興奮之情難以言語形容:我在一個錄音室見到艾力謝路,他正在那裡剪輯電影《飛鳥俠》。大螢幕上的畫面看似彷彿於另一個銀河系拍攝,像來自遙遠的未來。米高・基頓(Michael Keaton)盤旋於紐約的天際線。

我暗忖:我所見到的場景是否出自一部即將改變電影藝術的影片?

艾力謝路提議去吃點東西。

我和艾力謝路・高沙里斯・依拿力圖共乘一車。我重複:我和艾力謝路・高沙里斯・依拿力圖共乘一車。

於環球影城的混音階段(希治閣劇院),不久後,湯姆在此首度見到其未來導師。

觀察依拿力圖工作時,我了解到:電影與你所掌握的資源多寡無關。

我已習慣於美得令人屏息的山景之間長途旅行,那是如此壯闊,彷彿是另一個拍攝場面,電影與現實合而為一……這種感覺會讓人上癮。

在餐廳裡,我們有一場關於電影與人生的精采對話。他告訴我,他真的欣賞我的電影。
我閉上雙眼,再睜開,不,這不是夢。
重返華沙。

我顫抖著聲音接聽來電。心裡做好最壞的打算,但是,當一個聲音告訴我說,艾力謝路已選我當他的門生,我的身體很快地放鬆下來。我發現自己在一個陌生城市的大街上歡喜跳躍。

我立刻打電話向在以色列的父親報喜。這一切都是因為他;是他把電影的「癮」傳給我,因為,他帶我去看母親不准我看的電影,而且把錄影帶收在高架上,並警告我不准看,對我這樣的小男孩來說,這是一種默許。我父親在電話那頭感動落淚。

最佳電影學校

這一年精采萬分,例如,參觀依拿力圖最新作品《復仇勇者》(The Revenant)的片場。本片是由湯・夏迪(Tom Hardy)與里安納度・狄卡比奧(Leonardo DiCaprio)主演的新派西部片(neowestern)。艾力謝路給我機會,讓我得以從他的角度跟蹤拍攝。如此寬宏大度,令我得以見證所有準備階段,並看他做出實時決策、部署場次和演員。最好的電影學校莫過於此,我甚至與製作組一起參加首場正式的前期製作會議。我不敢相信自己的眼睛:我看見傳奇人物積・費斯基(Jack Fisk),他是《失憶大道》(Mulholland Drive)、《荒漠情》(Badlands)及《黑金風雲》(There Will Be Blood)等電影的美術設計;還有電影攝影大師艾曼努爾・盧貝茲基(Emmanuel Lubezki),他剛拍完《引力邊緣》(Gravity)及《飛鳥俠》。在我看來,似乎只有得過奧斯卡獎,或獲提名過的人,才有資格成為這張桌的座上客。

艾力謝路以朋友身分介紹我,並說我是拍過一部好片的新銳導演。聽到此話,我幾乎難以自持。會議之後,我挨近艾力謝路,問他是否注意到,整個製作組都與光頭的奧斯卡小金人有關。他笑了,拍拍我的背說,他肯定贏獎是早晚的事。

我退一步,並好奇著,從這樣一部數千萬美金預算的製作中,我能學到什麼?這與我在以色列習慣的一切天差地別。然而,事實是,僅只是看著依拿力圖這個徹頭徹尾的導演做事,我了解到:電影與你所掌握的資源多寡無關。拜依拿力圖所賜,我學到關於電影的真理:它總是發生在一個情節變化之間,因為它與另一個情節變化相連,從而產生情感衝擊。

我已經習慣依拿力圖看著我身旁的熒幕,問我對鏡頭和里安納度・狄卡比奧有何看法。我已習慣於美得令人屏息的山景之間長途旅行,那是如此壯闊,彷彿是另一個拍攝場面,電影與現實合而為一,我發現這種感覺會上癮,一個少年時代的美夢成真。

幸福的命運轉捩點

現在,我的敘述將貌似離題編劇的牽強附會,但卻是事實。

我獲告知由我參與編劇的短片Aya(阿雅)實現不可能的任務,並入圍奧斯卡金像獎最佳短片五部獲提名影片之一。所以,在完全措手不及之下,我和我導師的力作《飛鳥俠》同一年問鼎奧斯卡,他獲得多達八項提名。命運之輪繼續眷顧著我。

