洛・亨利・法耶古代溝通的藝術

發布日期: 2000年clock閱讀需時: 45s
scroll-down

約三十年前,法國探險家洛・亨利・法耶(Luc Henri Fage)在加里曼丹(Kalimantan)發現史前洞穴壁畫,並開始致力保育這些藝術瑰寶。

地點印尼

印尼婆羅洲叢林深處的洞穴蘊藏着無數令人驚嘆的岩石壁畫,部分歷史超過14,000年,當中有不少掌形噴畫。當探險家、洞穴學家兼紀錄片製作人洛・亨利・法耶於1988年首次發現木炭畫,他了解到這些畫的重要性,並致力讓世界認識及保育這些史前人類遺跡。

我們來到加里曼丹這大如法國的地區前,從未有考古學家踏足此處。

他與法國考古學家尚米歇爾・沙茲利(Jean-Michel Chazine)及印尼考古學家賓迪・塞蒂亞萬(Pindi Setiawan)在該地區進行了多次驚險的探索之旅,在岩溶邊緣地帶找到不同的洞穴和圖畫。看似剪影的掌印並不是繪畫或油畫,而是透過嘴巴或空心吹氣管把微細的粉末顏料吹向手掌而在岩石上留下的印記。這是加里曼丹洞穴中最常見的古代藝術,而其中不少掌印更繪有獨特且具象徵意義的繪畫。法耶與他的團隊均認為這些印記或是一種溝通代號。

這種歷史悠久的藝術遺跡正面臨不少威脅,法耶於2011年參與編寫Borneo, Memory of the Caves,為他爭取在蘊藏珍貴圖畫遺跡的瑪朗山(Marang Mountains)建立自然公園的主張提出理據。其後他製作了兩部與探索結果有關的電影。他希望說服印尼當局限制破壞岩溶地區石灰岩成份的煤礦和水泥作業,並引進生態旅遊和可持續的發展方式取而代之。

  • 30種

    法耶記錄並整理的常見掌形圖案設計,它們有不同的點、線和鋸齒形線條特徵

  • 1,938個

    截至2011年,在婆羅洲的四十個洞穴內發現的掌形印記及其他畫像數量

  • 10,000至25,000年

    印尼婆羅洲洞穴藝術的歷史

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close

Luc-Henri FageAncient art of communication

Published in 2000clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

French explorer Luc-Henri Fage discovered prehistoric cave paintings in Kalimantan nearly 30 years ago and campaigned to save these artistic treasures.

locationIndonesia

Deep in the jungles of Indonesian Borneo are caves that are home to thousands of astonishing rock paintings, some more than 14,000 years old, and most showing stencilled hands. When explorer, speleologist and documentary film-maker Luc-Henri Fage first discovered charcoal pictures in 1988, he understood their importance and set out to draw the world’s attention to these vestiges of prehistoric man, and the need to preserve them.

Before we went there, Kalimantan, a region as big as France, hadn’t been visited by a single archaeologist.

Accompanied by archaeologists Jean-Michel Chazine (France) and Pindi Setiawan (Indonesia), he has undertaken numerous, frequently hazardous expeditions to the region, discovering new caves and paintings in the karst outcrops. The “negative” hands are the result of a very fine powdered pigment being blown over the hand by mouth or through a hollow tube dominate the artwork adorning Kalimantan’s caves. Many of them are over-painted with symbolic drawings which are unique in the world; Fage and his colleagues believe they could be a communication code.

This art that has survived for so long faces many threats, and in 2011 Fage co-wrote a book, Borneo, Memory of the Caves, to support his objective of creating a natural park in the Marang Mountains, where the most remarkable drawings are located. He then made two films of his discoveries. He hopes to convince Indonesia’s authorities to limit the impact of coalmines and cement works, which take limestone from the karst, and to introduce ecotourism and sustainable development as viable alternatives.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page