卡蓮娜・雅堅遜拯救巴拉圭被遺忘的角落

發布日期: 2012年clock閱讀需時: 50s
scroll-down

六年間,生物學家卡蓮娜・雅堅遜(Karina Atkinson)在巴拉圭一個鮮為人知的自然保護區,致力將此處發展科學環保及可持續旅遊的模式,造福當地社群。

地點巴拉圭

巴拉圭的布蘭卡湖自然保護區(Reserva Natural Laguna Blanca)佔地804公頃,位處三大生態區的交匯處,這裡是卡蓮娜・雅堅遜眼中的「天堂」,野生動植物種類豐富多樣,當中包括一些飽受威脅的珍稀瀕危物種。

這裡解決日常問題的方法簡單直接,與西方世界迥然不同,此種處理問題的方式促使我參與巴拉圭的項目。

來自蘇格蘭的雅堅,在巴拉圭完成自願科學計劃後,決定合力創立Para La Tierra,這個非政府組織旨在協助自然保護區和本土貧困社區。她與同事通過研究和社區活動,為保育區域內的物種和棲息地提供科學理據支持。

至今她已達成不少目標,例如成功游說地主減低農業活動對自然棲息地的影響;提升當地社區對保護動物的意識,並建立生態旅遊基礎,旺季期間保護區每天均吸引數以百計的遊客到訪。

雅堅估計數百人已受惠於Para La Tierra的工作。她的團隊與社區的年青一族在環境管理方面建立穩固根基,通過促成本土和國際合作,改善居民生計並實現保育目標。

不幸的是,當局正計劃出售自然保護區,令其項目進展受到威脅。她現就購地一事努力籌募資金。

  • 500人

    直接或間接受益於雅堅遜的Para La Tierra項目

  • 300名

    短期義工和科學專家在自然保護區內工作

  • 65個

    研究項目經已展開

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

Karina AtkinsonPreserving Paraguay’s forgotten corner

Published in 2012clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Biologist Karina Atkinson has spent more than six years helping to transform a little-known reserve in Paraguay into a model of scientific conservation and sustainable tourism that benefits the local community.

locationParaguay

Karina Atkinson describes Paraguay’s Reserva Natural Laguna Blanca, an 804-hectare area at the confluence of three major ecoregions, as being “like paradise” with its diversity of plants and wildlife, including a number of rare, threatened and endangered species.

The solutions to everyday problems here, which are different from those that occur in the Western world, are so simple and logical – it’s this approach to problem-solving that really attracts me about taking on the project in Paraguay.

Inspired to stay after completing her stint volunteering on a science programme, the Scotswoman co-founded Para La Tierra, the non-governmental organization that has come to the aid of the reserve and impoverished local communities. Through a combination of research and community engagement, she and her colleagues have provided the scientific basis for the conservation of the reserve’s species and habitats.

Much has already been achieved: local landowners have been persuaded to reduce the impact of their agricultural activities on the habitat; the local community is now more aware of the need to protect animal species; and ecotourism has gained a footing, with hundreds of people visiting the reserve daily in high season.

Atkinson estimates hundreds of people have benefited from the work of Para La Tierra. Her team has established a strong foundation in environmental stewardship among the youngest members of the community, forging local and international partnerships to improve livelihoods and help achieve conservation goals.

Unfortunately, the reserve is up for sale and her work is under threat. She is seeking donor funds to buy it.

  • 500

    People who have benefited directly or indirectly from Atkinson’s work at Para La Tierra

  • 300

    Temporary volunteers and professional scientists who have worked at the reserve

  • 65

    Research projects that have been carried out

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page