積及・寇克微型義工行動

發布日期: 2010年clock閱讀需時: 45s
scroll-down

通過結合傳統的利他主義和21世紀的技術,來自加州的年輕先鋒為當今世界建立全新慈善模式。

地點美國

信念堅定的企業家積及・寇克(Jacob Colker)以時下年輕人的忙碌日程為基礎,建立新式的志願主義。寇克利用眾包(crowdsourcing)優勢,讓有數分鐘空閒和智能手機的人士,能夠參與義助服務。目前已有逾80萬名志願者參加「微型義工」活動。

如果將一週做『善事』的時間,乘以網絡中數以千計的註冊用戶,你便會發現這是一項規模龐大的運動。

寇克現在一方面繼續經營原來項目(skillsforchange.com),另一方面擔任Lighter Capital的首席營銷主管,協助軟件和科技企業家創業。他也是西雅圖華盛頓大學(University of Washington)的企業學教授。此外,寇克共同創辦名為Impact Hub Seattle的創新中心,藉此匯聚各界人士的新思維,從而促進協作和創造機會。

寇克並不認同累積多年經驗是孕育優秀意念的最佳準備。「誠然,最具創意的人往往是二十出頭,所以經驗並非唯一關鍵。一些改變世界的公司也是由年輕人創辦,如[馬克]朱克伯格(Zuckerberg)和[比爾]蓋茨(Gates)均於19歲時成立公司。而我給予年輕人的建議便是坐言起行,當遇到問題便努力解決。」

  • 16,000個

    skillsforchange.com完成的項目

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close
Jacob Colker

March of the micro-volunteers

Published in 2010clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

By combining old-fashioned altruism and 21st-century technology, a young trailblazer from California has given the world a new model for philanthropy.

locationUnited States

Inveterate entrepreneur Jacob Colker has pioneered a new form of activism based on the busy daily routines of today’s youth. Building on the benefits of crowdsourcing, Colker’s model allows anyone with a few spare minutes and a smartphone to work for a worthy cause. More than 800,000 volunteers have now signed up for micro-volunteering.

Sprinkle these 'do good' moments throughout the week, then multiply that figure by the many thousands of registered users comprising the network, and suddenly you're dealing with an enormously effective movement.

Colker is still involved with his original project (skillsforchange.com) but he is now Chief Marketing Officer for Lighter Capital, which assists software and technology entrepreneurs to build start-ups. He is also a Professor of Entrepreneurship at the University of Washington, based in Seattle. Among his other achievements, Colker co-founded an innovation hub, Impact Hub Seattle, which brings together a wide range of people with new ideas, promoting collaboration and creativity.

Colker rejects the idea that years of experience are the best preparation for hatching good ideas. “I honestly think some of the most innovative people are in their early twenties, so it’s not all about experience. The world-changing companies were founded by people when they were 19 – [Mark] Zuckerberg and [Bill] Gates. The best advice for a young person to get started is walk out of your door and start doing. If you see a problem, fix it.”

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page