杜化・韋特透過電子「耳朵」聆聽全球雨林

發布日期: 2019年clock閱讀需時: 2min 18s
scroll-down

根據國際自然保護聯盟(International Union for Conservation of Nature)的統計,每秒便有超過一公頃的熱帶森林遭受摧毀或大幅度破壞,威脅許多物種的生存。非法採伐是毀林的元兇,同時助長氣候變化。全球雨林急速萎縮,至2100年更可能完全消失,因此防止非法採伐和監測野生森林的工作絕對刻不容緩。

地點厄瓜多爾

美國技術專家杜化・韋特(Topher White)提出可行方案:利用手機建立森林「耳朵」網絡,報告非法活動,並在亞馬遜、中美洲、亞洲等偏遠地區以實時串流形式傳輸野生動物的聲音。

韋特工作的非政府組織Rainforest Connection(PFCx)推出硬件和軟件配套,提供低廉而有效的方法,從全球的非法偷獵者和伐木者手中保衛雨林。RFCx的技術已覆蓋五大洲、9個國家,保護近3,000平方公里的雨林。

一旦偵測到任何非法活動,經改良的電話網絡便會向合作夥伴發出即時警報,以及活動位置及類型的訊息。韋特指:「我們與當地部落、非政府組織、政府機關及社區團體建立合作關係,向他們發送警告,以助他們即時前往現場,制止非法活動。」

具有專用太陽能充電器的手機,適合置於易受破壞的森林區域,例如是道路附近,形成「森林監護人」監聽設備網絡。來自「監護人」的串流聲音會實時上傳至雲端,然後由人工智能模型分析音頻,再將成功偵測的異常活動(如鏈鋸和車輛)傳回地面並通知護林員。

它們可以接收各種聲音,並通過人工智能分辨出鏈鋸或任何生物。

杜化・韋特

相同技術亦用於監測珍罕或重要鳥類和動物品種的聲音,讓科學家可在特定區域研究野生動物群的健康狀況,進一步保育環境。各種聲音以實時形式傳輸,為科學家提供龐大的原始聲音數據庫。他指出:「我們也可以偵測不會發聲的動物。美洲虎不會經常發出聲音,但周遭的鳥類和其他動物則會鳴叫。」韋特解釋:「一大有趣之處在於我們借助舊技術和大眾不感興趣的物品,在世界各地展開真正的尖端科學及保育工作。

我們把他人棄卻的舊手機,掛於熱帶雨林的樹上。手機可聆聽各種聲音,並透過人工智能,辨別出鏈鋸、伐木貨車及道路建設,甚至是瀕危鳥類或動物的聲音。」

韋特表示,全球森林砍伐活動越趨猖獗,導致土壤碳不斷流失,成為氣候變化的一大因素。控制這個情況的主要障礙,在於偏遠的森林地區缺乏監測,未能向社區或執法機關及時提供警報。

韋特曾於巴西、哥斯達黎加、厄瓜多爾、羅馬尼亞、南非、伯利兹、菲律賓、印尼蘇門答臘島及秘魯的本土社區中,廣泛測試他的「森林監護人」技術。他補充:「最關鍵的是我們與當地居民進行合作,是他們保護了這些地區,也是他們可以對當地氣候做出重大影響。」

「Rainforest Connection的技術已超越概念驗證階段,並正式投入擴張,目前共有60多個新項目。RFCx預期在未來24個月內能夠覆蓋6,000平方公里的受威脅生態環境,記錄長達450年的錄音。對保育和研究的影響將大增三倍。保護的土地量相當於600萬輛汽車的廢氣、4億棵樹,或3,000萬噸二氧化碳。」

Rainforest Connection的未來目標是從打擊非法伐木和偷獵,轉向更有效保護森林及海洋生態系統。RFCx平台將分享數據,提供更詳細的分析和機械學習系統,通過監察生態環境,連繫研究與保育。RFCx期望協助保育組織、基金及捐助人,測量保育成效。

