scroll-down

恒久支持探險活動

勞力士與探險

勞力士歷史與探險歷程相應生輝,共同見證了上個世紀部分重大探險。
蠔式腕錶曾登上世界最高峰,也曾潛入海底最深處,一代又一代勇於開拓的探險家見證了蠔式腕錶在嚴酷條件下的精準可靠。

探險的特質決定了它風險極高,考驗人的耐力與意志力。我們的目標是到達更遠、更高、更深處,深入地球上最險峻的地方,探索人類的核心本源。勞力士腕錶參與了眾多未知之域的偉大探險活動。約翰・亨特爵士(Sir John Hunt)領導的大獲成功珠峰探險活動只是其中之一。

一個多世紀以來,勞力士一直深度參與探險活動,見證了它們從純粹探索發現到致力於號召人們關注保護地球的轉變。勞力士欣然迎接全新探險方向,增加了與探險家、機構及組織的合作,致力於推廣探險、保護環境以及培養下一代探險家。

蠔式腕錶

勞力士參與探險的故事始於品牌創辦人漢斯・威爾斯多夫(Hans Wilsdorf)研發的全球首款防水腕錶。1926年,蠔式腕錶的推出從根本上改變了腕錶概念。蠔式腕錶並非脆弱纖巧的配飾,而是真正的工具,十分堅固,足以經受住嚴酷且潮濕的環境並依然保持精準。

為證明蠔式腕錶的防水性能,漢斯・威爾斯多夫於1927年給一名年輕的英國女士梅賽迪絲・吉莉絲(Mercedes Gleitze)提供了一枚勞力士蠔式腕錶,她戴著這枚腕錶橫渡英倫海峽,完成歷史性創舉。浸在水中十多小時後,腕錶依然走時如常,蠔式腕錶由此成為探險家的必備腕錶。

勞力士致力於創新並希望研發出能夠滿足特定需求的腕錶,於是開始為登山及潛水探險配備蠔式腕錶。勞力士根據真實探險獲得的經驗進行研發,最終推出專業腕錶系列:Oyster Perpetual錶款,如Explorer、Explorer II、Cosmograph Daytona、Submariner及Sea-Dweller。

  • 1926年

    全球首款防水腕錶勞力士蠔式腕錶──枕形錶殼為其特色。

  • 1940年代

    喜馬拉雅探險隊佩戴的同款Oyster Perpetual。

  • 1950年代初

    Oyster Perpetual探險腕錶。

1933年,侯斯頓遠征珠峰探險隊(Houston-Everest Expedition)佩戴勞力士蠔式腕錶首度登上珠峰海拔10,000多米(33,000呎)處。探險隊的組織者之一史釗活・布立祺中校(Lieutenant-Colonel Stewart Blacker)後來表示他對勞力士腕錶感到十分滿意:「很難想像有任何腕錶能夠承受住如此極端的自然環境。雖然環境嚴酷,但勞力士腕錶走時如常,精準無比……完全沒有出現任何細微故障。」

1953年 - 艾德蒙・希拉里爵士與丹星・諾基。

同年,勞力士為英國珠峰遠征探險隊提供腕錶。此探險隊由曉・屈列治(Hugh Ruttledge)領導,合共16人。他們登上了海拔約8,580米(28,150呎)處,但由於環境惡化而不得不折返。之後的二十年間,珠峰仍然是登山界的終極挑戰,直至艾德蒙・希拉里爵士和丹星・諾基成功登頂。希拉里爵士用冰斧鑿開了登頂的最後幾步,5月29日上午11:30,他們以勝利者的姿態登上珠峰峰頂,並在上面停留了令人難忘的15分鐘,希拉里爵士在這段時間內思考了未來。「站在珠峰之巔,我的目光越過山谷眺望馬卡魯峰,並在腦海中構思出了一條攀登路徑。我想,雖然我站在了世界之巔,但這裡並非一切的終點,我還想接受其他有趣的挑戰。」

這場探險考驗的並非僅僅是登山隊。約翰・亨特爵士後來報告了Oyster Perpetual腕錶的性能。談及這款陪伴他們踏上這場歷史性探險之旅的腕錶時,他的熱情讚許顯而易見:「勞力士蠔式腕錶,」他寫道,「性能出眾,我們已將勞力士蠔式腕錶視為高山攀登的重要裝備。」

