戴维・奇普菲尔德爵士与西蒙・克雷兹建筑思潮

发布日期: 2018年clock阅读需时: 2m50s
scroll-down

戴维・奇普菲尔德爵士(Sir David Chipperfield)与他的瑞士门生西蒙・克雷兹(Simon Kretz)并未有在指导年间合作设计大楼,而是决定探讨规划方式如何塑造城市,以及传达市民的期望。

撰文: 埃德温・希思科特(Edwin Heathcote) 2018年1月
  • 戴维・奇普菲尔德爵士(Sir David Chipperfield)
    导师
  • 西蒙・克雷兹(Simon Kretz)
    门生

戴维・奇普菲尔德爵士与西蒙・克雷兹正在伦敦肖迪奇区(Shoreditch)的街道上漫步。途人停下脚步,看着摄影机前身穿西装但没有结上领带的二人聊天,而部分人似乎认出了较年长的一位。戴维・奇普菲尔德爵士虽非本地人,但作为英国伟大的建筑师,其设计作品遍布墨西哥城、圣路易斯、韦克菲尔德以至东京,享誉国际。在他身旁的西蒙・克雷兹稍为瘦削年轻,不仅是一位城市规划师及教师,现在更成为“肖迪奇观察者”(Shoreditch flâneur)。

百年以前,这些街道仿如无人之境,放眼整个边缘区域,只有废弃的工业建筑和破旧的铁路拱门。如今,那个都市废墟已变得非常商品化。从前在砖块上的涂鸦,现已成为伦敦蓬勃房地产市场的一道背景,新旧相融。

伦敦的城市发展正向东蔓延,包围肖迪奇区,而急速发展的数码经济也同时进占该区,最先发现此处潜力的设计师、艺术家及建筑师,他们原本居住的阁楼及仓库现也一一易手。如斯遽变,加上作为创意与破坏性经济以及全球资本市场之间的交界,这处总是予人特殊的震撼感,日新月异。而在此区中央却存在一处空地,位置甚具投资潜力,这里原为主教门货场区(Bishopsgate Goodsyard),前身是铁路货场,现已日久失修。

克雷兹与奇普菲尔德在街上穿梭,全因他们选定了这个城市结构的破裂点作合作研究。大多数建筑师或会选择兴建大楼,以有形的方式实现并展示所想。然而,克雷兹与奇普菲尔德却选择了更加理性、政治性,甚或影响更加深远的课题。这又称之为“慢建筑”(slow architecture)。他们选择在理论层面探索真正城市,就这片土地提出可行建议,以及相关过程、立法和资本的转变。

克雷兹说:“建筑是个缓慢的过程,一座大楼从开始到完工可能需时七至八年。我们只有数个月,所以需要思索如何充分利用这段时间。我们因此考虑城市运作方式以及城市的复杂性,也就是叉子放进意大利面条中的一刻,着重结果而非建筑过程。”

在某程度上,二人的项目旨在比较英国和瑞士之间的规划,这听起来非常专业及技术化,其实不然。奇普菲尔德表示:“我们想探讨城市规划,并了解其文化或经济习层面。我们想了解这些知识可否转移。瑞士一直处于整个模式的一端,非常严谨,设有庞大的公共部门,城市规划是个受人尊重的行业。而在伦敦,一切皆由私营市场推动,规划往往是被动的。两种制度有否带来优秀建筑?什么促使伦敦成为‘炙手可热’的城市?”

尽管二人的经历迥然不同,但通过比较两个制度,这意味着克雷兹与奇普菲尔德地位平等。无疑,星级导师和门生之间身分悬殊,但这却为指导带来正面影响,他们是各自文化的建筑代表,互相向对方学习。

年轻瑞士建筑师克雷兹生于弗里堡,及后就读于著名的苏黎世联邦理工学院(ETH,他正在校任教),现经营两所建筑师事务所,其中一个以规划为基础。奇普菲尔德在日常工作中亦不时遇上规划问题,他会以建筑师的身分,试图改变世界各地的城市。二人的观点互相配合,让制度运作得以进步。

我们想探讨城市规划,并了解其文化或经济层面。

克雷兹指:“我们以主教门为例,探索可否将瑞士制度应用于伦敦之中,若然实行,又如何符合这里的标准?经济上是否可行?我们并非说瑞士做得更好,而是当中有何借鉴之处?”

