2019年劳力士雄才伟略大奖联合得主

伊夫・密苏林

法国火山学家伊夫・密苏林(Yves Moussallam)希望拆解未知的科学领域:全球150多个活火山喷出的气体和悬浮微粒如何影响气候变化。

他指出:“长久以来,火山一直塑造地球及大气层。在世上最偏远的地区收集火山活动的实时数据,有助真正了解火山在加快或掩盖气候变化上的关键作用。卫星数据显示,全球三分之一的火山气体来自美拉尼西亚火山,而目前大多数火山样本均来自交通便捷的发达国家。”

密苏林希望在全球最活跃的火山活动区域(即环太平洋火山带)的5,000公里弧线位置上,深入研究76座最活跃地表及海底火山的其中17座,从而纠正、填补知识空白。

我正在测量火山气体,借此更清楚了解火山气体排放对大气层的影响。

伊夫・密苏林

是次探险以实用角度出发,将科学与太平洋文化遗产相结合。密苏林及其团队将乘坐传统波利尼西亚帆船“vaka”航行。这种帆船不仅环保,更可在岛屿的任何地方停泊。 团队将于不同地方设置最先进的无人机、水底机器人及传感器,以分析巴布亚新几内亚和瓦努阿图之间的火山气体。现年31岁的密苏林亦希望为岛民带来经改良的火山爆发预警系统。

他和团队计划分享所见所闻,并让大众明白在新世界进行科学、探险及探索活动,并非不可能的任务。

arrowLeftAll projects

Yves Moussallam

Explore remote volcanoes affecting Earth’s climate

French volcanologist Yves Moussallam wants to shed light on a great scientific unknown: how the gases and aerosols emitted by the Earth’s 150-plus active volcanoes are affecting climate change.

Invite others to discover the inspiring projects of the 2019 Rolex Awards.

“Volcanoes have shaped our planet and its atmosphere over aeons. Collecting real-time data on volcanic activity in the most remote places on Earth is key to a true understanding of their role in accelerating or masking climate change,” he says. “Satellite data indicates that a third of all the world’s volcanic gases originate from Melanesian volcanoes, but until now most sampling has taken place at accessible volcanoes in developed countries.”

Moussallam wants to remedy this huge gap in the science by mounting an expedition to study 17 of the 76 most active surface and undersea volcanoes along a 5,000-kilometre arc of the world’s most volcanically dynamic region, known as the Pacific Ring of Fire.

I’m measuring volcanic gases to understand better the effect of volcanic emissions on our atmosphere.

Yves Moussallam

The expedition will mix science and Pacific cultural heritage with plain practicality. Moussallam and his team will set sail in a vaka, a traditional Polynesian vessel. Not only is it environmentally friendly, a vaka can moor anywhere in the islands. From there, the team will deploy state-of-the-art aerial drones, undersea robots and advanced sensors to analyse the gases produced by volcanoes found between Papua New Guinea and Vanuatu. Moussallam, who is aged 31, also hopes to supply the islanders with improved early-warning systems for volcanic eruptions.

He and his team plan to share their discoveries and raise awareness that, in science, adventure and exploration of new worlds are still possible.