極地之下深海探險活動在融化的浮冰下

發布日期: 2012年3月5日clock閱讀需時: 3 min 10 s
scroll-down

勞力士非常榮幸支持隊伍2017年的極地之下III(Under The Pole III)探險活動。

撰文:當・貝特(Don Belt)
浮冰移動與海洋活動把冰塊結合,形成了由冰制管道與通道組成的迷宮,就如這個奇異的三角形通道。

2010年展開的勞力士極地之下深海探險活動(Deepsea Under The Pole by Rolex)為一項開創性探險計劃,旨在了解更多有關北極的水底環境。探險過程需要在這個地球上最嚴苛的環境中步行滑雪和水肺潛水,由八位團隊成員進行科學研究。

他們蒐集冰雪中視聽數據,了解這個擁有眾多非凡海洋生物、卻又逐漸消失的世界。勞力士非常榮幸支持隊伍2017年的極地之下III(Under The Pole III)探險活動,有望進一步探索,加深對地球的了解。

由傑斯蘭・巴鐸(Ghislain Bardout)領導2010年勞力士極地之下深海探險活動團隊,向北極出發,繼而深探極地冰冠下,穿越1米冰層,投進嚴酷的海水之中。這個當時年僅15歲的法國學生的夢想,終於成真。

傑斯蘭・巴鐸成長於法國靠近瑞士邊界的小鎮費內伏爾泰(Ferney-Voltaire),一直給想像中的北極奇景深深迷倒。那裡有北極熊,皚皚白雪,當然還有那未被發現、埋藏在白雪底下的晶藍冰水。他對於北極水底的影像非常好奇,但目前根本沒有這樣的照片。沒有人曾經深入冰下拍攝。

十五年後,他站在世界之巔,終於明白箇中原因。

我們預料到會極度寒冷,但到親身遇到時還是冷得詫異。這份寒意簡直滲透衣服並且割裂皮膚,而凍瘡更一直與我們為敵。傑斯蘭・巴鐸

勞力士極地之下深海探險活動與他遠征北極成為一項不朽任務需要長達三年日以繼夜的計劃、籌款、研究、物流準備以及體能與心理訓練。整個團隊在法國阿爾卑斯山與芬蘭北部受訓,測試裝備以及對波羅的海北部海冰的適應力。

這項最後準備工作非常累人隨之而來是由法國經蒙特利爾再往加拿大北極高峰前進之長征。2010326八人團隊在北極附近著陸後巴託不禁狂喜起來。他回憶道:「站在這裡,看見飛機離開,感覺首次遠征已經完成。到達此地是真正之成就。」

五枚Rolex Deepsea腕錶在此嚴酷環境依然表現完美,讓隊員可以準確計算極為重要的潛泳時間。
第二次遠征,更具野心。這是為期兩個月,經歷800公里(497英里)在浮動的極地浮冰上長途滑雪至埃爾斯米爾島(Ellesmere Island),並且配合要頻密停步以水肺潛入底下。此項潛泳目的是拍下記錄,而團隊會為這些消失中的極地冰冠,拍下前所未有的水底照片,同時有助關於人類生理學及全球氣候變化的數以百計的科學觀察報告。在終於抵達北緯89°19’地帶之時,巴鐸明白到,此時團隊最重大及最迫切的挑戰,就是適應極地環境。

他們安排在三月底抵達,準備借助北極回春之優勢。此時可見冰層依然厚重,海洋清澈,而太陽在明淨的水平線上,天天高掛。但是春天的北極依然多變。當團隊架起船型或浮動雪橇,配備齒輪裝置,攝氏零下40度(華氏零下40度)的低溫使他們冷得痲痺。即使如此,他們還得嘗試潛水。