奇普菲尔德和克雷兹也特别强调,尽管这个项目看似围绕专业技术,但在本质上,居民与社区才是重点。克雷兹说:“规划和实行过程互相交错,对城市的自然及社会形态产生深远影响,亦会改变我们对生活和环境的看法。规划是一座城市的关键。事实上,没有规划也可以是规划形式的一种。”

这项合作的开始正值英国决定脱离欧盟之时,人民明显希望不受权力所限,继而导致在布鲁塞尔的谈判出现裂缝。两位建筑师在2016年秋天初次见面,他们的对话便是围绕此重大议题,并一同思索如何让公民更加积极参与城市快速变化的过程。

过程中,两位建筑师建立了联系,讨论双方国家如何能够做得更好。究竟奇普菲尔德对自己的导师角色有何感觉?“如何作出指导?这并非一般师生关系,而是有所分别,根据我的经验,最佳关系总是建立在相互讨论的基础上:我们可找到什么共同领域?

在某些方面,表演性质更加容易达到这个目标。诸如音乐或舞蹈,当中存在共同的表演元素。这又如电影制作,二人各自到访对方的片场。”

克雷兹对此表示同意,并谈到他如何与ETH的学生关注这个项目,从而把不同问题与想法带到“瑞士学生的世界之中,在导师与门生以外发展演进”。

他对讨论结果充满热情。“这种比较让我对[瑞士]制度有了全新认识,使我们能够将两种文化融为一体,也让我明白到规划的本质。”

奇普菲尔德阐释:“我们正在比较两个极端。瑞士也许拥有最具保护的规划制度,而英国则恰好相反。在英国,建筑物被视为产品。在瑞士,建筑物则是城市的一部分。”

克雷兹补充:“另一方面,苏黎世并没有真正的动力去完成大事。一切都要经过争论及讨论,大型与偏锋的项目总是无法建成。”

奇普菲尔德总结:“辩论本身在于建筑对城市的贡献。市民认为城市发展自然而生,他们在过程中并无发言权。”

这正是问题的症结所在。在不断变更的城市环境中,如何赋予居民更大权力?他们在复杂规划中有多大的参与程度?如何才能避免市民感到不满及被受忽视?这是欧洲目前政局动荡的一大议题。在某程度上,这是一场争取公平的斗争,城市就是公地。

公众参与被低估,但却对城市未来极为重要。

奇普菲尔德指出:“规划让大众看到未来社会的模样。”克雷兹则提醒:“很多城市的实际规划过程远非完美,引来不少挫折与对抗。”

克雷兹是否认为合作达至预期?他兴奋地说:“这已产生巨大的影响。这是关于建筑的思潮,而非只是建筑本身。我们也得出了结论。规划十分重要,对我们的生活方式有很大的影响。规划必须将发展潜力与共同愿景联系起来,方可符合公众利益。”

他的结论是,“公众参与被低估,但却对城市未来、可靠性及政局极为重要”。

这位英国建筑师亦从伦敦与苏黎世的比较中受益,而且结果有点出人意表。瑞士的进程看似繁琐、官僚但却十分民主,而且显然更加有效与快速。不少人赞赏伦敦的有利环境、眩目大楼及众多起重机,但他们研究的主教门货场区,至今仍然陷入胶着状态,至于所选的苏黎世地点(同样位于市内主要火车站旁边的地方)则逐步实现目标。奇普菲尔德认为此例子可使其家乡城市的制度更具公信力及城市化。“现在我们可以通过此研究解释规划者在制度中拥有更大权力,做法绝对可行。

“建筑师渐被边缘化。我们已成为整个制度的同谋,又如讽刺漫画中的一角。所谓‘星级建筑师’,不过是这个行业的一种象征。随着年龄的增长,我意识到自己对建筑物的兴趣逐步减少,反之对城市本身以及我们的设计方式更感兴趣。”