充滿喝采的紅地毯

艾力謝路很替我高興,他的喜悅深深地感動了我。他邀請我和製作組從片場飛到洛杉磯。我讓自己在飛機上舒服地就座,並觀看其他人,我突然一震:這一次,現場包括我在內的所有人,不是獲得提名就是已得過奧斯卡獎。那一刻,我認為這是艾力謝路的另一個高明導演手法,讓我意識到,假如我對某事深信不疑,我就能開出那條路,向前行直到抵達目的地。

如今我走在紅地毯上。我身邊的人們享受著魅力時光,放慢腳步,甚至沿途駐足,一切只為讓十五分鐘的名氣更加響亮。保安員對所有人咆嘯好讓人群移動,但是,沒人在乎他們的命令。無論我怎麼看這現象,這令人興奮的時刻粉碎任何冷嘲熱諷的隔閡。一小時後,我來到大廳入口。這時候,你意識到一道藩籬已遭破除。我身旁圍繞著世界各地的名流,他們就跟我一樣輕鬆又興奮。我發現自己正和瑪莉安・歌迪亞(Marion Cotillard)以及班・艾佛力(Ben Affleck)寒暄。

我的影片鎩羽而歸,它從來就沒被看好過。但是,艾力謝路以《飛鳥俠》橫掃所有奧斯卡大獎。有多少人能說,他們實時見證自己的導師贏得如此精彩的肯定?

《復仇勇者》的拍攝地:加拿大卡加利(Calgary)周邊的壯麗山脈。

最後一堂關鍵課

這些日子以來,我正埋首製作第二部長片,艾力謝路十分親切體貼,他在整個過程中指點我。命運之輪將繼續出乎我的意料之外,我並不打算為此提早準備;當他們降臨時,我將以愛迎接。這應該是依拿力圖教我的最重要一課:永遠給意外留一點餘地。

湯姆・修法勒傳記

1981年 生於以色列彼達迪華(Petach Tikva)。

2005年 編寫並執導其第一部短片Ha-Lev Haraev(飢餓的心)。

2007年 畢業於耶路撒冷山姆史匹格電影電視學院(Sam Spiegel Film & TV School)。編寫並執導短片Petach Tikva(彼達迪華)。

2011年 編寫並執導短片I Will Drink My Tears(我會喝下我的淚)。

2012年 聯合編寫短片Aya(阿雅)。

2013年 長片《綁架練習曲》(Youth)首映。《綁架練習曲》贏得耶路撒冷電影節最佳電影獎。

2015年 Aya獲奧斯卡金像獎最佳短片提名。

勞力士創藝推薦資助計劃

勞力士創藝推薦資助計劃於2002年創立,湯姆・修法勒和艾力謝路・高沙里斯・依拿力圖是參與的眾多師徒檔之一。

勞力士推出創藝推薦資助計劃,旨在以歷史悠久的師徒制度,確保世界藝術傳統得以代代相傳。藉著這項慈善計劃,來自建築、舞蹈、電影、文學、音樂、劇場及視覺藝術這七門藝術、當今最具影響力的大師,與初露頭角的青年藝術家結為師徒,跨越地域與文化疆界,以一對一的師徒關係合力創作。本創舉感動來自世界各地的數百名藝術家,並撥出寶貴時間指導這些才華橫溢的新銳藝術家。在電影藝術方面,艾力謝路・高沙里斯・依拿力圖加入備受尊崇的當代電影巨頭行列,他們都已在影壇名留青史,並擔任勞力士創藝推薦資助計劃的導師。這些殿堂級人物包括史提芬・費雅斯(Stephen Frears)、華特・默奇(Walter Murch)、美娜・拉兒(Mira Nair)、馬田・史高西斯(Martin Scorsese)及張藝謀。

文化流傳

藝術

探索

分享此頁面

The Rolex Arts InitiativeLearning from a master

Published in 2015clockTime to read: 2m40s
scroll-down

The fiercely tender art of Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Oscar®-winning director of Birdman, first touched young cineaste Tom Shoval at a movie theatre in Tel Aviv. A decade and a half later, Shoval found himself under Iñárritu’s wing as a protégé in the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative. He learned first-hand from his mentor how to be a complete film-maker, absorbing more life lessons along the way. Here, Shoval gives us memorable snapshots of his experience during his mentoring year in 2014–2015.