巴鐸憶述:「開首數天簡直活在地獄裡。我們預料到會極度寒冷,但到親身遇到時還是冷得詫異。這份寒意簡直滲透衣服並且割裂皮膚,而凍瘡更一直與我們為敵。」

環境是這樣的嚴峻。我們都不曾錯誤使用裝備,但是一下子卻全部失靈。傑斯蘭・巴鐸

兩個雪橇連結成木筏一樣,於海上橫跨冰塊。當時,團隊領導兼水底影視攝影師傑斯蘭・巴鐸,正在下方拍攝。

更糟糕的是,裝備開始忽然故障。酷寒使金屬崩塌,塑料粉碎,一些簡單的機械也會失靈。在芬蘭北部海冰上通過實地測試的裝備,到了北極有如玻璃般不堪一擊。

在他們首次潛入冰下時,此項遠征的唯一女性阿曼妞・皮維爾(Emmanuelle Périé),她那本來乾爽的潛水衣開始灌入冰水。但這只不過是開始。

皮維爾回憶她回到水面後團隊按危機訓練採取行動時,她說:「試幻想你嘗試在零下45度的寒風中吹乾自己,讓體溫回升,然後,由於發電機在弄乾衣服時虛耗殆盡,我的雪衣起火。眼看著自己抵禦北極嚴寒的主要防護工具,瞬間燒成一個個窟洞,真的不好受。 這還是旅程的第一天而已,簡直使人瘋掉。」

每次潛泳後,都得長時間清理調節器、照相機及其他潛水用具上的冰塊,甚至花更多時間去修理損毀了的器材。皮維爾補充道:「只有一個潛水裝備,一直運作如常。」她說的,就是Oyster Perpetual Rolex Deepsea腕錶。

巴鐸經歷多次的北極遠征,能夠識別出危險警號。他要求終止繼續潛泳,直至隊員能夠恢復平衡及適應這嚴酷環境。因此,接著的十天,團隊滑雪、紮營、維修工具及在漂流冰塊上南移,增加在雪地滑行的時間極限達每天七、八小時,同時更能欣賞極地奇景。

「我想這大概是我的關鍵決定,」他道,「環境是這樣的嚴峻。 我們的照相機、電線、雪橇、照明等裝備都不曾錯誤使用,但是一下子全部失靈。這樣看來會無法成功。我們都久經訓練,但我從經驗得知,首十至十二天決定我們的遠征能否成功。如果我們不能讓事情在掌握之中,就會變成一場災難。」

這次暫停潛泳也使團隊變得更團結。除了30歲的領隊巴鐸,和他那擔任滑雪及潛泳指導的31歲夥伴皮維爾,隊員還包括32歲的海洋學工程師兼攝影師本諾特普耶勒(Benoît Poyelle)、32歲管理潛水裝備的潛泳專家阿爾班米雄(Alban Michon)、31歲的專業潛水員及海洋機械師森姆奧德蘭(Samuel Audrain)、25歲的登山運動員克里門伊凡特(Clément Infante 28歲的影視攝影師文森貝塞特(Vincent Berthet)、34歲的攀山兼醫療急救專家帕斯卡雷(Pascal Rey),以及卡也克(Kayak──年僅1歲的西伯利亞雪橇犬,在北極雪地裡負責看門工作,防止北極熊來襲。支援隊員瓦倫坦里巴狄仲馬(Valentine Ribadeau Dumas)則留守雷索盧特灣(Resolute Bay),擔任雪地上隊員的主要連絡人。

等待十天再潛泳,也是為了等待天氣回暖,然而北極多變的春天使情況沒有變好,反而更壞。

例如,在四月初,氣溫可以由攝氏零下40度(華氏零下40度),在24小時內攀升至攝氏零下1度(華氏零下30.2度)。氣溫回暖當然歡迎,但隨之而來的卻是猛烈強風,在往後兩天吹翻帳篷,還有他們早前越過的廣闊冰地,割裂成紛亂的冰塊,冰塊間的裂縫使水面暴露。另一場猛烈風暴則把遠從西面30公里(18英里)浮冰吹到面前,推起更多壓迫而成的山脊,也使多天以來前赴目的地的努力變得白費。環境是如此混亂,而補給機又不能下降,只能依賴降落傘在遠離營地之處空投物資,避免因冰層破裂而暴露的水面。