勞力士蠔式腕錶性能出眾,我們已將勞力士蠔式腕錶視為高山攀登的重要裝備。

約翰・亨特爵士,珠峰探險隊領隊

EXPLORER

勞力士面臨的挑戰在於研發能夠抵禦極端氣溫的高海拔登山腕錶。1953年,憑著攀登珠峰所積累的經驗以及登山者的反饋意見,勞力士推出了Explorer,以紀念人類首次成功登頂珠峰。之後,勞力士以加固錶殼與更易讀的錶面進一步加強Explorer的性能,以滿足極端條件的需求。自那時起,Rolex Explorer受益於勞力士腕錶的各項科技創新,但其外觀始終如一。

潛水時光

勞力士潛水腕錶與Explorer同時期研發,並於1953年推出首款Submariner。二十世紀六十年代,勞力士開始參與新的探險活動,從登山擴展至潛水,潛至海洋最深處的馬里亞納海溝(Mariana Trench),其深度比珠峰的高度還要多出近2,000米。

雅克・皮卡德(Jacques Piccard)和唐・威路士(Don Walsh)駕駛的里雅斯特號(Trieste)深海潛艇在西太平洋潛至馬里亞納海溝10,916米(35,800呎)深處,潛艇外側固定著實驗型蠔式原型錶Deep Sea Special,這枚腕錶經受住了人類無法承受的巨大壓力。接下來的52年內,皮卡德和威路士一直都是唯一潛至海底最深處的潛水員,直至探險家兼電影製作人占士・金馬倫(James Cameron)於2012年刷新了深潛紀錄。金馬倫攜帶了一枚Rolex Deepsea Challenge,是勞力士專為抵禦該深度巨大壓力而訂製的實驗型腕錶。此外,為了向之前的深潛探險致敬,金馬倫的潛水器上還攜帶了實驗型蠔式原型錶Deep Sea Special。

探險必備

1971年,繼Explorer後,勞力士推出ExplorerII,這款腕錶配有日曆顯示、額外的24小時指針以及設有24小時刻度的固定外圈,讓佩戴者能夠判斷晝夜時間。

這對在黑暗環境中的探險至關重要,比如洞穴深處,或一年中一半時間為極晝、一半時間為極夜的極地區域。Explorer II成為了洞穴探險家、火山學家與極地探險家的首選錶款。

艾德・維思特斯(Ed Viesturs)於1994年登頂珠峰。之後,他保持已有登山節奏,僅花費三天,於登頂珠峰之後的第七日成功登頂洛子峰。

這些探險家為人類對環境自然生態造成的影響表達密切關注。而他們的探險目的也從單純冒險,轉化為關注地球生態的脆弱。那些致力達追求非凡目標之士,均成就輝煌,留芳百世。

瑞士籍加拿大裔登山家桑・賽爾歷(Jean Troillet)於1986年登上珠峰,並於1997年成為首個借助滑雪板從附近山峰登上珠峰北面的第一人。賽爾歷如今依然保持著珠峰北面登頂速度紀錄,已成功登上10座海拔8,000米的山峰,且每次均採用阿爾卑斯式登山,並未配備輔助氧氣設備。美國登山家艾德・維思特斯(Ed Viesturs)被很多人視為當代最偉大的登山家之一,他登上過全球各地14座8,000米高的山峰,在2005年完成的「力登8000」項目中也未配備氧氣補給設備。2006年,挪威探險家魯那・珍德內斯(Rune Gjeldnes)成為首位且唯一一位人士獨力成功滑雪跨越世界上三大冰原(即格陵蘭、北冰洋及南極洲)。他保持著「無補給最長途滑雪旅程」及「最長途滑雪旅程」兩項紀錄。

14 × 8,000 - 艾德・維思特斯(Ed Viesturs)在並未配備輔助氧氣設備的情況下,登上了世界各地14座海拔超過8,000米(26,000呎)高的山峰。

[我的腕錶]剛剛通過它的首次嚴苛火山測試,在埃特納火山(Mount Etna)極具侵略性的氣體洗禮下依然絲毫無損,表現超卓。腕錶依然運作完美,然而我其他隊友的腕錶便沒有這般幸運了。

哈龍・塔捷耶夫

哈龍・塔捷耶夫

洞穴探險家
法國洞穴探險家兼火山學家哈龍・塔捷耶夫(Haroun Tazieff)外出進行實地考察會佩戴Explorer,因為對於記錄火山爆發產生的氣體與岩漿的溫度變化,可靠的腕錶至關重要。

