皮埃尔・摩尔万从出租车到甲虫

发布日期: 1987年icon-clock阅读需时: 0min 55s
icon-scroll-down

皮埃尔・摩尔万(Pierre Morvan)放弃出租车司机的工作,决意成为知名昆虫学者。他的步行虫研究展示了生物演变和物种形成过程。

地点尼泊尔

1989年前,居住在巴黎的皮埃尔・摩尔万一直任职出租车司机。而劳力士雄才伟略大奖便旨在表扬如摩尔万般的先驱人士,不论得主是否进行大众化的研究。就如他所言,劳力士雄才伟略大奖是其半世纪来无数遍前往喜马拉雅山脉探险的唯一支援,即使他现成为世界知名的步行虫专家,情况亦然。

有赖劳力士雄才伟略大奖资助,我成功搜集充足资料和数千只昆虫……多达90%的博物馆收藏均由我等业余人士提供。

凭借其不懈坚持与对完美的追求,摩尔万成功克服独立研究者生涯中的不少波折。截至2009年,他已搜集数万计的甲虫,分别采自伊朗和高加索(Caucasus)山脉、位于尼泊尔、不丹和中国的喜马拉雅山区以及美国阿巴拉契亚(Appalachians)地区。他共发现数百个新品种,并创立五个属与一个亚科项目。

自其1999年的探险,摩尔万致力研究各个收集样本,并基于雌性生殖系统着手研发辨别物种的检索方法,有望发展出一套确定物种关系的办法。他亦创立首本Breton昆虫学期刊,并出版了50篇科学著作。巴黎自然历史博物馆(Natural History Museum)曾邀请他加入博物馆研究团队。

  • 100,000只

    截至2009年,摩尔万在喜马拉雅和
    其他山区采集的甲虫数目

  • 600个

    摩尔万发现的新甲虫物种数目

计划

劳力士雄才伟略大奖

探索更多

Pierre MorvanFrom taxis to beetles

Published in 1987clockTime to read: 45s
scroll-down

Pierre Morvan, who gave up driving taxis to become a world-renowned entomologist, has demonstrated how the study of ground beetles can improve our understanding of evolutionary change and how species are formed.

locationNepal

Pierre Morvan, a Paris taxi driver until 1989, is a prime example of how the Rolex Awards often recognize unsung heroes who are doing things outside the mainstream. As he points out, the Award is the only funding he has received in a half-century of making expeditions, chiefly to the Himalayas, and becoming a world expert in ground beetles.

Thanks to the windfall of the Rolex Award, I was able to collect an abundant amount of materials; thousands of insects... Ninety per cent of museum collections are provided by amateurs like me.

Morvan has overcome the occasional impediment posed by his independent researcher status by virtue of his persistence and perfectionism. By 2009, he had collected tens of thousands of beetles: from the mountains of Iran and the Caucasus; in the Himalayas in Nepal, Bhutan and China; and in the Appalachians in the United States. He has discovered hundreds of new species and come up with five new genera, and even a sub-family.

Since his last expedition, Morvan has concentrated on examining the specimens in his collection and developing a species identification key, based on the female reproductive system that could result in a way to determine the relationships between species. He also founded the first Breton journal of entomology, and has written 50 scientific publications. The Natural History Museum in Paris invited him to join its research team.

  • 100,000

    Beetles Morvan had collected in the Himalayas and other mountain areas by 2009

  • 600

    New species of beetles discovered by Morvan

Programme

Rolex Awards for Enterprise

Discover

Share this page