  • 9個

    國家

  • 5個

    大洲

  • 近3,000平方公里

    覆蓋的雨林面積

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

Topher WhiteElectronic ‘ears’ listen to world’s rainforests

Published in 2019icon-clockTime to read: 2min 18s
icon-scroll-down

Every second, more than one hectare of tropical forests is destroyed or drastically degraded, according to the IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature), threatening the survival of many species. Illegal logging is the biggest contributor to deforestation, which in turn contributes to climate change. With the world’s rainforests now shrinking so fast that they may be gone by 2100, the need for ways to prevent illegal logging and monitor forest wildlife is urgent.

locationEcuador

American technologist Topher White has come up with one possible answer: using mobile phones to create a network of forest “ears” that can report illegal activity as well as live-stream the sounds of wildlife in remote regions such as the Amazon, Central America and Asia.

White’s NGO, Rainforest Connection (RFCx) has built the hardware and software that are able to cheaply and effectively protect rainforests from illegal logging and poaching around the world, with RFCx technology deployed in 9 countries, 5 continents and protecting nearly 3,000 square kilometres of rainforest.

The network of repurposed mobile phones provides partners with instant warning of any illicit activity detected, its location and type. “We form partnerships with local tribes, NGOs, government agencies and community groups, and we can send alerts to them so they can actually show up and stop the illegal activity in real time, on the ground,” says White.

The phones, which have purpose-built solar chargers, can be located in vulnerable areas of forest, such as near roads and tracks, to form a network of “Forest Guardian” listening devices. Audio streams from the Guardians are uploaded in real time to the cloud where artificial intelligence models analyse the audio and relay detection of unusual activities, such as the use of chainsaws and vehicles, back to the rangers on the ground.

They can listen to all the sounds and we can pick out using artificial intelligence, the sounds of chain saws, or really any species.

Topher White

The same technology is also being used to monitor the sounds of rare or important species of birds and animals, providing scientists with a way to study the health of wildlife populations in a given area, adding momentum to conservation. The sounds are live-streamed, creating a vast digital library that gives scientists raw acoustic data. “We should be able to detect animals that don’t even make sounds. Jaguars might not always be vocalizing, but birds and other animals around them are,” he says.

“One of the most amazing things is that we’re using old technology, the stuff no one’s excited about, to do really cutting-edge science and conservation around the world,” White explains. “We take an old cell phone – the ones everyone throws away – and we can put it high up in the trees of the rainforest. It can listen to all the sounds and, using artificial intelligence, we can pick out the noise of chainsaws, logging trucks, road building – or even of endangered species of birds or animals.”

Deforestation is rampant worldwide and, by releasing soil carbon, is one of the biggest contributors to climate change, White says. The main obstacle to controlling it has been a lack of surveillance in very remote areas of forest, to provide timely warning to communities or law enforcement agencies.

White has extensively tested his Forest Guardian technology with local communities in Brazil, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Romania, South Africa, Belize, Philippines, the Indonesian island of Sumatra, and Peru. “A really important element of what we do is work with local people, the ones who are protecting these areas, as they can have the biggest impact in fighting climate change,” he adds.

“Rainforest Connection technology has surpassed its proof-of-concept phase and has moved into expansion with over 60 new projects in the pipeline. RFCx expects to have an impact on 6,000 square kilometres of threatened ecosystems and produce 450 years' worth of audio over the next 24 months. Impact in conservation and research is expected to triple. The amount of land protected will be the equivalent of taking 6 million cars off the road, 400 million trees protected, and 30 million tonnes of CO2 sequestered.”

The vision for Rainforest Connection moving forward is to move from just fighting illegal logging and poaching to enabling an impactful protection of all ecosystems, both forest and marine. The RFCx platform will leverage shared data to enable more sophisticated analytics and machine learning capabilities, which connects research to conservation through ecosystem monitoring. RFCx aspires to be the tool that conservation organizations, foundations, and donors can use to measure the impact of conservation efforts.

  • 9

    Countries

  • 5

    Continents

  • 3000 km2

    of rainforest nearly covered

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover