康纳尔・沃尔什与机械人同行

发布日期: 2016年icon-clock阅读需时: 1min 1s
icon-scroll-down

爱尔兰生物医学工程师康纳尔・沃尔什(Conor Walsh)结合纺织科学及机器人学,率领哈佛大学生物设计(biodesign)研究室的专家,改革全球病人从中风等创伤康复,以及重新学习行走的方式。

地点美国波士顿

每年有多达1500万人罹患中风,当中500万人经历缓慢、痛苦而且花费不菲的疗程来重新学习行走,因此康纳尔・沃尔什便决意改善此状况。在哈佛大学工程与应用科学学院任教的John L. Loeb级工程学副教授(John L. Loeb Associate Professor of Engineering)康纳尔・沃尔什,连同由工程师、资讯科技专家、服装设计师、临床医生及神经学家组成的专家团队,在哈佛大学研发可穿着的机械人,务求加速及舒缓复康过程。

这绝非一般复康治疗的替代品,而是拓展并加速疗程的工具。

此外骨骼机械衣(exosuit)不仅轻巧、富弹性,并集合机械与纺织物元素,引导受损神经、肌肉、肌腱及关节复原。它配备细小而强力的发动机、滑轮、绳缆、运动传感器及先进软件,逐步改善步姿,并鼓励自然动作,从而协助穿着者行走。除中风患者外,外骨骼机械衣亦可协助其他行动障碍者,包括帕金森病与多发性硬化症患者及长者。

沃尔什于过往曾开发并亲身试验硬性外骨骼装置,对项目有所经验及了解。及后,其哈佛大学同僚对柔软材质的专业知识,让他深受启发:“我了解到若能以柔软轻便的材质,制作出调整正确姿势的装置,便能让成品穿着舒适,而且不会为使用者添加过多重量。这无疑能广泛应用于生物医学层面。”

通过与哈佛大学威斯研究所(Wyss Institute)和生物医学公司ReWalk的合作,让柔软外骨骼机械衣投入生产,预计三年内可推出市面。

  • 1500万人

    全球每年罹患中风的人数

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索更多

close
Conor Walsh

Walking with robots

Published in 2016clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

By marrying textile science with robotics, Conor Walsh, an Irish biomedical engineer, and a team of experts at the Harvard Biodesign Lab are revolutionizing how patients worldwide recover from traumas such as stroke and learn to walk again.

locationBoston, United States

Fifteen million people have strokes every year. Five million learn to walk again but the process can be slow, painful and costly. Conor Walsh is determined to change that. To accelerate and ease rehabilitation, the John L. Loeb Associate Professor of Engineering at the Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences and his team of engineers, IT experts, apparel designers, clinicians and neuroscientists at Harvard University are making robots you can wear.

It’s not a replacement for normal rehabilitation therapy. It’s a new tool for extending and accelerating it.

Light, textile, elastic and mechanized, the exosuit teaches damaged nerves, muscles, tendons and joints to function again. Tiny, powerful motors, pulleys, cables, movement sensors and intelligent software help wearers walk by making gentle corrections to movement and encouraging natural actions. Along with stroke victims, it has the potential to aid others with impaired mobility, including those with Parkinson’s disease, multiple sclerosis and the elderly.

Walsh had previous experience with rigid exoskeletons as a developer and test subject but when he arrived at Harvard, he was inspired by colleagues with expertise in soft materials: “I saw that if you had a softer, lighter suit that accentuated the right actions, was comfy to wear and didn’t encumber you, it could have huge biomedical applications.”

Through partnerships with Harvard’s Wyss Institute and the biomedical company ReWalk, the soft exosuit is on the path to commercialization, and is expected to be ready in three years.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page