與勞力士締造歷史

clock閱讀需時: 1 min 30 s
scroll-down

勞力士的品牌故事與人類成就密不可分。勞力士創辦人漢斯・威爾斯多夫(Hans Wilsdorf)看到刷新紀錄者佩戴蠔式腕錶對雙方的好處,而芸芸運動員與探險家中的首位代言人,便是第一位橫渡英倫海峽的英國女性梅塞迪絲・吉莉絲(Mercedes Gleitze)。

1927年,年輕的英國秘書梅塞迪絲・吉莉絲,憑藉運動佳績在鐘錶歷史上享有輝煌地位,因爲她讓史上首款防水腕錶震驚全球。這位年僅26歲的少女,無懼海水冰寒刺骨,成功橫渡分隔英、法兩地的英倫海峽。游了十幾個小時之後,她佩戴的勞力士蠔式腕錶依然運行如常,絲毫不受影響。

她是首位完成這項艱難游泳行程的英國女性,寫下劃時代的重要篇章,贏得盛贊。勞力士創辦人兼總裁漢斯・威爾斯多夫,在倫敦的《每日郵報》(Daily Mail)頭版刊登了全版的廣告,宣告全球首款防水腕錶成功推出,敘述道:「勞力士蠔式腕錶的正式面世,標志著全球鐘錶業的勝利躍進。」梅塞迪絲・吉莉絲以實際行動展示了這款新穎腕錶的卓越質量,並成功擔任勞力士的首位代言人,象徵成就輝煌。

腕錶在今天看似尋常,在一個世紀前社會普遍選用的,卻是懷錶。由於勞力士艱苦研發防水性能,領先創制出如此實用的時計裝備,成就空前,是鐘錶發展的轉折點。

梅賽迪絲・吉莉絲,1927年。

防水功能的起源

1900年代初期,大眾開始放棄攜帶懷錶而改為佩戴腕錶。這個明顯轉變,意味著這款新穎時計將會面臨更嚴峻的未來。懷錶藏在衣服內可獲保護,大大減低日常生活中遭受雨水、潮濕、街上飛揚塵土的侵害以及無情的碰撞。相對來說腕錶不過是比較小眾的選擇,不堪一擊且有欠準確,並且,人們還普遍認爲它只是女性時裝中一項脆弱的配件而已。

這些不利條件,沒有使這個勞力士的始創人迷失方向。威爾斯多夫知道,以前男士只會視腕錶爲笑柄。然而,年輕而富有商業頭腦的他,認爲腕錶正好適合20世紀的明快節奏生活,和以運動爲消遣的新風尚。他將剛開展的個人事業押注於腕錶業務,於1905年在倫敦創業,並且力求進步,率先研發防水腕錶。爲了讓這項新穎傑作廣爲人知,他想出了不同的市場推廣策略。

年輕而富有商業頭腦的他,認爲腕錶正好適合20世紀的明快節奏生活,和以運動爲消遣的新風尚。

Submarine腕錶,1922年。破天荒推出的首款防水、防塵腕錶,通過第二層錶殼來保護錶身。

「潛艇」冒起

到了1910年,小小的勞力士腕錶的精準度,已經足可與懷錶分庭抗禮。然而,威爾斯多夫深明他們那複雜精細的機械,唯有把它藏於密閉的錶殼裏,完全隔絕潮濕及塵埃的侵害,才可以獲得認同。他在1914年寫下:「我們要想方設法創制防水腕錶。」這是他重要的一年,因爲他其中一款時計榮獲英國矯天文臺(Kew Observatory)頒授「A」級精密時計認證,一個當代最崇高的時計榮譽。他也稱塵埃爲「我們最大的敵人」,這個想法更沉澱成勞力士的傳統品牌特質。

1922年,勞力士破天荒推出防水、防塵的嶄新腕錶「Submarine」,通過第二層錶殼來保護錶身,可惜外型設計並不實用。這個設計需要每天開啓外殼來上鏈,因而會導致鎖緊開關的金屬圈功能退化。