奇普菲尔德与其门生现正计划合力撰写有关研究结果的书籍。以此方式为忙碌而丰盛的指导年画上圆满句点,实是合适不过。

埃德温・希思科特是英国《金融时报》的建筑批评家。正职为建筑师,共出版十数本著作,亦是在线设计写作档案库readingdesign.org的编辑。

计划

劳力士创艺推荐资助计划

探索

close

Sir David Chipperfield & Simon KretzAn architecture of thought

Published in 2018clockTime to read: 2m50s
scroll-down

Instead of collaborating on a building during the mentoring year, Sir David Chipperfield and his Swiss protégé Simon Kretz decided to investigate how planning shapes a city and gives voice to the aspirations of its citizens.

by Edwin Heathcote January 2018
  • Sir David Chipperfield
    The Mentor
  • Simon Kretz
    The Protégé

David Chipperfield and Simon Kretz are wandering the streets of Shoreditch, London. Passersby stop to look at the pair being filmed as they chat, a few appearing to recognize the older of the two besuited but tieless figures. He isn’t a local, but Sir David Chipperfield, one of Britain’s most successful architects, designer of internationally acclaimed buildings from Mexico City and St Louis to Wakefield and Tokyo. The other architect, slighter and younger, is Simon Kretz, urbanist, teacher and now Shoreditch flâneur.

A generation ago these streets were something of a no man's land, a marginal zone of abandoned industrial buildings and ruined railway arches. Today, that urban grit has been fiercely commodified. The graffiti on the brick hulks of a former existence are now a backdrop for London’s irrepressible real estate market to promote the neighbourhood’s authenticity.

The City of London is creeping east, enveloping Shoreditch, while the burgeoning digital economy is simultaneously colonizing the area, taking over the lofts and warehouses inhabited by the designers, artists and architects first to spot its potential. This churn, and the area’s status as a boundary between creative and disruptive economies and the global capital markets, gives it a special frisson, a sense that something is always happening here. And at its centre is a huge hole, the site once occupied by the Bishopsgate Goodsyard, the former railway yards that have festered in a neighbourhood otherwise transformed into an investment asset.

Kretz and Chipperfield are walking the streets because this rupture in the urban fabric is the site they have chosen for their collaboration. Most architects would have chosen to work on a building that could be realized and displayed, something tangible. Kretz and Chipperfield have opted for something more cerebral, more political, which has the potential for a far-ranging impact. It is what you might call slow architecture. They have chosen to work theoretically, but with a real piece of city, to examine the proposals for this chunk of landscape and how the processes, legislation and capital forces that have led to this point might be changed.

“Architecture,” Kretz says, “is a slow process. A building might take seven or eight years from beginning to completion. We only have a few months, so we were thinking how we could best use that time. And it was in thinking about the way the city works. This is really about the complexity of the city. It’s about the moment you put the fork in the spaghetti.”

To some extent, their project is a comparison between planning in the UK and in Switzerland, but if that makes it sound highly specialized and technocratic, that is certainly not the intention. “We wanted to look at city planning,” Chipperfield says, “and understand what aspects of it are cultural or economic. We wanted to understand whether any of that knowledge is transferable. The Swiss have been at one end of the scale, very serious, with a large public sector and where planning is a respectable and respected career. In London everything is driven by the private sector and planning is reactive. Has either system produced great architecture? What has made London such a ‘hot’ city?”

Comparing the two systems means Kretz can be treated as an equal, despite their vastly different experiences. If a mentorship can be affected by the huge asymmetry between individuals – the star and the student – here each architect is a representative of his respective culture, but each is trying to learn from the other.

The young Swiss architect was born in Fribourg, then studied at Zurich’s renowned ETH (where he now teaches) and runs two practices, one predicated on planning. Chipperfield comes up against planning every day of his working life, but as an architect trying to intervene in cities all over the world. Between them, somewhere, is a syncretic view of how the system works, and how it might work better.

We wanted to look at city planning and understand what aspects of it are cultural or economic.

“We used Bishopsgate,” Kretz says, “to see if you could apply a Swiss system to London and, if you did, how would it measure up against the criteria here? Would it be economically viable? We wouldn’t want to say that the Swiss do it better, but rather, what could you learn from how they do things?”

Both Chipperfield and Kretz are keen to stress that while this seems a slightly technocratic endeavour, it is, at heart, about people and communities. “Planning,” Kretz says, “and the way planning processes are orchestrated, have a profound influence on the physical and social form of cities, of how we live and perceive our daily environment. Planning is the DNA of cities. Even non-planning is a form of planning.”

The collaboration started around the time that the UK decided to leave the European Union, apparently out of a sense of disconnection from power, a gap Brussels came to represent. When the two architects first met, in the autumn of 2016, this momentous event informed their initial conversations about what could be done to make citizens more active in the processes that inform the rapid changes in cities.

Through the process, the architects have developed a bond, discussing how things could be made better, in both countries. How does Chipperfield feel about his role as mentor? “Well, how does one mentor? It’s commonly a master and student relationship, but this is something else and, in my experience, the best relationships are always based on mutual discussion: what common territory might we find?

“In some ways it might be easier in performance; think of music or dance where there is a common performative element. This is more like what you have with film-makers, where each visits the other’s set.”

Kretz agrees, and relates how he is following the project through with his students at the ETH, so that the questions and the ideas are allowed “to ripple through the world of the Swiss students and develop a life of their own beyond the immediate mentor and protégé”.

He is enthusiastic about the outcome of discussions. “The comparison has given me a totally new view of our system [in Switzerland] and it has enabled us to bring two cultures together. It has made me understand what planning is essentially about.”

Chipperfield elaborates: “We’re comparing two extremes. We’re pitting the Swiss, probably the most protected planning system, against the UK’s, the least protected. In the UK, the building is seen as a product. In Switzerland it is seen as part of a city.”

“On the other hand,” adds Kretz, “in Zurich there is no real momentum for great stuff. Everything is so debated and discussed, the big, extreme projects just don’t get built.”

Summing up, Chipperfield says, “The debate is about what a building can contribute to the city. People feel that the city is something that happens to them, a process in which they have no voice.”

And that is the crux of the matter. How can citizens be empowered amid the constant renewal of the fabrics that form the cities in which they live? To what extent can they be involved in the complexities of planning, and to what extent can people avoid becoming disaffected and feeling ignored, a strong theme in the present political turmoil in Europe. It is, in a way, a struggle for equity, with the city as the commons.

Public engagement is underestimated, but crucial for our urban future.

“Planning,” says Chipperfield, “gives a glimpse of what a future society can be,” though Kretz adds a note of caution: “The actual planning processes in most cities are far from perfect; most foster frustration and confrontation.”

Does Kretz believe the project has lived up to expectations? “It’s already been a huge influence,” he enthuses. “It’s about the architecture of thought rather than just the architecture itself. We have also reached conclusions. Planning does matter – it has great influence in the way we live our lives. It has to relate individual development potentials with a collectively shared vision. It is, therefore, of public interest.”

And his conclusion? “Public engagement is underestimated, but crucial for our urban future and the credibility of cities and their politics.

The British architect, meanwhile, has benefited in a somewhat surprising manner from the London-versus-Zurich comparison. The seemingly ponderous, bureaucratic but impeccably democratic Swiss process apparently proves not only more effective and efficient, but faster. For all the bluster about London’s hothouse environment, its flash towers and its skyscape of cranes, the subject of their study, Bishopsgate Goodsyard, is still mired in inaction, while the Zurich counterpart they have chosen (a site likewise beside the city’s main railway station) is becoming a sophisticated reality. It is a paradigm Chipperfield feels he can use in the struggle to make his home city’s system more accountable and urbane. “Now we can point to this study to explain how a system in which planners have more power might work.

“Architects have become increasingly marginalized. We’ve become complicit in the system and a kind of caricature. In particular, this idea of the ‘starchitect’, which has become the emblem of our profession. As I get older I realize I’ve become less interested in the buildings and more interested in the cities they’re in and how we design them.”

Chipperfield and his protégé are now planning to write a book together describing the results of their investigation. It is a fitting way to end what has been a complex and fruitful year of mentoring.

Edwin Heathcote is the architecture critic of the Financial Times. He is an architect, the author of over a dozen books and the editor of online design writing archive readingdesign.org.

Programme

Rolex Mentor and Protégé

Discover

Share this page