深海潛航的里雅斯特號

clock閱讀需時: 1 min 30 s
scroll-down

1960年,雅克・皮卡德(Jacques Piccard)與唐・威路士(Don Walsh)駕駛著的里雅斯特號(Trieste),潛入地球最深處──水深達10,916米(35,800呎)的挑戰者深度(challenger deep)。

撰文:當・貝特(Don Belt)
海軍上尉唐・威路士和雅克・皮卡德在深海潛艇的駕駛艙內。他們畢生奉獻於探索海洋並倡導全力保護海洋。

1960年1月23日的早上,菲律賓海波濤洶湧,這給美國海軍深海潛艇的里雅斯特號的啟航之旅帶來挑戰。

當時年僅28歲的海軍上尉唐・威路士,駕駛著的里雅斯特號,與瑞士海洋學家雅克・皮卡德一起開展這項人類歷史上最深的一次潛航。威路士說,當時其實有點沉悶。這9小時的深海潛航,潛入了位於關島西南方約320公里(200英里)的馬里亞納海溝(Mariana Trench)裡的挑戰者深度。那里水深達10,916米(35,800呎),是地球的最深處。威路士補充道,這點沉悶的氣氛後來被剎那的驚恐打破。

在距離海底大概還有三分之一行程的時候,這艘可自由潛航的小型深海潛艇,忽然遭遇碰撞,猛烈搖晃。威路士和皮卡德霎時對望一下,隨即決定鼓起勇氣並肩前行,然後,一切平安無事。「這是一次碰撞,好像發生了爆炸一樣,然後就沒事了。」威路士說。

他們後來才明白,原來是外層的樹脂玻璃舷窗因為受壓而爆裂,而且他們度量到每一平方厘米的玻璃就得承受一噸的壓力,幾乎是水面的一千倍。威路士聳聳肩表示,至少暫時為止那次舷窗的爆裂並不致命。

  • 1960年Deepsea Special

    即使潛入最深達10,916米的水底,它依然運作如常。為了展示其非凡實力,勞力士開始與奧古斯特・皮卡德合作,並在的裡雅斯特號早年多次的潛航旅程上,將勞力士較早期的Deep Sea Special原型款腕表固定於潛艇之外,因而陸續刷新了潛入水深1,080米、3,150米、3,700米以至7,300米的紀錄,然後,就到了上述的終極挑戰。

  • 面世以後

    勞力士自1926年發表首只蠔式腕錶開始,一直展示要創造出能抵禦嚴酷環境的專業時計的決心。的里雅斯特號的潛航,使勞力士腕錶從此更加深入民心,專業形象牢不可破,並且成為科學家在水底工作的可靠夥伴。


  • 這飽滿的氣泡

    是一個固定於潛艇外的探射燈保護罩。這個從原有設計中取材的元素,足以抵抗深海下的龐大壓力。在挑戰者深度的底層,每一平方厘米面積就得承受約一噸的壓力。

然而,繫於的里雅斯特號艇身外的勞力士實驗性原型錶「Deep Sea Special」,顯然不受影響。因此,皮卡德後來在一封致日內瓦勞力士總部的電報中寫道:「我很榮幸地宣布,勞力士腕錶在11,000米的深海下運作正常,就像在陸地上一樣。」

的里雅斯特號這次潛航的成就,並不限於奠下紀錄。通過這個旅程,威路士和皮卡德為最深的海洋,開啟了一道科學研究的窗戶,因為在此之前,人們普遍認為生物是無法在那裡存活的。但當他們到達最下方,借助水銀蒸氣燈的亮光窺探那裡漆黑的四周,不禁大吃一驚。皮卡德及後說:「到目前為止最有趣的發現是,透過舷窗,看見潛伏在海床上的比目魚。能夠在此發現這些較為高等的海洋生物,十分震驚。」