即使如此,威爾斯多夫依然相信,這個概念終有一天會改變整個鐘錶業。

勞力士蠔式腕錶的誕生

此後,不過數年光景,勞力士在1926年終於成功推出防水腕錶,並由梅塞迪絲・吉莉絲佩戴它完成壯舉,讓這家瑞士企業名聲更盛。它以「蠔式」命名,只因這款錶密閉得有如蠔殼,在水底依然活動自如。此外,旋入式底蓋與外圈,以及嶄新的專利扣鎖錶冠等兩大技術突破,也賦予錶殼徹底防水的功能,而佩戴者也可旋入錶冠以鎖緊錶殼。勞力士發明此防水腕錶,並在廣告上宣稱爲「神奇腕錶」,加上梅塞迪絲・吉莉絲的印證,效果相得益彰。當蠔式腕錶出現於珠寶店櫥窗時,都刻意放在魚缸裏以展示其防水功能,成功在路人腦海裏留下此深刻印象:勞力士與水底世界密不可分的聯繫。

《每日郵報》頭版,1927年。

密閉錶殼

勞力士腕錶的可靠,人所共知,這當然有賴威爾斯多夫的商業智慧。蠔式腕錶在任何環境均「無懼外來侵害」的形象,分別出現在抵禦塵埃、水分、汗水、炎熱、寒冷甚至冰雪的廣告上。

這位勞力士的總裁,鍥而不捨地改進腕錶準確度,印證與所聲稱的功能毫無二致。威爾斯多夫肯定,蠔式腕錶的可靠度與防水功能,能夠抵禦更加惡劣的環境。1930年代,勞力士的製錶工程師,在製錶過程中發明了專利機械以測試防水功能。此後,越來越多的探險家與先驅者開始選用佩戴,讓它接受現實生活中各種各樣的嚴酷挑戰。

勞力士腕錶奠定了今天各款蠔式腕錶的基本造型及特點。革命性的嶄新自動上鏈恒動擺鉈機芯,利用手腕每個細微動作爲腕錶上鏈。佩戴者從此不用日復一日地旋開錶冠,因此得以進一步提升防水性能。

探索關鍵

對科技探索鍥而不捨的精神,使蠔式恒動技術多年來取得長足進步。隨著水肺潛泳及深海探索在1950年代出現,新推出的潛航者型錶款便成爲此中代表。而勞力士與載人的深海潛艇發明人奧古斯特・皮卡德(Auguste Piccard)的合作,以及其子雅克・皮卡德(Jacques Piccard)在1960年運用深海潛艇的里雅斯特號(Trieste)所締造的歷史性潛航中,更讓蠔式腕錶成功通過終極測試。從勞力士腕錶勇闖英倫海峽的海面以來,前後不足四十年,勞力士已有足夠實力,安然潛入海洋最深處。

我們的創辦精神

恒動精神

探索

分享此頁面

Making history with Rolex

clockTime to read: 1 min 30 s
scroll-down

The story of Rolex is intimately associated with human achievement. Hans Wilsdorf, the company’s founder, saw the mutual benefit of equipping people who were record breakers with an Oyster watch: the first of a long line of athletes and explorers was Mercedes Gleitze, the first British woman to swim the English Channel.

In 1927, a young British secretary called Mercedes Gleitze took a place in the annals of watchmaking history with a sporting exploit that brought the first waterproof watch to the world’s attention. The 26 year-old swam the English Channel wearing a Rolex Oyster, spending more than 10 hours in the chilly waters between France and Great Britain. At the end of the swim, the waterproof wristwatch was declared to be in perfect working order.

She was the first Englishwoman to manage the arduous swim, still a rare feat at the time, and she earned huge popular acclaim. Rolex’s founder and director, Hans Wilsdorf, celebrated the landmark event with a full-page advertisement on the front of London’s Daily Mail proclaiming the success of the first waterproof wristwatch and chronicling “the debut of the Rolex Oyster and its triumphant march worldwide”. Mercedes Gleitze effectively became the first Rolex Testimonee, a symbol of achievement who also demonstrated the new watch’s qualities in action.

It was a turning point. Although the wristwatch is taken for granted nowadays, a century ago pocket watches were the norm. The practical timepiece championed by Rolex owes much of its success to the painstaking development of waterproofing.

Mercedes Gleitze, 1927.