即使如此,天氣狀況與團隊狀態終於都改善到巴鐸認為適合恢復潛泳的水平,讓這次旅程重回進度,向著目標前進。

這一次,潛泳進展順利。每次改變潛泳位置,團隊都花上數天去滑行及推動雪橇,有時還要搬開阻擋的冰塊,並且要在晚上紮營之前費力地前行8至10公里(5至6英里)。在潛泳的日子,他們會在早上從冰塊上鑽開的洞內潛入水中,隨後吃過午飯,便會進行另一次潛泳。通常,他們會另選位置。

逐漸地,由於遠征隊移師至浮冰的南面,攝影師潛入其下方拍下令人讚嘆的海冰視象記錄,而其他團員則蒐集海冰上下兩方的科學數據。

團隊又與Géo-Scaph Association合作,量度極地海洋對人體機能的影響(尤其是體溫),因此在每次潛泳前都要吞下「無線電藥丸」,以記錄身體的各項反應。同時,他們也幫助加拿大阿爾伯達大學的氣候學家克里斯坦・哈斯(Christian Haas)收集冰雪厚度的資料,以及跟踪密度與浮力的數據,推算出冰架本身的厚度。

在逗留於北極的數星期內,遠征隊也記錄了全球氣候變化的不同徵兆,包括極地冰層底部的融化。這項變化使冰層明顯變薄,比巴鐸與皮維爾2007及2008年在北極時,顯得更加脆弱。

今天我們看見這些北極早春的照片,水面暴露,令北極熊需要長程游泳,這絕非正常。 冰冠就在我們眼前融化,而且無法復原。傑斯蘭・巴鐸

他們的印象,最終由韋恩・戴維森(Wayne Davidson)確證。他1985年起,以埃爾斯米爾島為基地,追踪北極浮冰的變化。根據戴維森,北極冰塊由1998年起顯著變薄,只因地面溫度的升高已達至危險水平。

巴鐸補充說:「當太陽升起,冰塊融化。這本來是自然現象。數千年來北極的春天都是如此。但是,今天我們看見這些北極早春的照片,水面暴露,令北極熊需要長程游泳,這絕非正常。 冰冠就在我們眼前融化,而且無法復原。我們這次遠征中,還看見並拍下冰層底下大量冰塊融化的現象。這並非大多數人能看到的,但是我親眼目睹。」

八人團隊。

對團隊而言,極地地勢難度越高,越見險峻,因為堆積在山脊的冰雪,在四月的艷陽下開始融化。不久,遠征隊明白到,將無法如原來計劃繼續潛泳,最終跨越至埃爾斯米爾島彼岸。面對要取消所有重要的潛泳的前景,團隊決定不會放棄全部計劃並競跑至海岸,為了將剩餘時間用於探索冰冠的頂部及底部,編纂前所未有的廣泛的照片記錄。

團隊結果一共完成了51次潛泳。要不是環境繼續惡化,他們將會繼續潛泳。到了四月的第三週,氣溫飆升達10至15度,超過了正常水平,冰塊也繼續融化。巴鐸寫下決定提早離開北極的聲明中,說:「冰塊天天在不斷碎裂。我們潛泳時,甚至在晚間躲在帳篷時,都聽到水底發出崩裂的響聲。你可以感到冰在瓦解。你會感到恐懼。」

當天氣稍息,團隊與卡也克帶著工具離開融化的浮冰,飛過埃爾斯米爾島然後抵達法國。巴鐸及皮維爾已在策劃下一次的遠征,包括了長途及極深的潛泳。這次要前往格陵蘭西岸及南岸,拍攝及進入北極海冰的國度及接觸其生態。那裡,因紐特獵人(Inuit)依靠緩慢更替的季節及厚厚的冰層,尋覓生計。