為了進行研究,他必須近距離靠近正在爆發的火山,因此他會將腕錶戴在隔熱服的衣袖上方。在1972年致勞力士的一封信函中,他寫道:「[我的腕錶]剛剛通過它的首次嚴苛火山測試,在埃特納火山(Mount Etna)極具侵略性的氣體洗禮下依然絲毫無損,表現超卓。腕錶依然運作完美,然而我其他隊友的腕錶便沒有這般幸運了。」

朱利安・諾特爵士

熱氣球飛行家
英國熱氣球飛行家朱利安・諾特爵士(Sir Julian Nott)打破了79項世界熱氣球飛行紀錄及96項英國熱氣球飛行紀錄,包括於1980年乘坐熱氣球飛至高空16,804米(55,134呎)處,刷新世界紀錄。

飛至如此高的高度時,朱利安爵士必須與嚴寒冰冷的氣候、缺氧和幾近為零的大氣壓作鬥爭;前沿技術和先進物料至關重要。他的設備包括一枚勞力士蠔式腕錶,關於這枚腕錶,他說道:「這枚腕錶和其他設備一起接受了極其仔細的檢查,撇開個人喜好,我一直堅信應該選擇這枚腕錶。」朱利安爵士的另一創舉是使用混合能源作為升空動力,將太陽能作為重要的熱能來源。1981年,他駕駛以太陽能為動力的熱氣球橫越英倫海峽。

佐治・謝拿

保育專家
生於德國的美國保育專家佐治・謝拿(George Schaller)致力於防止環境破壞,他協助世界各地建立了20多個野生動物保護區。

1952年起,他花費了數十年的時間研究珍稀動物自然史,並為這些動物的生存而不懈努力。謝拿主導對全球瀕危動物進行影響深遠的研究,研究對象包括剛果民主共和國山地大猩猩、蒙古雪豹、中國大熊貓、喜馬拉雅野生綿羊及野生山羊。為了他的研究工作,他進入了地球上各處人跡罕至的地區,他在展開重要探險時會隨身佩戴一枚勞力士腕錶:「我的腕錶必須絕對可靠,因為動物觀察的記錄在極為費力勞心的環境下進行,我的勞力士腕錶從不會讓我失望。」

田部井淳子

登山家
日本登山家田部井淳子(Junko Tabei)於1975年成為世界上第一位登上珠峰的女性,也是日本女子珠峰探險隊(Japanese Women’s Everest Expedition)的聯合領隊。

她挑戰了當時日本社會以及登山界對女性角色的認知:「無論別人怎麼說,我內心始終堅定不移地想要登上珠峰。」但田部井淳子並未就此停下打破紀錄的腳步。1992年,她完成了另一項創舉,成為了第一位登上七大洲最高峰的女性。之後,她倡導保護高山環境,具有巨大影響力。2000年,她重返大學校園,攻讀環境科學深造學位,以量性方法研究人類垃圾對高山生態環境的影響。2001年,田部井淳子與艾德蒙・希拉里爵士分別以第一位登上世界最高峰的男性與女性的身份一同出現在勞力士廣告中。

理察・李奇

古人類學家
肯尼亞古人類學家兼保育專家理察・李奇(Richard Leakey)聞名全球,不僅因為他廣泛的化石考古發現揭示了人類進化歷程,亦因他致力於宣導以負責任的方式管理東非環境而馳名國際。

李奇和他的團隊發掘出400塊人猿化石,發掘地點令古比福拉(Koobi Fora,位於肯尼亞北部)成為了全世界最豐富也最多元的史前人類化石遺存地。在他的考古發現中,1984年發現的土卡納男孩(Turkana Boy)骨架尤為重要,是到目前為止發現的史前人類最完整的骨架之一。1989年,李奇被委任為肯尼亞野生動物保育及管理部長,負責應對大象偷獵及其對肯尼亞野生動物的影響。「拯救野生動物不僅具有環境意義,更具有人文意義,」他在1991年勞力士的廣告中說道。

艾靈・卡其

極地探險家
32歲之前,挪威探險家艾靈・卡其(Erling Kagge)就已兩次單獨駕船橫渡大西洋;駕船航行至南極並成功返航;在無外界援助的情況下與保加・奧斯蘭(Børge Ousland)同行,成為了最先抵達北極的兩人之一;也是在無外界支援的情況下獨自抵達南極的第一人;他亦登上了珠峰。

