谢克尔・达塔特里镜头下的野外生态

发布日期: 2004年clock阅读需时: 45s
scroll-down

面对经济迅速增长,印度野外生态的情况实是岌岌可危,眼见问题迫在眉睫,谢克尔・达塔特里(Shekar Dattatri)继续在保育祖国自然遗产一事上出力。老虎绝种、海岸线消失等都是他关注的范畴。

地点印度

印度急速发展,在世界舞台上冉冉崛起。然而,保育电影制作人谢克尔・达塔特里意识到国力兴盛对印度的野外环境构成一定威胁。

保育电影制作人兼具不少特质,他们不仅对大自然怀着真挚热情、秉持坚毅不屈的精神、能透彻剖析议题,并充满耐性,通过制作电影清晰传递问题核心。

过去三十年,达塔特里以摄影师、编剧及导演的身分,参与超过30部有关野外生态和保育的电影。他于2004年荣获劳力士雄才伟略大奖,为其精彩的电影制作注入无穷动力。在此期间,他不断优化保育理念,亦明白到相对普罗大众,少数的决策者若成功接收电影的讯息,所缔造的影响力或会更加显著。

2010年上映的The Truth About Tigers是他其中一部最具影响力的电影,全长40分钟的片段以老虎和相关保育工作为题,阐述人类活动如何影响保育进程,并探讨扭转生态受损局面的方法。

其近作之一述说居于受保护森林的数千名印度人所面临的挑战,以及他们对自然栖息地无意造成的损害。达塔特里未有跟随主流步伐,他认为在双方同意的基础上安排居民搬迁,既能协助孤立无援的社群,也可为大自然腾出更多空间。达塔特里亦有就野生环境、保育及电影制作的题材撰文。

  • 2,200只

    据政府估计印度尚余的老虎数目

  • 450个

    家庭顺利迁出印度西南部的巴德拉老虎保护区(Bhadra Tiger Reserve),资料取自达塔特里的最新电影。

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

close
Shekar Dattatri

Shooting wildlife with a camera

Published in 2004clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

With India’s wilderness suffering in the face of explosive economic growth, Shekar Dattatri continues to focus his attention on the urgent need to conserve his country’s remaining natural heritage. His subjects range from the tiger to disappearing coastlines.

locationIndia

His country attracts headlines for its rapid development and rise on the world stage. However, conservation film-maker Shekar Dattatri believes this burgeoning success is placing “wild” India at risk.

Genuine passion for nature, emotional fortitude, the ability to research a subject thoroughly, and the patience to craft a film that will convey the essence of an issue clearly, are some of the attributes needed to be a conservation film-maker.

Dattatri has helped produce more than 30 wildlife and conservation films in the past three decades, as a cameraman, writer and director. His Rolex Award in 2004 imparted much-needed momentum to his eloquent film-making. During this time, he has refined his conservation philosophy, coming to the view that a film can more often lead to effective action when viewed by a small group of decision-makers than by the general public.

One of his most influential films, 2010’s The Truth About Tigers, a 40-minute guide to tigers and their conservation, illustrates how human activities impact their conservation, and what can be done to reverse the damage.

One of his recent films addresses the challenges faced by the thousands of Indians living in protected forests, and the degradation they inadvertently cause to natural habitats. Contrary to popular belief, Dattatri argues that generous and consensual relocation will benefit these marooned communities, while making more room for nature. Dattatri also writes on wildlife, conservation and film-making.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page