於rolex.org搜尋

仁增・潘祝・拉馬

2021年勞力士雄才偉略大獎得主

於尼泊爾跨喜馬拉雅地區推動保護生物多樣性的本地方案

尼泊爾胡姆拉喜馬拉雅山區是全球最為野外及偏遠的地域之一。當地民眾正獲邀成為前線保育人員,拯救日漸減少的野生動物,包括雪豹及野生犛牛。推行此項目的便是年青生態學家仁增・潘祝・拉馬(Rinzin Phunjok Lama),他深信只有當地人民才有決心及知識,真正推動改變。

2006年,一場直升機意外奪去23名尼泊爾保育領袖的生命,將領導重擔突然推到年輕一代的肩上。仁增・潘祝・拉馬是首批敢於接受挑戰的保育工作者之一:他不僅獻身保護著名的雪豹,還有遭受威脅的喜馬拉雅狼、喜馬拉雅黑熊、野生犛牛、西藏盤羊、西藏狒狒、麝香鹿等尼泊爾高海拔野生動物。

拉馬出身至胡姆拉的陡峭冰山,這些山脈高達海拔5,000米,人類和動物的生活均困難重重,兩者經常發生衝突,而動物往往是損傷的一方。他說:「佛教理念提倡同理心、共融,[以及]人類與自然之間的微妙平衡,就生物多樣性而言,胡姆拉擁有最偏遠、豐富及優美的地貌之一。當我第一眼看到雪豹這種神秘的動物,便深受啟發,決意要保育山區環境。」

當我第一眼看到雪豹這種神秘的動物,便深受啟發,決意要保育山區環境。

仁增・潘祝・拉馬

「然而,跨喜馬拉雅生態系統非常脆弱,人類活動的增長更是威脅不斷。這裡急切需要兼顧保育及生計的綜合方案。」 他發展以社區為基礎的保育理念,將解決問題的權力及責任交到當地人民的手中,推動他們更妥善管理農地及野生環境。

他希望將社區保育作為焦點,促進當地領導、業務及治理所有權,以建立更強韌自立的山區社群。在目標一致的年青人協助下,他與村委會、青年俱樂部及婦女會等機構交流,宣揚保育意識、教育、互動及動員。

拉馬的方式具備多個層面:在執法方面培訓當地人,防止偷獵、森林火災及非法採伐;另一方面同時裝備其他人(尤其是女性)運用胡姆拉地區的自然資產建立環保企業,如草藥產品、傳統服裝、徒步旅行及生態旅遊。

在科學方面,其年輕的受訓保育專家團隊通過實地調查及攝錄機,奠下瀕危野生動物的種群基線,監測它們的數量,並觀察牠們對新措施的反應。

「我想證明,如果有機會,當地民眾可以發揮領導作用,並有能力管理大型保育和社區參與項目,真正妥善管理環境。」

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

為2021年大獎得主喝采

探索更多

RINZIN PHUNJOK LAMA

2021 Rolex Awards Laureate

Promote local initiatives for biodiversity conservation in Nepal’s Trans-Himalaya

Local people from one of the world’s wildest and most isolated places, the mountainous Himalaya region of Humla in Nepal, are being enlisted as frontline conservators to rescue dwindling wild animal populations – from snow leopards to wild yaks. Driving the scheme is an energetic young ecologist, Rinzin Phunjok Lama, who is convinced that only local commitment and know-how can make the real difference.

In 2006, a helicopter crash that claimed the lives of 23 leaders of Nepalese conservation abruptly thrust the burden of leadership onto a new generation. Rinzin Phunjok Lama was among the first to take up the challenge: he at once made it his life’s mission to protect not only the fabled snow leopard but also the threatened Himalayan wolf, Himalayan black bear, wild yak, Tibetan argali, Tibetan kiang, musk deer and other Nepalese high-altitude wildlife.

Lama hails from the precipitous and icy slopes of Humla, towering up to 5,000 metres above sea level, where life is a constant struggle for humans and animals alike – leading to clashes which the creatures often lose. “Humla is one of the most remote, rich and beautiful landscapes, in terms of biodiversity [inspired by] the Buddhist philosophy that promotes compassion, coexistence [and] a well-balanced relationship between humans and nature. Ever since I saw the snow leopard, a mysterious and mythical species, I was inspired to conserve the mountain environment,” he says.

Ever since I saw the snow leopard, a mysterious and mythical species, I was inspired to conserve the mountain environment.

Rinzin Phunjok Lama

“Yet the Trans-Himalayan ecosystem is very fragile and the growth in human activities is a constant threat. There is an urgent need for conservation projects which provide an integrated approach to both conservation and livelihood.” His philosophy of community-based conservation places the power and responsibility to solve the problem in the hands of local people, challenging them to become better stewards of both farmed lands and wilderness.

His vision is to use community-based conservation as a focus to promote local leadership, local business and governance ownership and so build more resilient and self-reliant mountain communities. With help from a core of similarly inspired young people, he engages with institutions such as village councils, youth clubs and women’s groups to spread awareness, educate, engage and mobilize.

Lama’s approach is multi-faceted, training some locals in law enforcement to prevent poaching, forest fires and illegal logging while equipping others – women especially – to establish eco-based businesses which draw on the natural assets of the Humla region, such as herbal products, traditional apparel, trekking and ecotourism.

On the scientific side, his teams of young, trained conservationists use field surveys and camera traps to establish population baselines for the most imperilled wild animals, to monitor their numbers and observe how they respond to the new measures.

“I want to show that, if given the opportunity, local people can lead exceptionally and are capable of managing large-scale conservation projects and community engagement, as true stewards of the land.”

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Celebrating the 2021 Laureates

Discover more