於rolex.org搜尋

姬絲桃・派特與胡迪亞・杜妮逐步轉變

發布日期: 2020年1月閱讀需時: 3分52秒

對來自塞內加爾的嘻哈街頭舞者胡迪亞・杜妮(Khoudia Touré)而言,她的加拿大籍編舞導師姬絲桃・派特(Crystal Pite)堪為現代舞巨星,推動她在舞者、編舞者以至個人層面成長。

撰文: 莎拉・克朗普頓(Sarah Crompton)2020年1月
  • 姬絲桃・派特
    導師
  • 胡迪亞・杜妮
    門生

胡迪亞・杜妮笑容滿面地說:「若要用一個字詞來總結過去兩年的經驗,那肯定是『轉變』。無論是從舞者、編舞者還是個人角度出發,我也感覺到自己急速成長。我可以透過舞蹈表達更多,運用更多工具,同時免卻不少困難。就自身而言,我變得更具自信。沒錯。一切變化甚多。」

現年32歲的杜妮來自塞內加爾,是當地舞蹈團La Mer Noire的成員。她回顧參加勞力士創藝推薦資助計劃(Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative)期間,獲加拿大編舞家姬絲桃・派特指導的美好時光。二人成為莫逆之交,杜妮觀看導師派特在家鄉溫哥華工作的情況,派特經營的舞蹈團名為Kidd Pivot,而她亦與世界各地的團體合作,例如是荷蘭舞蹈劇場(Nederlands Dans Theatre)、倫敦的皇家芭蕾舞團(Royal Ballet)及蘇黎世芭蕾舞團(Ballett Zürich)。

派特說:「我喜歡她常伴左右。不論身處其他或自己的舞蹈團,又或是在過程期間、開始或結束,她也一一見證著我的不同創作階段。這讓我能夠一直與她對話,感覺妙極。有時我們會忙裡偷閒;有時則共進晚餐。她曾到訪我家並且認識我的家人。我們的關係十分密切。」

派特的職業生涯發展至今,獲得多名非正式導師的協助,比方說,她的首位舞蹈老師把舞蹈室的鑰匙交給她,並容許她隨意編舞;後來,她在法蘭克福芭蕾舞團(Frankfurt Ballett)遇上威廉・科茜(William Forsythe),他深明在此演出的派特,興趣遠不止於表演。在整個舞蹈生涯中,她往往以身作則,而非實際教學。

她說:「我不想告訴她[杜妮]如何行事。她正在努力,而且對此了解甚豐。我更常與她分享自己如何應對特定問題或機會。如有幫助,她可隨時運用所知所得。基本上是為她加油打氣。」

我與姬絲桃交流的時光,充分引領我的個人發展。一小時的指導好比十年人生。

胡迪亞・杜妮,2018至2019年度舞蹈門生

我們在巴黎聚首,派特於當地為《身體與靈魂》(Body and Soul)作最後修飾,此全新多幕劇作品共有40名巴黎歌劇院芭蕾舞團(Paris Opera Ballet)舞者參演。當我在舞蹈室觀摩時,派特輕聲細語,態度謙遜,從容不迫地指導她面前的大批舞者。單是看到這點便教門生杜妮啟發良多。她說:「親睹像她這樣成功的人士,提醒我更加要盡善盡美。她有很高的職業道德水平,讓我意識到自己有很大的改進空間。我必須全情投入工作之中,展現幹勁。」

派特感謝杜妮的讚賞,並回敬說:「我認為她是天生的領導者。清晰、準確、慎重。我希望和她共事的一大原因在於,我看到她的超卓領導才能。我不知道她看著我與不同規模的舞蹈團合作有何感覺,但可以肯定的是,領導能力是編舞工作的要素。」

她決定讓杜妮體會劇院本身的魔力,亦因如此,她確切感受到自己能積極協助杜妮拓闊知識領域。「展現舞台表演技藝,將燈光、聲音、佈景及服裝設計融為一體。這些工作範疇也是我們能力所及之事。她沒有太多機會擴展自己的練習範圍,所以我認為可在此方面助她一臂之力,尤其是當中許多細節能轉化成不同規模。」

杜妮一直渴望經歷整個過程,挑戰自己,把編舞提升至新層面。她出乎意料地指:「我希望感到迷失。我想涉足未知領域,讓我有機會接受新事物。我希望捨易取難,讓我有機會克服困難。」 派特工作的大型西方劇院與塞內加爾的有限規模形成對比,這亦是杜妮面臨的一大挑戰。如今她致力在達喀爾與合作舞者分享指導期間所學習的一切知識。