他成為了史上首位實現「三極」(Three Extremes)挑戰的人,三極指的是南北兩極及世界最高峰。卡其的Rolex Explorer II的背面刻著一行字:「North Pole, 1990, South Pole 1992-1993, Mt Everest 1994」(北極,1990;南極,1992-1993;珠峰,1994)。

雅倫・曉拔

自1983年,比利時極地探險家兼勞力士代言人雅倫・曉拔(Alain Hubert)參與多項登山和南北極探險活動,並屢次擔任領隊。

2002年,曉拔創立國際極地基金會(International Polar Foundation),支持極地科學家領導氣候變化研究。2007至2008國際極地年(International Polar Year)期間,基金會籌款在南極洲建立一個全新國際研究站,此研究站將完全使用可再生能源。2007年北極之旅(Arctic Arc)堪為他畢生最艱巨的挑戰:途經北極完成從西伯利亞到格陵蘭的嚴峻路線,旨在研究氣候變化的影響。曉拔展開探險旅程前,必定帶備衛星電話、地圖及Rolex Explorer II。

保護地球,恒動不息

環境

探索

分享此頁面

scroll-down

A long-standing commitment

Rolex and exploration

The history of Rolex and exploration is one linked to some of the greatest adventures of the past century.
Oyster watches have been to the top of the world and the deepest part of the ocean. For generations, pioneering explorers have attested to their reliability in the toughest of conditions.

By its very nature, exploration often requires taking great risks that test endurance and will. To reach further, higher, deeper – to venture into the most hostile parts of the planet to learn more about them – goes to the heart of what it means to be human. Rolex watches have taken part in many of these great adventures into the unknown. The successful expedition to Everest, led by Sir John Hunt, was just one such occasion.

Over the course of the past century, Rolex has been heavily involved in exploration, witnessing expeditions of pure discovery evolve into those drawing attention to the urgent need to protect the planet. The brand has embraced this new direction by expanding the number of partnerships it has with individuals, institutions and organizations who work to promote exploration, the protection of our environment, and encourage the next generation of explorers.

THE OYSTER

The story of Rolex’s involvement with exploration begins with the momentous development of the world’s first waterproof wristwatch by the company’s founder Hans Wilsdorf. In 1926, the launch of the Oyster fundamentally changed the notion of a watch. Rather than being a fragile item of apparel, the Oyster was a veritable tool, one that was sufficiently robust to venture into tough, wet conditions and remain accurate.

To prove the waterproofness of the Oyster, in 1927 Hans Wilsdorf equipped Mercedes Gleitze, a young Englishwoman, with a Rolex Oyster, for a historic swim across the English Channel. After more than 10 hours in the water, the watch emerged in perfect working order, setting the Oyster on its journey to becoming an essential watch for explorers.

Committed to innovation and wanting to develop watches catering to specific needs, Rolex began to equip mountaineering and diving expeditions with Oyster watches. The feedback it received from this real-life laboratory was used to develop what eventually became known as the Professional range: Oyster Perpetual models such as the Explorer and Explorer II, the Cosmograph Daytona, the Submariner and the Sea-Dweller.

  • 1926

    The world’s first waterproof wristwatch, the Rolex Oyster – featuring a cushion-shaped case.

  • 1940s

    An Oyster Perpetual of the type that was worn on Himalayan expeditions.

  • Early 1950s

    An Oyster Perpetual expedition watch.

In 1933, the Houston-Everest Expedition wore Rolex Oyster watches for the first flight over Everest at an altitude exceeding 10,000 metres (33,000 feet). One of the expedition’s organizers, Lieutenant-Colonel Stewart Blacker, later recounted his satisfaction to Rolex: “I can hardly imagine that any watches have ever been subjected before to such extremes under practical conditions. In spite of all this, the watches continued to work with the utmost accuracy… Not the slightest fault could be found with them.”

1953 - Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay.

That same year Rolex equipped a British Everest expedition, a team of 16 people led by Hugh Ruttledge. They reached about 8,580 metres (28,150 feet) but were forced to turn back when conditions deteriorated. Everest was to remain the holy grail of mountaineering for the next 20 years until Hillary and Norgay achieved the ultimate goal. Hillary used his ice axe to cut the final steps and they stood triumphant on Everest’s summit at 11.30 a.m. on 29 May for an unforgettable 15 minutes – long enough for Hillary to reflect on the future. “While on top of Everest, I looked across the valley towards the great peak Makalu and mentally worked out a route about how it could be climbed. It showed me that even though I was standing on top of the world, it wasn’t the end of everything. I was still looking beyond to other interesting challenges.”