巴鐸闡述他對脆弱的北極冰封地帶的熱情時說:「海冰下的環境,我們幾乎一無所知。在公共領域上流傳的不過幾幅照片,而且幾乎都是在同一個地點拍攝,那是擁有機場的物流基地附近的安全距離位置所拍下的。但是,在北極的不同位置,冰塊也不一樣,海底下的地勢在不同地方更有極大差異。我們只不過想展示這個消失中的世界的美麗。」

保護地球,恒動不息

環境

探索

分享此頁面

Deepsea Under The PoleUnder the melting ice

clockTime to read: 3 min 10 s
scroll-down

A century after the conquest of the North Pole, team Deepsea Under the Pole took on a new dimension – depth. Deepsea Under the Pole by Rolex was a pioneering expedition undertaken in 2010 to learn more about the submerged side of the Arctic. During a combination of ski trekking and scuba diving in one of the toughest climates on the planet, the eight expedition members successfully conducted scientific experiments.

by Don Belt
Ice movements and ocean action solder ice fragments together to form an icy labyrinth of channels and tubes, like this extraordinary triangular tunnel.

The team gathered exceptional audiovisual material on a disappearing world where snow and ice coexist with an unexpectedly abundant and singular marine fauna. Rolex was proud to continue its support for the team with the Under the Pole III expedition in 2017, helping further discoveries and shedding new light on our understanding of the planet.

The 2010 Deepsea Under the Pole expedition took the team’s members, led by Ghislain Bardout, to the North Pole – then lowered them through a metre of ice into freezing water and under the polar ice cap. It all began as a daydream in the mind of a 15-year-old French schoolboy.

Growing up in Ferney-Voltaire, near France’s border with Switzerland, Ghislain Bardout was captivated by the scenes his imagination brought forth of the North Pole – polar bears and sparkling snow, of course, but also the unseen majesty of crystal blue water under sculptured white ice. Curious, he searched for underwater photographs of the Pole, but there were none. No one had ever dived under the ice to take them.

Fifteen years later, at the top of the world, he understood why.

We were expecting severe cold, but it was still a shock. It penetrated every layer of clothing and tore at our skin. Frostbite was our constant enemy.Ghislain Bardout

Just getting his expedition, Deepsea Under the Pole by Rolex, to the North Pole had been a monumental job, requiring nearly three years of round-the-clock planning, fundraising, research, logistical preparation and physical and mental training. The team had trained during winters in the French Alps and northern Finland, where they tested their equipment and their resilience on the sea ice of the northern Baltic.

So exhausting were those final preparations, followed by the long journey from France to Montreal and on to the Canadian high Arctic, that Bardout permitted himself a moment of exultation after the eight-person team was dropped off near the Pole on 26 March 2010. “Standing there, watching the plane take off, it felt like expedition number one had just ended,” he recalls. “Getting there was a real achievement.”

The five Rolex Deepsea watches worked perfectly despite the extreme conditions, allowing the team to keep track of critical dive time.

Expedition number two was even more ambitious. It called for a two-month, 800-kilometre (497-mile) ski trek to Ellesmere Island on the moving polar ice floe, with frequent stops to scuba dive beneath it. The purpose of those dives was documentation and the team would make unprecedented underwater images of the vanishing polar ice cap, along with hundreds of scientific observations related to human physiology and global climate change. Yet after arriving at 89°19’ North, Bardout realized that the team’s biggest, and most immediate, challenge would be adapting to the polar environment.

They had timed their arrival for late March to take advantage of the Arctic’s transition from winter to spring, when the ice is still thick, the ocean is clear and the sun, having cleared the horizon, is rising higher in the sky every day. But spring in the Arctic is fickle and soon after the team set out on skis towing pulks, or floating sleds, packed with gear, their efforts were paralysed by air temperatures of 40° C (-40° F) – even as they began trying to make dives.

