阿桂・奧特雷母親的生命熱線

發布日期: 2012年clock閱讀需時: 50s
scroll-down

拯救缺乏緊急產科醫護的母嬰是阿桂・奧特雷(Aggrey Otieno)的使命,他設立的遙距醫療中心為奈洛比(Nairobi)貧民窟居民帶來希望。

地點肯尼亞

密密麻麻的瓦楞鐵皮屋、明渠及長期治安問題,令奈洛比其中一個最卑微的貧民窟科羅戈喬(Korogocho)滿佈生命威脅。200,000名居民活於貧困之中,連最基本的設施也匱乏。阿桂・奧特雷在美國完成碩士學位後返回家鄉,為當地社區重燃希望。多年前,他的妹妹在分娩時險些喪命,使他更關注懷孕和分娩過程的安全性。有見現今手機普及,他創辦了非政府組織Pambazuko Mashinani,並透過24小時遙距醫療中心為需要緊急產科醫護的人士提供援助。

婦女因無法接觸現代醫學治療而死亡。

中心自2013年已協助轉送1,304名婦女往醫院進行急救,服務亦擴展至其他地區,約90萬名貧民窟居民現可收聽每週一次的電台節目,汲取更多資訊。

奧特雷正通過手機應用程式出售貧民窟衛生資訊管理和兒童保護軟件。他亦舉辦傳統助產士培訓和公眾論壇等活動。

  • 1/29

    每29名於科羅戈喬居住的婦女便有一人在分娩時死亡,而在美國的比率僅為1/2200

  • 逾1,000名

    婦女送往科羅戈喬以外的醫療機構

  • 逾100,000名

    育齡婦女每週經短訊系統接收文字訊息

計劃

勞力士雄才偉略大獎

探索

分享此頁面

close
Aggrey Otieno

A mobile lifeline for mothers

Published in 2012clockTime to read: 50s
scroll-down

Saving the lives of mothers and babies who lack emergency obstetric care is the life’s calling of Aggrey Otieno, who is empowering impoverished Nairobi slum-dwellers through a telemedicine centre.

locationKenya

Crowded, corrugated iron shanties, open drains and an ever-present security threat blight lives in Korogocho, one of Nairobi’s most abject slums. It is home to 200,000 people who are mired in poverty and lack even the most basic amenities. But Aggrey Otieno, who returned to his home town after studying for a master’s degree in the United States, has given his community hope. After his sister nearly died in childbirth he decided to make pregnancy and childbirth safer. Noticing that most people used mobile phones, through his non-governmental organization, Pambazuko Mashinani, he offered a solution to those needing emergency obstetric care through a 24-hour telemedicine centre.

Women die because they live outside the reach of modern medicine.

Since 2013, the centre has transported 1,304 women to hospital for emergency care, and some 900,000 slum dwellers in the wider area have access to information through the organization’s weekly radio programmes.

Otieno is now selling slum health information management and child protection software through mobile applications. His outreach campaign includes training for traditional birth attendants and the public.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page