至今,科學家還在繼續研究這個由品種數以百計的有孔蟲類組成,居於海洋深處、極為複雜的生態系統。這些單細胞帶殼有機體,構成逾半數的生物,並且組成最低層的海洋食物鏈。科學家在挑戰者深度的海床上發現超過400個生物品種,其遺傳基因組合仍然保留著地球最早期生物的型態。

2008年去世的雅克・皮卡德,畢生致力於探索海底世界,更首倡並建立一支由四艘中層潛艇組成的團隊。

的里雅斯特號的指揮官威路士,此後則領導美國海軍潛艇隊,並成為國際知名的海洋學家。他更完成了地球兩極逾五十次的探險旅程,並繼續不斷勘探海洋深處。就如皮卡德一樣,他把生命奉獻於發掘海洋的奧秘,倡導保護海洋。他的努力,深得勞力士全力支持。

威路士依然每兩、三個月就出海一次,主要是為了向當政者和社會大眾,分享他對海洋現狀的看法。他發現,由海洋酸化、過度漁獵以及因氣候變化而導致含氧量下降等威脅海洋的警號,已經響起,研究及保護海洋的資源卻彷彿永遠不足。

Deep Sea Special技術上跟蠔式無異,但增強了部分細節,例如藉著擴大鏡面來抵禦水底壓力。上述廣告則強調了蠔式腕錶的防水功能。

他說:「今天地球已處於非常不穩定的狀態,氣候變化令兩極冰雪融化,導致海平線不斷升高,海水溫度及水流持續改變,但我們對此卻茫無頭緒。」

「科學家對海洋已經下了不少工夫,」他續道,「問題是,這似乎還不足夠。海洋學,我稱之為『大科學(big science)』。要被深入探討,需要動用不少船隻和基礎設施,還要投入大量的時間及資源。但請謹記,我們需要如此投入的理由。就是,為了我們所棲息的地球的將來!」

2012年3月26日,即的里雅斯特號下潛52年後,奧斯卡得獎電影製作人及探險家占士・金馬倫(James Cameron),乘坐專門設計的潛水器,潛入挑戰者深度。這也是首個單人下潛到海洋最深處的紀錄。潛水器的機械操作臂配備實驗型腕錶Rolex Deepsea Challenge。這時計在龐大水壓下,整個旅程始終運作如常。

我們的創辦精神

恒動精神

探索

分享此頁面

close

The Deepest DiveTHE TRIESTE

clockTime to read: 1 min 30 s
scroll-down

In 1960, Jacques Piccard and Don Walsh piloted the Trieste on its plunge to the deepest point on Earth – a 10,916-metre (35,800-foot) depression called the challenger deep.

by Don Belt
WALSH AND PICCARD, shown here in the cockpit of the bathyscaphe, committed their lives to understanding the world’s oceans and advocating for their protection.

The Philippine Sea was rough on the morning of 23 January 1960, which made launching the U.S. Navy bathyscaphe Trieste into the abyss a challenge.

But once it was under way, the deepest dive in human history was actually a little boring, says Don Walsh, who as a 28-year-old Navy lieutenant piloted the Trieste together with Swiss oceanographer Jacques Piccard on its nine-hour plunge to the deepest point on Earth – a 10,916-metre (35,800-foot) depression called the Challenger Deep, some 320 kilometres (200 miles) southwest of Guam in the Mariana Trench. Although, Walsh adds, that boredom was interrupted by one moment of pure terror.

They were two-thirds of the way to the bottom when a crash rocked the hull of the small, free-diving bathyscaphe. Walsh and Piccard shot each other a glance, and braced themselves for the end. And then – nothing happened. “It was just that one crash, like an explosion, and then nothing,” says Walsh.

They later learned that a Plexiglas exterior window had cracked from the pressure, which they measured at one tonne per square centimetre, nearly 1,000 times that at the surface. The cracked window “wasn’t life-threatening, at least not immediately”, Walsh says with a shrug.