“Those first few days were hell,” Bardout recalls. “We were expecting severe cold, but it was still a shock. It penetrated every layer of clothing and tore at our skin. Frostbite was our constant enemy.”

Conditions were just so hard. There was nothing wrong with our equipment, but everything was breaking.Ghislain Bardout

Two sledges joined as a raft cross an opening between ice and ocean while team leader and underwater cameraman Ghislain Bardout films the scene from below.

To make matters worse, their equipment began to break almost immediately, as the intense cold caused metal to snap, plastic to shatter and the simplest mechanism to malfunction. Equipment battle-tested on the sea ice of northern Finland turned as brittle as glass at the North Pole.

On one of their first dives under the ice, the dry suit of Emmanuelle Périé, the expedition’s only woman, began to fill with freezing water, due to ice in the purge of her suit. And that was just the beginning.

“Imagine trying to dry off and raise your core temperature when the wind chill is minus 45°C,” says Périé, recalling the first frantic moments after she resurfaced and the group put their crisis training to work. “Then, as we were drying wet clothes in the exhaust of our generator, my parka caught fire. That was not a good feeling, seeing my main defence against the Arctic cold suddenly full of holes. That’s the kind of thing we were dealing with from the very first day. It was wild.”

After every dive, it took hours to clear the ice off the regulators, cameras and other underwater gear, and even longer to repair the damaged equipment. “The only diving instruments which performed all the time”, she adds, were their Rolex watches – the Oyster Perpetual Rolex Deepsea model.

With several Arctic expeditions under his belt, Bardout recognised the danger signs. He called a moratorium on further dives until the team could regain their balance and acclimatize to the brutal conditions. So for the next 10 days, the group skied, camped, repaired their equipment and made their way south on the drifting ice, gaining mastery of the polar environment while stretching their levels of endurance to seven or eight hours of skiing per day.

“I think that was probably our key decision,” he says. “Conditions were just so hard. There was nothing wrong with our equipment, but everything was breaking – cameras, cables, skis, lighting equipment. Things like that take a toll. We were well trained, but I knew from experience that those first 10 or 12 days can make or break an expedition. If we hadn’t managed to get things under control, ours could have been a disaster.”

The break from diving was also an opportunity for the team to gel. Besides expedition leader Bardout, 30, and his partner Périé, 31, a skipper and diving instructor, the group included Benoît Poyelle, 32, an oceanographic engineer and photographer; Alban Michon, 32, a diving specialist in charge of the underwater gear; Samuel Audrain, 31, a professional diver and marine mechanic; Clément Infante, 25, an alpinist; Vincent Berthet, 28, a cameraman; Pascal Rey, 34, a mountaineer and emergency medical specialist; and finally Kayak, a one year-old Siberian husky, white as the Arctic snow, who served as a watchdog for polar bears. Support team member Valentine Ribadeau Dumas remained in Resolute Bay and acted as primary contact with the team on the ice.

Waiting 10 days to dive also bought time for the weather to warm up, although at first the volatility of the Arctic spring made things worse instead of better.

In early April, for example, the air temperature rose from -40°C (-40°F) to -1°C (-30.2°F) within 24 hours – a welcome change – but the fast-changing weather brought gale-force winds which ripped through camp for the next two days and turned the relatively flat ice fields they’d been traversing into a vast, chaotic jumble of ice blocks the size of small buildings, punctuated by leads (fissures) of open water. Another raging wind storm blew the ice floe they were on more than 30 kilometres (18 miles) west, pushing up more compression ridges and erasing days of progress towards their destination. Conditions were so chaotic that their resupply plane couldn’t land and instead was forced to drop supplies by parachute, far away from the camp, in order to avoid cracks and open water.