The team was not all that was being tested during the expedition. Sir John Hunt later reported on the performance of the Oyster Perpetual watches that had accompanied them on this historic expedition. His enthusiasm was pronounced: “Rolex Oyster watches,” he wrote “performed splendidly, and we have indeed come to look upon Rolex Oysters as an important part of high-climbing equipment.”

Rolex Oyster watches, performed splendidly, and we have indeed come to look upon Rolex Oysters as an important part of high-climbing equipment.

Sir John Hunt, Everest expedition leader

THE EXPLORER

For Rolex, the challenge had been to develop watches for high-altitude mountaineering that could resist extreme temperatures. In 1953, with the experience gained from the ascent of Everest, as well as other testimony provided by climbers, the brand launched the Explorer watch in honour of the first-ever successful ascent of Everest. Later, the performance of the Explorer model was improved with a reinforced case and a more legible dial, catering for extreme conditions. Since that time, the Rolex Explorer has benefited from every technical advance to Rolex watches, while its appearance essentially remains the same.

TIME TO DIVE

Rolex divers’ watches were developed in the same time frame as the Explorer, with the first Submariner also launched in 1953. By 1960, Rolex’s involvement with exploration took a new turn, going down instead of up – to the Mariana Trench, the deepest point in the oceans, the equivalent of the height of Everest plus some 2,000 metres.

The bathyscaphe Trieste, piloted by Jacques Piccard and Don Walsh, carried an experimental Oyster watch, the Deep Sea Special, fixed to its exterior as it descended to a record depth of 10,916 metres (35,800 feet) in the Mariana Trench in the western Pacific Ocean. The watch withstood colossal pressure that no human could survive. Piccard and Walsh were the only ones to reach the bottom of the ocean for the next 52 years, when their achievement was matched by explorer and film-maker James Cameron in 2012. He was accompanied by the Rolex Deepsea Challenge, an experimental watch custom-made by Rolex to face the crushing pressure at this spectacular depth. Also on board, in homage to the previous expedition, was the Deep Sea Special.

Essential for exploration

In 1971, Rolex launched the Explorer II, heir to the Explorer, featuring a date display, an additional 24-hour hand and a fixed bezel with 24 hour graduations, enabling the wearer to distinguish the hours of the day from those of the night.

This was essential for exploration in dark environments – the depths of caves, for example – or polar regions, which experience six months of daylight and six months of darkness a year. The Explorer II became the watch of choice for speleologists, volcanologists and polar explorers.

Ed Viesturs climbed Lhotse in 1994. Having summited Everest seven days earlier, he was acclimatized to make a fast ascent in three days.

These explorers were increasingly concerned about the impact of humanity on the delicate balance of the Earth’s ecosytems. The purpose of their expeditions started to change from pure adventure to those designed to draw attention to the planet’s fragility. Individuals pursued extreme goals, making their mark on the record books.

Swiss-Canadian mountaineer Jean Troillet climbed Everest in 1986 and in 1997 became the first man to descend the North Face from near the summit on a snowboard. Troillet holds the speed record for the ascent of Everest on the North Face and has climbed 10 of the 8,000 metres peaks, all in alpine style, without supplemental oxygen. American mountaineer Ed Viesturs, considered by many as the greatest climber of his generation, scaled all 14 of the world’s 8,000 metres peaks also without added oxygen during his Endeavour 8000 project, completed in 2005. In 2006, Norwegian adventurer Rune Gjeldnes became the first and only person to cross the three big ice sheets – Greenland, the Arctic Ocean and Antarctica – on skies, unaided. He holds the records for the longest ski journey without resupply and the longest ski journey in general.

14 x 8,000 - Ed Viesturs has climbed all of the world’s 14 peaks over 8,000 metres (26,000 feet) without supplemental oxygen.

[My watch] has just passed, with flying colours, its first – and extremely demanding – volcanic test, in very aggressive gases on Mount Etna. It worked perfectly, which was not the case for the watches of my teammates.

Haroun Tazieff

HAROUN TAZIEFF

Speleologist
French caver and volcanologist Haroun Tazieff adopted the Explorer for his fieldwork as a reliable watch is essential to record the changing temperature of gases and the magna produced in eruptions.

