于rolex.org搜索

Call to Earth

土著追踪者

土著追踪者指导科学家关于野生动物的知识
(CNN) - 科学家已能够熟练遥距追踪野生动物。以全球监察系统Icarus举例,科学家可以瞬间查看动物位置以至皮肤温度,实有赖细小的可携带发信器,将信号传送至国际太空站。但是实地追踪仍然有其价值。

影片:麦克・科洛斯(Michael Cross);撰文:汤姆・佩奇(Tom Page)
发布日期: 2020年7月阅读需时: 2分25秒

谈及当地环境及动物知识,无人能媲美桑族(San)的追踪者,他们居住在横跨博茨瓦纳、纳米比亚及南非的半干旱卡拉哈里(Kalahari)地区。数千年以来的狩猎采集经验代代相传。
路易斯・利本伯格(Louis Liebenberg)认为此知识结晶,在科学面前往往被忽视。利本伯格在哈佛大学任职人类演化生物学副教授,在过去超过20年,一直致力为纳米比亚桑族土著社群及世界各地的科学家建立连系。早在社交媒体盛行前,他已发明一种应用程序。
这位南非籍的CyberTracker Conservation执行董事,研发出一套免费的软件,让卡拉哈里的动物追踪者可以分享追踪收获,从而建立更准确生物多样性数据。另一方面,追踪者亦可由此赚取生计,将生活模式化为职业。

利本伯格告诉CNN:“土著追踪者可谓专业技术及知识的宝库,但他们未能与科学界分享此知识和观察。”

他解释:“他们因各种原因被边缘化。土著社群……失去了话语权,被殖民势力褫夺土地,不获公民权;同时亦遭科学界成见歧视,认为土著社群不能进行‘真正的’科学研究。”
他补充:“专业科学家可以从土著追踪者身上学习,正如后者可以通过与专业科学家的合作中获益良多。”

十万年的经验累积

追踪者能够以其他方法所不及的途径记录物种。飞机侦察只可以观察大型动物,却未能记录小型物种。如果此动物在树林生活,例如林羚,便难以从飞机上发现其踪影。
在卡拉哈里,部分桑族人会携带智能手机,通过图标界面输入观察所得,包括基于团队共识,一致听到或看到野生动物的地方,以及动物踪迹和排泄物所在。

此系统不仅包容不会读写的人士,而且就如利本伯格所指,较文字输入更为快捷。物种及地理位置数据将由追踪者上传至太阳能笔记本电脑,再传送给利本伯格。此后,追踪者便可获得酬金。
追踪者保留这些数据的拥有权,并可以与任何一位科学家分享。利本伯格表示所有采用这些数据的科学文献,因此需要将追踪者列为合著人。
通过追踪赚取生计,亦有助文化传承。利本伯格估算,卡拉哈里的追踪文化长达10万年,但当他于2018年在纳米比亚近9,000平方公里的奈奈自然保护区(Nyae Nyae Conservancy)进行调查时,却发现只剩下15名弓箭猎人,较2016年的37名大幅下降。

桑族追踪者达姆・德伯(Dam Debe)现年45岁,踏入少年时期前已在卡拉哈里追踪动物。他告诉CNN:“很高兴看到我的数据出版。”
他补充:“CyberTracker改善了我的生活。我从中赚取金钱,让小孩可以上学,购买新衣服。”
达姆认为学校对下一代非常重要,但追踪技巧亦不容小觑。他指出:“如果我们放弃自己的文化,它便会崩塌沉沦。”

利本伯格说:“单纯从文化传承角度而言,我认为成立保育相关技巧的项目至关重要。”
通过CyberTracker的“追踪者大师”(Master Tracker)认证计划,以及年青男女对追踪文化日渐浓厚的兴趣,利本伯格认为未来数年奈奈自然保护区将会有超过50名追踪者。

“技术创新是关键”

在1997年初次推行后,此应用程序已获改良发展,并成功跳出南非。其创作者表示应用程序在超过200个国家共有逾50万次下载,用途包括:澳大利亚土著追踪者应用、加拿大的土地管理、新西兰对出的宽吻海豚博士研究、南极的鲸鱼监察,以及太平洋的海龟研究。
利本伯格说:“人们常过分估算科技的短期效果,反之,他们亦低估其长远影响。” 谈及气候变化及大灭绝对生物多样性的影响,他表示“没有快速的解决办法”。然而,“科学及技术创新是解决当前问题的关键”。
他补充:“我会抱最大的希望,做好最坏的准备。预想最坏的结果,会推动您作出改变。如果您真的切实行事,那么乐观的未来便指日可待。”

合作关系系列

Call to Earth

探索

Call to Earth

Indigenous trackers

Indigenous trackers are teaching scientists about wildlife.
(CNN) — Scientists have become adept at tracking wildlife remotely. Take the Icarus global monitoring system, for example. Soon data ranging from an animal's location to its skin temperature will be easily available thanks to tiny wearable transmitters that send signals to an antenna on the International Space Station. But there's still something to be said for boots on the ground.