Eventually, however, weather conditions – and the group’s teamwork – improved to the point that Bardout signalled for the dives to resume. It was then that the expedition found its rhythm and its purpose.

This time, the dives went well. For each change of diving location, the team spent days at a time skiing and pulling their sleds, sometimes portaging over blocks of ice and grinding out eight to 10 kilometres (five to six miles) before setting up camp for the night. On diving days, there was a morning dive through a hole cut in the ice, followed by lunch and another dive in the late afternoon, usually in a different location.

Gradually, as the expedition moved south on the ice floe, its photographers created a stunning visual record of the sea ice as seen from below, while other team members collected scientific data both above and below the ice.

In collaboration with the Géo-Scaph Association, the team measured the effects of the polar seas on human physiology, especially body temperature, by swallowing “radio” pills before each dive that tracked the body’s reactions. And for climatologist Christian Haas at Canada’s Alberta University, they collected data on snow thickness, as well as charting density and buoyancy measurements that suggest the thickness of the ice shelf itself.

During the weeks spent in the Arctic, the expedition also documented various signs of global climate change, including melting from the bottom of the polar ice sheet, a process that has left the ice noticeably thinner and more vulnerable than it was just a few years ago, according to Bardout and Périé, who were at the Pole in 2007 and 2008.

Today we see pictures of open water at the North Pole in early spring and polar bears swimming very long distances, and that’s not normal. The ice cap is melting right before our eyes and it isn’t recovering.Ghislain Bardout

Their impression is confirmed by meteorologist Wayne Davidson, who has followed changes in the Arctic ice floe from a base on Ellesmere Island since 1985. According to Davidson, the Arctic ice has been getting noticeably thinner since 1998, resulting in an alarming increase in surface temperatures.

“When the sun rises, ice melts – that’s a natural phenomenon,” Bardout adds. “It’s happened every spring in the Arctic for thousands of years. But today we see pictures of open water at the North Pole in early spring and polar bears swimming very long distances, and that’s not normal. The ice cap is melting right before our eyes and it isn’t recovering. What we saw and filmed on the expedition was that a lot of that melting occurs on the bottom of the ice sheet, not on top where most people are looking. I saw this with my own eyes.”

The eight-member team.

For the team, the polar landscape became more difficult and treacherous with every passing day, as the ice piled up in pressure ridges and the April sun began to melt the ice and snow. Soon it became clear that the expedition would not be able to both dive and reach the coast of Ellesmere Island overland as they had originally planned. Faced with the prospect of abandoning the all-important dives, the group decided not to drop everything and race for the coast, but to spend the rest of their time exploring the top and bottom of the ice cap, compiling the most comprehensive photo documentation that has ever been done.

The team completed 51 dives in all and would probably be diving still if conditions hadn’t deteriorated further. By the third week in April, temperatures had soared to 10 to 15 degrees higher than normal and the ice was melting fast – “fragmenting into pieces more and more every day”, wrote Bardout, announcing the decision to leave the Pole earlier than planned. “We’ve heard cracking noises underwater while diving and we hear it in the tents at night. You can feel the ice pressure releasing. You feel fear.”

With the first break in the weather, the team was plucked off the melting ice along with Kayak and their gear. Airlifted to Ellesmere Island and then home to France, Bardout and Périé are already planning their next expedition, which will include long and very deep dives, to photograph and assess the state of polar sea ice and its biodiversity closer to the west and north Greenland coast, where Inuit hunters depend on the slow circling of seasons and a thick sheet of ice to earn their livelihoods.

“The submarine sea ice environment is almost completely unknown,” says Bardout, explaining his passion for the frozen underbelly of the Arctic. “Relatively few images of it exist in the public domain and most of them were taken in the same basic place, within easy striking distance of logistics bases with airfields. But the ice is different everywhere you go in the Arctic and the submarine landscape varies enormously from place to place. We just want to show the beauty of this vanishing world.”

Perpetual Planet

Environment

Discover

Share this page