露娜・卡瀚生活博物馆

发布日期: 2006年icon-clock阅读需时: 0min 57s
icon-scroll-down

露娜・卡瀚(Runa Khan)亲证来往孟加拉水道的传统舟艇逐渐由柴油驱动的船只所取代。她决心保留传统造船技术,并正逐步实现一直以来的梦想——构建博物馆。

地点孟加拉

广阔的河流三角洲覆盖孟加拉近乎一半的国土,船舶向来是当地生活不可或缺的一环。然而,进口柴油引擎彻底改变航行模式,木造船的传统和技术面临重大危机。世代以来,造船知识都是靠工匠口耳相传,有关的文字记载可谓少之又少。

造船是这个国家历史最悠久的工艺之一。其正统根源使之成为艺术与技术的典范,更是人类回忆的一部分。

卡瀚的目标是复制旧式木船并兴建相容的博物馆,借以挽救这方面的民族遗产。卡瀚指船艇博物馆“会以木材和玻璃建成,让访客可观赏木匠工作。这是达卡(Dhaka)附近一个永久艺术和手工展览中心的主要项目,并将是一座‘生活博物馆’,木船会在毗邻河流漂浮。 ”她创立的非政府组织Friendship联同孟加拉基金会(Bengal Foundation),携手建立此博物馆;另外,Friendship亦与当地政府紧密合作。

拯救国家水上遗产并非卡瀚的唯一焦点。Friendship每月为25万人直接提供医疗服务,至今在孟加拉偏远地区的受惠人次多达数百万。

  • 87种

    经露娜・卡瀚整合得出的传统船只设计数目

  • 150艘

    木船复制品数目,大多不到一米长,由工匠亲自建造

  • 15个

    卡瀚的组织Friendship所参与的国内外传统孟加拉造船技术展览项目数量

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

Runa KhanA living museum

Published in 2006clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Runa Khan has watched as traditional boats that used to ply Bangladesh’s waterways have been replaced by those with diesel engines. Determined to preserve traditional boat-building skills, she is now achieving her long-held dream of constructing a museum.

locationBangladesh

With almost half of Bangladesh being covered by a vast river delta, boats have always been an essential part of life. However, imported diesel engines radically changed boating habits, putting the heritage and technology of traditional wooden boat-building at risk. There were no written records showing how the boats were constructed, as this knowledge had been passed from one craftsman to another for centuries as oral history.

Boatbuilding is one of the oldest crafts of this country. Its authenticity makes it a masterpiece of art and technology, part of the memory of humankind.

Khan’s goal has been to save this aspect of her nation’s heritage by building replicas of the old-style boats and to build a museum to house them. The boat museum “will be in wood and glass so that visitors can watch the carpenters as they work”, says Khan. Forming a major part of a permanent art and crafts exhibition centre near Dhaka, it will be a “living museum”, with boats actually floating on the adjacent river, she says. Her NGO, Friendship, is joining forces with the Bengal Foundation to set up the museum and a collaboration with the government is also under way.

Saving her country’s marine heritage is not Khan’s only focus. Friendship provides direct healthcare services to 250,000 people a month and serves several million people in the most remote areas of Bangladesh.

  • 87

    The number of traditional boat designs compiled by Runa Khan

  • 150

    The number of boat replicas, most of them less than a metre long, built by the craftsmen

  • 15

    National and international exhibitions of traditional Bangladeshi boat-building, Khan’s Friendship organization participated in

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page