伯纳德・弗朗库深入核心

发布日期: 2000年clock阅读需时: 40s
scroll-down

法国冰川学家伯纳德・弗朗库(Bernard Francou)在安第斯冰川深处撷取冰核,以记录数千年间的气候变化。

地点厄瓜多尔及安第斯山脉

引发赤道太平洋周期性暖化的厄尔尼诺现象,于近数十年渐趋频繁,为世界各地带来洪水、火灾等严重破坏。部分科学家相信厄尔尼诺现象的次数和程度增加,与全球暖化不无关系,伯纳德・弗朗库的工作正是探讨这个论说。

我于1991年创立的冰川观测网络运作畅顺,现正努力向普罗大众宣扬气候知识。

弗朗库在法国研究与发展组织(French Institute for Research and Development)负责冰川监测计划,他在厄瓜多尔的最高峰钦博拉索(Chimborazo)顶部撷取冰核,并凭此获得劳力士雄才伟略大奖。这个实验呈现出厄尔尼诺的漫长演变过程,有助加深了解全球气候的变化。

弗朗库持续发表他对钦博拉索冰核钻探的观测结果,而这次远征的主要研究亦先后于不同科学评论和两本书籍中刊载,为冰川学家和气候学家带来裨益。此外,《国家地理》杂志和政府间气候变化专门委员会(Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change)均曾引用他的专业研究,数辑电视纪录片亦以他的工作为题。弗朗库于2014年获颁法国荣誉军团骑士勋章(Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur),以表彰他对科学界的贡献。

  • 6,268米

    厄瓜多尔最高峰——钦博拉索死火山的高度,
    弗朗库正是从此撷取冰核

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索

分享此页面

close
Bernard Francou

Getting to the core

Published in 2000clockTime to read: 40s
scroll-down

French glaciologist Bernard Francou extracted an ice core from deep inside an Andean glacier to provide an archive of climatic change over thousands of years.

locationEcuador, The Andes

In recent decades, El Niño, the periodic warming of the equatorial Pacific Ocean, has been returning more often, bringing with it floods, fires and devastation across the globe. Some scientists suspect the frequency and ferocity of El Niño owe something to global warming, a theory Bernard Francou has helped inform with his work.

The glacier observation network I created in 1991 is working well, and I’m becoming increasingly interested in spreading knowledge of climate issues among laymen.

Responsible for the glacier monitoring programme of the French Institute for Research and Development, Francou spearheaded his Rolex award-winning project to extract an ice core from a glacier at the top of Ecuador’s highest peak, Chimborazo. The information on El Niño’s long evolution that this experiment garnered helped improve the world’s understanding of climate change.

Francou continues to publish his own observations on the Chimborazo ice-core drilling operation, and the main findings of this expedition have been published in various scientific reviews and in two books, benefiting glaciologists and climatologists. National Geographic and the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change have called on his expertise, and there have been several television documentaries on his work. In recognition of his scientific findings, Francou was made a Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur in 2014.

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page