Tazieff, who had to get very close to erupting volcanoes to do his research, would wear his watch on top of the sleeve of his thermal suit. In a letter addressed to Rolex in 1972, he wrote: “[My watch] has just passed, with flying colours, its first – and extremely demanding – volcanic test, in very aggressive gases on Mount Etna. It worked perfectly, which was not the case for the watches of my teammates.”

SIR JULIAN NOTT

Balloonist
British balloonist Sir Julian Nott has broken 79 world ballooning records and 96 British records, including reaching 16,804 metres (55,134 feet) in a hot air balloon when he set a new world record in 1980.

At this height, Sir Julian had to contend with freezing temperatures, lack of oxygen and virtually non-existent air pressure; the most advanced technology and newest materials were essential. Nott’s equipment included a Rolex Oyster, which he describes: “It came under close scrutiny as everything else, but personal preferences aside, its inclusion was never really in doubt.” Nott also pioneered the use of hybrid energy for lift, where solar power is a significant heat source. In 1981, he flew a solar-powered hybrid balloon across the English Channel.

GEORGE SCHALLER

Conservationist
German-born American conservationist George Schaller has helped to establish more than 20 wildlife reserves around the world in his determination to prevent the destruction of environments.

From 1952 he spent decades studying the natural history of rare animals and fighting for their survival. Schaller led seminal studies on some of the planet’s most endangered animals, ranging from the mountain gorilla in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, snow leopards in Mongolia, giant pandas in China, and wild sheep and goats in the Himalayas. His work has taken him to some of the most forbidding places on Earth, and he has worn a Rolex watch on his crucial missions: “My watch must be absolutely reliable, as animal observations are recorded under the most demanding conditions. My Rolex has never let me down.”

JUNKO TABEI

Mountaineer
Japanese mountaineer Junko Tabei became the first women to summit Everest in 1975, as co-leader of the Japanese Women’s Everest Expedition, an all-female team.

She challenged the perception of the role of women at that time in Japan and in the field of mountaineering: “There was never a question in my mind that I wanted to climb that mountain, no matter what other people said.” But Tabei’s record breaking did not stop there. She became the first woman to climb the highest peaks on seven continents, completing the feat in 1992. In later years she became a powerful advocate for protecting mountain environments. She returned to university in 2000 for a postgraduate degree in environmental science, quantifying the impact of human waste on the mountain. In 2001, she appeared in a Rolex advertisement with Sir Edmund Hillary, as the first man and woman to climb the world’s highest peak.

RICHARD LEAKEY

Paleoanthropologist
Kenyan paleoanthropologist and conservationist Richard Leakey is world-renowned for extensive fossil finds that have revealed much about human evolution, and for campaigning for responsible management of the environment in East Africa.

Leakey and his team uncovered about 400 hominin fossils, making Koobi Fora (in northern Kenya) the site of the richest and most varied assemblage of early human remains found anywhere in the world. Of particular importance is his discovery, in 1984, of Turkana Boy, one of the most complete skeletons of an early human. In 1989, Leakey was appointed head of the Kenyan Wildlife Conservation and Management Department in response to elephant poaching and its impact on the country’s wildlife. “Saving our wildlife is not only an environmental necessity, it’s a cultural one as well,” he said in a Rolex advertisement in 1991.

ERLING KAGGE

Polar explorer
Before the age of 32, Norwegian adventurer Erling Kagge had sailed across the Atlantic alone twice; sailed to Antarctica and back; become one of the first two men to travel to the North Pole (with Børge Ousland) without outside assistance; reached the South Pole alone and unsupported (also a first); and climbed Mount Everest.

He became the first person in history to reach the so-called “Three Extremes”: the two poles and the highest mountaintop. The back of Kagge’s Rolex Explorer is engraved with the words: “North Pole, 1990, South Pole 1992-1993, Mt Everest 1994”.

ALAIN HUBERT

Since 1983, Belgian polar explorer and Rolex Testimonee Alain Hubert has taken part in several mountaineering and polar expeditions to the South and North Poles, including many as a guide.

In 2002, Hubert created the International Polar Foundation, to support polar science as a key to understanding climate change. During the International Polar Year 2007–2008, the foundation raised funds to build a new international research station in Antarctica, designed to operate entirely on renewable energies. His 2007 Arctic Arc expedition would be the challenge of a lifetime: a gruelling trek from Siberia to Greenland via the North Pole to study the effects of climate change. Hubert never leaves for an expedition without a satellite phone, a map and his Rolex Explorer II.

Perpetual Planet

Environment

Discover

Share this page