  • The 1960 Deep Sea Special

    that went down on the deepest dive was found to be in perfect working order after its legendary expedition to 10,916 metres. To demonstrate the extraordinar efficiency of the watch, Rolex started collaborating with Auguste Piccard, and the Trieste had already dived several times in previous years with earlier versions of the Deep Sea Special affixed to its hull, reaching 1,080, 3,150, 3,700 and finally 7,300 metres before the ultimate challenge was taken up.

  • Since the launch

    of the first Oyster in 1926, Rolex has shown commitment to developing the timekeeping tools needed by professionals in extreme conditions. The Trieste dive made Rolex watches a part of the collective, professional conscience, and scientists working under water have relied on them ever since.

  • This plump bubble

    is a protective cover for one of the external light projectors fixed on the submersible.



  • This element was adapted from a previous design to allow it to resist the tremendous pressure exerted at such depths – roughly one tonne per square centimetre at the bottom of the Challenger Deep.

Notably, the Rolex Deep Sea Special strapped to the exterior of the Trieste was unfazed. “Happy to announce that your watch works as well at 11,000 metres as it does on the surface,” Piccard later telegraphed to Rolex headquarters in Geneva.

The dive of the Trieste was more than a record-setting voyage. With it, Piccard and Walsh opened a scientific window on the deepest ocean, which until then was widely considered devoid of life. Touching down on the bottom, the pair used mercury vapour lamps to survey their pitch-black surroundings – and were taken aback by what they saw. “By far the most interesting find was the flatfish we could see through the porthole lurking on the ocean bed,” Piccard later said. “We were astounded to find higher marine life forms down there at all.”

“Today scientists are continuing to study a remarkably complex ecosystem in the abyssal depths of the sea, built upon hundreds of species of foraminifera – single-celled, “shelly” organisms that make up more than half of all living matter and comprise the lowest link of the oceanic food chain. In the ooze of the Challenger Deep, scientists found more than 400 species, whose DNA resembles some of the earliest life forms on Earth.

Jacques Piccard, who died in 2008, spent the rest of his life exploring the underwater realm that he had pioneered, subsequently building four other mesoscaphes (medium-depth submarines).

Don Walsh, the officer in command of the Trieste, went on to captain U.S. Navy submarines and became one of the world’s eminent oceanographers. He also made more than 50 journeys to Earth’s polar regions, and has continued to explore the ocean depths. Like Piccard, he has committed his life to understanding the world’s oceans and advocating for their protection, supported in his efforts by Rolex.

Walsh still goes to sea two or three months a year, mainly to share his perspective on the state of the oceans with policy-makers and ordinary citizens. He notes with alarm that as threats to the oceans increase – from acidification, overfishing and loss of oxygen due to global climate change – the resources to study and defend the oceans seem to be in ever-shorter supply.

THE DEEP SEA SPECIAL was technically identical to the Oyster, but enhanced with larger features, such as a wider surface of watch glass, allowing it to withstand underwater pressure. The advertisement above underlined the waterproof qualities of the Oyster.

“Right now the planet is in a very unstable situation, with sea levels rising due to climate change and ice melting in the polar regions,” he says. “Sea temperatures and currents are changing, in ways that are poorly understood.”

“Scientists are doing a lot of good work on the oceans,” he goes on. “The problem is, there’s not nearly enough of it. Oceanography is what I call ‘big science’. It takes ships, infrastructure, and lots of time and resources to properly study these processes in detail. But remember what’s at stake here. Namely, the future of the planet we live on!”

On 26 March 2012, 52 years after the Trieste, Oscar-winning film-maker and explorer James Cameron descended to Challenger Deep in a specially designed submersible. It was the first solo dive to the deepest part of the oceans. The submersible carried an experimental divers’ watch, the ROLEX DEEPSEA CHALLENGE, on its robotic manipulator arm. The timepiece worked perfectly throughout the dive at extreme pressures.

Our Founding Spirit

Perpetual

Discover

Share this page