By Tom Shoval

At the age of 16, I learned my first lesson from Alejandro G. Iñárritu. I was already lovesick for cinema. My young life fed off movies. I saw all I possibly could and read every word I could find about them. I even began to take my first serious steps as a film-maker: I moved to a high school in Tel Aviv that offered a film programme.

Winter was harsh that year. I took advantage of a storm one day to skip school and slip into a matinee. The film was Iñárritu’s Amores Perros; I’d heard so much about it and I couldn’t wait to see it. The theatre was empty, with the exception of an older couple.

The film began playing, and I was instantly struck by the naked, wild, uncompromising imagery. I sat there, thrilled by this discovery and I thought, only in a movie theatre can total strangers from different generations share a secret as powerful as this film. Amores Perros is, for me, a film about fate and how private stories become all of our stories.

I will never forget the barking dogs from the film’s famous dogfighting scene; how powerfully that scene presented the cycles of violence in our lives, and yet how sad and tender it was. After that screening, I knew that if I ever fulfilled my dream of making movies, I too would strive to achieve this tenderness.

A mentorship beckons

Fifteen years later I am walking down a main street in Warsaw, Poland. My first film, Youth, is screening at a festival. The film has played at so many festivals that I’ve become a seasoned guest, accustomed to wandering around a city while the film is shown and planning my route back in time for the Q&As.

Alejandro G. Iñárritu in his office in Culver City, Los Angeles.

Suddenly, my phone rings. An unknown caller. I think I know who it is and I freeze on the spot.

For the past few months, I’ve been a candidate in Rolex’s Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative. This year’s mentor in film, to my great surprise and thrill, is Alejandro G. Iñárritu. A month earlier, as one of three finalists, I was flown to Los Angeles to meet him.

It is difficult to put my excitement into words: I meet Alejandro at a sound studio where he is editing his film Birdman. The images on the huge screen look like they were shot in another galaxy, in the distant future. Michael Keaton hovers over the New York skyline.

A thought – am I watching a scene from a film that will change the face of cinema?

Alejandro suggests that we grab a bite to eat.

I am in a car with Alejandro G. Iñárritu. I repeat: I am in a car with Alejandro G. Iñárritu.

Inside the soundmixing stage (Alfred Hitchcock Theater) at Universal Studios, where Tom first met his soon-to-be mentor.

Watching Iñárritu work, I understand that film has nothing to do with the size of the canvas at your disposal.

At the restaurant, a fascinating conversation about film and life. He tells me he really liked my film.
I close my eyes. I open them. No, it’s not a dream.
Back to Warsaw.

My voice is shaking as I answer my cell phone. I brace for the worst, but my body quickly loosens when a voice tells me Alejandro has chosen me as his protégé. I find myself jumping with joy in the middle of the street in a strange city.

I call my father in Israel immediately to break the good news. He is the reason for all of this; he passed the film “bug” on to me when he took me to see films my mother didn’t want to see, and when he placed video tapes on a high shelf and warned me not to watch them, which was tacit consent for a boy like me. My father is moved to tears over the phone.

The best film school

One of the highlights of a year full of them is visiting the set of Iñárritu’s latest production, The Revenant. The film is a neowestern starring Tom Hardy and Leonardo DiCaprio. Alejandro offers me the opportunity to follow the shoot from his point of view. Such generosity allows me to witness all stages of preparation and watch him make decisions in real time, working the set and the actors. There is no better film school than this. I even attend the first official pre-production meeting with the crew. I cannot believe my eyes: I see the legendary Jack Fisk, production designer for such films as Mulholland Drive, Badlands and There Will Be Blood; and Emmanuel Lubezki, the virtuoso cinematographer, who just shot Gravity and Birdman. It seems to me that only people who have either won an Oscar, or were nominated for one, earn a seat at this table.

Alejandro introduces me as a friend and a promising young film-maker who made a beautiful movie. Hearing that, it is hard to keep myself from falling off my chair. After the meeting, I approach Alejandro and ask if he has noticed the fact that the entire crew has ties to the bald, golden statue. He laughs, pats me on the back and says he’s sure it’s only a matter of time.

