芙芮妮・豪泽曼巴塔哥尼亚的深海生态

发布日期: 2016年clock阅读需时: 55s
scroll-down

智利的巴塔哥尼亚(Patagonia)由峡湾、海峡及岛屿组成,并经常有强风吹袭。德国及智利生物学家兼海洋探险家芙芮妮・豪泽曼(Vreni Häussermann)毕生致力探索及保育此生物多元之地。

地点智利巴塔哥尼亚

芙芮妮・豪泽曼积极保育智利巴塔哥尼亚南面的峡湾,至今仍未忘初衷。她与研究伙伴君特・福斯特(Günter Försterra,及后成为她的丈夫)于1997年的考察旅程到访当地,瞬即被其惊涛骇浪及山峰冰川深深吸引。

我在这里学懂了忍耐。有时侯,事情并不会如自己所想发展,因此必须要有两手准备。

二十年后,她仍不断探索该区。豪泽曼及其家人每月均会在Huinay科学中心逗留一个星期。她自2003年担任科学主任,中心由瓦尔帕莱索天主教大学(Catholic University of Valparaíso)及能源公司ENEL资助。她结合探索与科学,致力争取公众支持保育项目,并提高他们对环境污染的意识,包括鲑鱼养殖及其他人类活动构成的生态风险。大批鲸鱼、沙丁鱼、水母及软体动物于2015年及2016年死亡,原因至今未明。

为培育智利居民爱护环境,豪泽曼将自己的探索经验撰写成网志。以往,她以水肺潜水的方式,仅能潜入水深30米的水域。然而,劳力士大奖让她购入遥控潜水器,记录水深500米的未知海洋世界。至于陆上方面,她将在智利举办的2017年国际海洋保护区域大会(International Marine Protected Areas Congress)展示巡回展览及影片,作为游说团体在峡湾设立海洋保护区的部分计划。

  • 337条

    豪泽曼的团队于2015年发现的鲸鱼尸骸数目

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

close
Vreni Häussermann

Patagonia’s wild depths

Published in 2016clockTime to read: 55s
scroll-down

Chilean Patagonia is a windswept maze of fjords, channels and islands. German and Chilean biologist and marine explorer Vreni Häussermann has dedicated her life to exploring and protecting this biodiversity hotspot.

locationPatagonia / Chile

Vreni Häussermann remembers the moment she fell in love with the southern fjords of Chilean Patagonia she now seeks to protect. On a 1997 research trip with her research partner Günter Försterra (who later became her husband), she was all but blown away by the stormy seas and mountain-top glaciers.

I have learned patience here. Things don’t always go to plan, so you always have to have a plan B.

Twenty years on, she is still exploring the area. Häussermann and her family spend a week each month at the Huinay Scientific Field Station, where she has been scientific director since 2003, and which is supported by the Catholic University of Valparaíso and the energy company ENEL. Combining exploration and science, she strives to create public support for conservation and raise awareness of the pollution caused by salmon farming and other human activities, which is destabilizing the ecosystem. In 2015 and 2016 there were mass die-offs of whales, sardines, jellyfish and molluscs but the cause has not been established.

To cultivate a growing appreciation among Chileans of their environment, Häussermann will write a blog on her expeditions. Until now, her scuba-diving has been restricted to depths of 30 metres; the Rolex Award will enable a remote-operated vehicle to reach 500 metres, and allow her to document an undiscovered marine world. Back on land, a travelling exhibition and film will be presented at the 2017 International Marine Protected Areas Congress in Chile as part of her campaign to convince authorities to designate marine protected areas within the fjords.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page