安娜贝尔・福特古代玛雅人对现今世界的启示

发布日期: 2000年icon-clock阅读需时: 0min 53s
icon-scroll-down

考古学家及人类学家安娜贝尔・福特(Anabel Ford)花了四十年时间研究玛雅文明,她在伯利兹(Belize)与危地马拉(Guatemala)之间发现占地极广的埃尔皮拉尔(El Pilar)古城,自此这里便成为她的主要研究场所。

地点伯利兹及危地马拉

加洲大学圣塔芭芭拉分校的安娜贝尔・福特博士认为玛雅文化能为21世纪的世界及农业挑战提供启示。安娜贝尔・福特博士担任该校的中美洲研究中心(MesoAmerican Research Center)主任和非牟利组织Exploring Solutions Past的总裁。

我的研究显示,古代玛雅人的生活能与其栖身的热带环境巧妙融合。他们并非单纯撷取当中资源,因而能发展出建基于自然环境或生态系统的兴盛文明。

福特多年来推展了多项社区计划,包括为学童而设的计划,并同时继续进行有关埃尔皮拉尔的考古研究及相关的遗迹保育及可持续发展计划。最值得注意的是她致力推动建立“两国共有”和平公园,有助解决伯利兹与危地马拉之间存在已久的领土争议。她还与该区的农民广泛合作,协助成立“埃尔皮拉尔森林公园网络”(El Pilar Forest Garden Network)以促进林木管理知识的流通。

福特质疑有关玛雅文明是因粮食供不应求而灭亡的看法。她曾推出六本著作,而在其中最新出版的Maya Forest Garden: Eight Millennia of Sustainable Cultivation of the Tropical Woodlands(2015年)中,她便指出玛雅农民所运用的耕作方式仍适用于现今世代,是玛雅文明众多杰出技术成就之一。

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索更多

close
Anabel Ford

Ancient Maya’s modern teachings

Published in 2000clockTime to read: 35s
scroll-down

Archaeologist and anthropologist Anabel Ford has spent four decades studying the Maya civilization, principally at the vast and ancient city of El Pilar, which she discovered on the border of today’s Belize and Guatemala.

locationBelize and Guatemala

Maya culture holds lessons for the 21st-century world and its agricultural challenges, according to Dr Anabel Ford of the University of California, Santa Barbara, where she is Director of the MesoAmerican Research Center and President of the non-profit organization Exploring Solutions Past.

My research shows the ancient Maya worked with their tropical environment, as opposed to simply exploiting it, in order to create a flourishing civilization sustained by its natural environment or ecosystem.

Over the years, Ford has developed various community projects, including programmes for school children, while continuing the archaeological investigation of El Pilar and the conservation and sustainable development of the site. Most notably, she tirelessly promotes a “bi-national” peace park, which can help resolve the long-standing dispute between Belize and Guatemala. She has also worked extensively with the area’s farmers, helping form the El Pilar Forest Garden Network to facilitate the sharing of knowledge about forest management practices.

Ford has challenged the view that the Maya civilization failed because the people had insufficient food to feed a growing population. In the latest of her six books – Maya Forest Garden: Eight Millennia of Sustainable Cultivation of the Tropical Woodlands (2015) ─ she sets out her argument that the Maya, among their many talents, were competent farmers with methods that could be useful today.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page