I take a step back and wonder how this production, with a budget of tens of millions of dollars, could teach me anything? This is nothing like anything I’m used to in my country. But the truth is, just watching Iñárritu work – he is a total film-maker – I understand that film has nothing to do with the size of the canvas at your disposal. Thanks to Iñárritu, I relearn this truth about film: it always takes place in the space between one movement as it connects to another, creating a shock of emotion.

I’m getting used to Iñárritu asking me what I thought of the take and to Leonardo DiCaprio watching the monitor alongside me. I’m getting used to long trips on roads with breath-taking mountain views, which seem so grand that they could be another set. Film and reality mix, and to be honest, I find the feeling addictive, a boyhood dream come true.

A HAPPY TWIST OF FATE

Now, what I’m about to write will seem like the far-fetched invention of a screenwriter gone too far, but it is reality.

I am told that a short film I co-wrote, Aya, has achieved the improbable and made it into the five nominees for Best Live Action Short Film at the Academy Awards. And so, completely unprepared, I find myself up for an Oscar in the same year as my mentor’s masterful Birdman, which is up for eight. The circles of fate continue to close in on me.

The hallowed carpet

Alejandro is very happy for me, and I’m deeply moved by his happiness. He invites me to fly to LA from the set, with the production crew. I make myself comfortable in my seat on the plane and look at the others, when it hits me. This time everybody present, including myself, has either been nominated for or won an Oscar. For a moment I think this is another one of Alejandro’s brilliant directorial touches, making me realize that if I believe in something, I can map out the path and walk it until I get there.

Here I am on the red carpet. People walking around me take their sweet time, drag their feet, even stop along the way, all to further validate their 15 minutes of fame. Security guards yell at everyone to keep moving, but no one heeds their orders. No matter how I look at it, this thrilling moment shatters any wall of cynicism. An hour later, I am at the entrance to the hall. At this point, you realize that a barrier has been broken. I am surrounded by all the celebrities of the world and they are just as relaxed and excited as me. I find myself making small talk with Marion Cotillard and Ben Affleck.

My film did not win – it was never the favourite – but Alejandro swept all the important Oscars with Birdman. How many people can say that they watched their mentor win such wonderful recognition in real time?

The location of The Revenant, the stunning mountains around Calgary, Canada.

One last crucial lesson

These days, I am working on my second feature. Alejandro has been kind enough to accompany me throughout the process with his advice. The circles of fate will continue to surprise me, and I don’t plan on preparing myself for them in advance; I will accept them with love as they come. This might be one of the most important lessons I learned from Iñárritu: always leave a little room for surprise.

Tom Shoval biography

1981 Born in Petah Tikva, Israel.

2005 Writes and directs his first short film Ha-Lev Haraev (The Hungry Heart).

2007 Graduates from Jerusalem’s Sam Spiegel Film & TV School. Writes and directs the short film Petah Tikva.

2011 Writes and directs the short film I Will Drink My Tears.

2012 Co-writes the short film Aya.

2013 Debuts feature film Youth. Youth wins best film at the Jerusalem Film Festival.

2015 Academy Award nomination for Best Live Action Short for Aya.

The Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative

Tom Shoval and Alejandro G. Iñárritu are among the many pairs who have participated in the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative since its inception in 2002.

Rolex launched its Arts Initiative to help ensure that the world’s artistic heritage is handed down from generation to generation in the time-honoured manner of master and apprentice. Through this philanthropic programme, some of today’s greatest masters in seven disciplines (architecture, dance, film, literature, music, theatre and visual arts) are paired with budding young artists — often from far across continents and cultural divides — for a period of creative collaboration in a one-to-one mentoring relationship. Hundreds of artists worldwide have been touched by the initiative that provides the gift of time to these highly promising young talents. In film, Alejandro G. Iñárritu joins a list of revered contemporary film giants that have gone down in the annals of movie-making and served as mentors in the Rolex Arts Initiative. These iconic figures are Stephen Frears, Walter Murch, Mira Nair, Martin Scorsese and Zhang Yimou.

Perpetuating Culture

Arts

Discover

Share this page