The Origins of Waterproofness

When men began wearing watches on their wrists instead of in their pockets in the early 1900s, it swiftly became clear that the new timepieces would lead much harsher lives. Pocket watches were sheltered inside clothing and largely spared from exposure to rain and moisture as well as the bustle of dusty streets and knocks that came with active lifestyles. The more vulnerable and less accurate wristwatch was simply a smaller version of its larger alter ego, and commonly regarded as a fragile item of women’s fashion.

These drawbacks were not lost on Rolex’s founder, who noted that the wristwatches of the time were something of a laughing stock among men. Yet the young and commercially minded Hans Wilsdorf felt that they were just right for fast-moving 20th-century life and the emergence of sports as pastime. He staked the future of his fledgling business, founded in 1905 in London, on the wristwatch. In striving to improve it he pioneered the waterproof watch, and in making that new quality known he devised innovative marketing campaigns.

The young and commercially minded Hans Wilsdorf felt that they were just right for fast-moving 20th-century life and the emergence of sports as pastimes.

The Submarine, 1922. Rolex's first attempt at making a waterproof wristwatch featured a second outer case.

The “Submarine” Emerges

By 1910, the accuracy of a small Rolex wristwatch rivalled that of the pocket watch. However, Wilsdorf realized that its intricate mechanism could only be reliable if it were protected in a hermetically-sealed case that kept out damaging moisture and dust. “We must find the means to create a waterproof watch,” he wrote in 1914, the very year one of his timepieces received a “Class A” precision certificate from Kew Observatory, the most prestigious timekeeping distinction of the era. He also called dust “our greatest enemy” and laid down some of the inherent features of Rolex DNA.

Rolex brought out its first attempt at a waterproof and dustproof watch, the Submarine, in 1922. It turned out to be an impractical design, relying on a second outer case to protect the main watch body. The outer shell had to be opened every day in order to wind the watch, thereby also weakening the metal gasket that sealed the opening.

Hans Wilsdorf was nonetheless convinced that the overall concept would change the watchmaking industry.

Birth of the Rolex Oyster

Within a few years, by 1926, Rolex had unveiled the waterproof watch that established the Swiss firm’s reputation, the one worn by Mercedes Gleitze. It was dubbed Oyster because it was clamped shut like an oyster shell and could survive under water. Two major technical innovations made the single-case wristwatch watertight: a screw-down back and bezel, as well as a newly patented winding crown. The wearer could screw down the crown to seal the case. Rolex had invented the waterproof wristwatch, advertised as the “wonder watch”. Mercedes Gleitze provided the proof. When the Oyster was displayed inside a fish tank or bowl in jewellery shop windows to demonstrate its waterproof qualities, it impressed passers-by and set the stage for Rolex’s inextricable link with the underwater world.

Front cover of the Daily Mail, 1927.

The Sealed Watch Case

Rolex wristwatches became renowned for their reliability, helped along by Hans Wilsdorf’s commercial acumen. The Oyster watch “defied the elements” and could go anywhere, resisting dust, water, perspiration, heat, cold and even snow according to advertisements of the time. Rolex’s director sought to back those claims.

Just as his watchmakers zealously improved accuracy, Hans Wilsdorf ensured that the reliability and waterproofness of the Oyster were proven under ever more severe conditions. In the 1930s, Rolex engineers devised and patented machinery to test waterproofness during the manufacturing process. Explorers and pioneers increasingly put the wristwatches to real-life tests in hostile environments.

The Rolex wristwatch also took on the basic form and characteristics that are inherent to all Oyster models to this day. The revolutionary new self-winding Perpetual rotor mechanism harnessed the energy of every movement of the wrist to wind the watch. Since the wearer no longer needed to unscrew the winding crown every day, waterproofness was enhanced.

A Key to Exploration

The constant quest to improve technology paved the way for the Oyster Perpetual’s development over the ensuing years. The advent of scuba diving and deep-sea exploration shaped the iconic new Submariner model in the 1950s. Cooperation with Auguste Piccard, the inventor of the bathyscaphe, a manned submersible, and his son Jacques would put an experimental Oyster watch to its ultimate test during a historic dive in the bathyscaphe Trieste in 1960. Less than 40 years after the standard-setting Rolex wristwatch braved the surface waters of the English Channel, it would plunge to the deepest reaches of the ocean.

Our Founding Spirit

Perpetual

Discover

Share this page