Video by Michael Cross; story by Tom Page
Published in July 2020icon-clockTime to read: 2min 25s

Few can claim to have a more intimate knowledge of their land and its fauna than the San trackers of the Kalahari, a large semi-arid region spanning parts of Botswana, Namibia and South Africa. Thousands of years of hunter-gathering expertise have been handed down from one generation to the next.
It's a valuable knowledge pool that is often overlooked by science, argues Louis Liebenberg. For over 20 years, Liebenberg, an associate of human evolutionary biology at Harvard University, has been connecting indigenous San groups in Namibia with scientists all over the world. And long before the advent of social media, he did it with an app.
As executive director of CyberTracker Conservation, the South African developed a piece of free software that allows animal trackers in the Kalahari to share tracking insights and create better data on biodiversity. In return, trackers are paid for their work, turning a way of life into a vocation.

“We've got this enormous wealth of expertise and knowledge locked up in indigenous trackers, and yet they cannot communicate that knowledge and their observations to the scientific community,” Liebenberg tells CNN.

“(They) have, for a number of reasons, been marginalized,” he explains. “Indigenous communities... have been disempowered and lost their land by colonial powers that have denied them citizenship, but also through scientific prejudice — the idea that indigenous communities don't do 'real' science.”
“Professional scientists have as much to learn from indigenous trackers as indigenous trackers have to gain by working with professional scientists,” he adds.

100,000 YEARS OF EXPERIENCE

Trackers can often record species other methods can't. Reconnaissance from an airplane can pick up large animals, but not smaller species. And if a species lives in woodland, like the kudu — a kind of antelope — it won't be spotted from a plane.
In the Kalahari, members of the San carry smartphones, using an icon-based interface to input what they find, including where they have heard and seen wildlife, as well as sightings of animal tracks and feces, based on group consensus.

The system is inclusive of non-literate people and, as Liebenberg points out, is quicker than text-based logging. Species and geolocation data are uploaded to a solar-powered laptop by trackers and sent to Liebenberg. The trackers are paid in return.
Trackers own the data and can share it with whomever they wish in the scientific community; any scientific paper based on their data is therefore co-authored by the trackers, says Liebenberg.
By monetizing tracking skills, it sustains them. Tracking in the Kalahari has existed for more than 100,000 years, Liebenberg estimates, but when he conducted a survey of the nearly 9,000 square kilometer Nyae Nyae Conservancy in Namibia in 2018, there were only 15 active bow and arrow hunters, down from 37 in 2016.

San tracker Dam Debe is 45 years old and has been tracking in the Kalahari since before he was a teenager. “It feels good to have my data published,” he tells CNN.
“CyberTracker has improved my life,” he adds. “The money I receive is helping me to support my children to go to school and supporting them to buy clothes.”
School is important for the next generation, but so are bush skills, Dam says. “If we leave our culture, then it will fall down,” he argues.

“Purely from a cultural heritage point of view, I think it is essential that we develop a program that will keep these skills alive,” Liebenberg says.
Through CyberTracker's Master Tracker certification scheme and increased interest from younger men and women, Liebenberg says he hopes there will be more than 50 active trackers in Nyae Nyae within the next few years.

“TECHNOLOGICAL INNOVATION IS ESSENTIAL”

Since its initial roll out in 1997, the app has evolved and migrated far from Southern Africa. It has been downloaded more than half a million times in over 200 countries, says its creator, and has been used by indigenous trackers in Australia; for land management in Canada; PhD studies on bottlenose dolphins off New Zealand; whale monitoring in Antarctica and turtle research in the Pacific.
“People tend to overestimate what technology can do in the short term, (and) they tend to underestimate what technology can do in the long term,” Liebenberg says. For biodiversity faced with climate change and mass extinction, he says “there's simply no quick technical fix.” However, “scientific and technological innovation is absolutely essential to solve the problems that we face.”
“I hope for the best, but I expect the worst,” he adds. “By expecting the worst, you're motivated to actually do something about it — and if you really do something about it, then the optimistic future can become possible.”

Partnership Series

Call to Earth

Discover