她說:「我深信我的祖國有其價值,我亦可與他人分享我的經驗。當這個難得機會來臨時,我並不單從自己的角度出發,而是視之為一艘船艦,或是一道橋樑,承載並連接兩地文化。我身邊有不少年輕人才,而我認為首要任務是把握機會,與他們傳達並分享我的所見所聞。如此,勞力士的計劃不僅讓一個人受益,而是帶來更大的效果。」

其中一個實例,就是杜妮正在巴黎籌備新作,作品將於2020年2月在開普敦舉行的勞力士週末上演,慶祝本屆勞力士創藝推薦資助計劃的成果。來自利比里亞的舞者皮埃爾-克拉弗・貝萊卡(Pierre-Claver Belleka)亦會參與其中,他是La Mer Noire的合作編舞者之一。他也參與過去兩年的指導歷程;事實上,杜妮、眾舞者及派特的舞蹈團Kidd Pivot早已建立起緊密聯繫。派特注意到:「我欣賞她能夠充分運用知識和技藝,連繫各位舞者。我認為她從各人的交流中獲益良多。這實在妙極:跟我有所連繫的人,現在也與她連成一線。我深信這是一段持久的關係。」

對派特而言,與杜妮的交流同樣充實。「她的自信由心而發,驅使她一直跳舞、編舞、表達及交流。她樂於傾聽,這為她的創作之路奠下美妙基礎。而我亦希望在這方面有所提升。我總覺得自己承受巨力壓力,但時間卻少之又少,令我不得不費力前行。我欣賞胡迪亞的平心靜氣,以及她的處世之道。我也想學習她的生活方式。這絕不平凡。」

杜妮在日記寫下她兩年來的轉變歷程,她亦意識到一切的改變也將延續下去,影響深遠。她沉思道:「這股影響力可分為兩部分。一方面,當中傳遞了各種資訊、知識、技巧或技能,以及成為舞者的直接和間接方式。但另一方面,這些資訊與我的認知有所對立,而這種沖擊又衍生出全新想法。」

「我和姬絲桃的文化背景正在交融。在此交叉點上,又可產生甚麼? 這對我來說也很重要。」

莎拉・克朗普頓是英國一位備受推祟的作家和廣播員,涉獵各個文化與藝術領域。她的作品在《衛報》(The Guardian)、《星期日泰晤士報》(The Sunday Times)、《泰晤士報》(The Times)及《觀察家報》(The Observer)等刊登。

計劃

勞力士創藝推薦資助計劃

探索

Crystal Pite & Khoudia TouréA step-by-step transformation

Published in January 2020clockTime to read: 1m30s
scroll-down

For hip-hop street dancer Khoudia Touré from Senegal, her mentorship with a superstar of modern dance, Canadian choreographer Crystal Pite, impelled her to grow as a dancer, a choreographer and as a person.

by Sarah Crompton January 2020
  • Crystal Pite
    The Mentor
  • Khoudia Touré
    The Protégé

“If I had to find one word to sum up the last two years, it would be ‘transformation’,” says Khoudia Touré, with the broadest of smiles. “I feel I have had to grow drastically, both as a dancer, a choreographer and a person. I can express more within my dance, have more tools, but also have fewer blocks. But also as a person, I have learned to be more confident in myself. So yes. Everything has changed a lot.”

Touré, now 32, from Senegal where she takes part in the collective dance company La Mer Noire, is talking about her time on the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative, where she has been mentored by Canadian choreographer Crystal Pite. The two women have become the firmest of friends as Touré has watched Pite at work in her hometown of Vancouver, where the mentor runs her own company Kidd Pivot, and across the world with different dance companies such as Nederlands Dans Theater, London’s Royal Ballet and Ballett Zürich.

“I love how much she has been around,” says Pite. “She has seen me in all the different phases of what I do, in the middle, beginning and end of a creative process, both with my own company and with outside companies. It has been amazing because I have been able to have all these conversations with her over time. Sometimes there are little stolen moments; sometimes we have dinners. She’s been to my house; she’s met my whole family. We’ve been very close.”

Pite’s own career was helped along the way by informal mentors such as her first dance teacher who handed her the keys to the dance studio and gave her permission to make up any dance she wanted, and later by William Forsythe, who understood that the woman who was dancing in his Frankfurt Ballett was interested in more than performance. In her own career, she mentors more by example than by actually teaching.

“I don’t want to tell her [Touré] how to do anything,” she says. “She is already doing it and already knows a lot. It is more sharing with her how I would approach a particular problem or a particular opportunity. It is up to her to take that and run with it if it helps. Basically, it’s about cheering her on.”

All the hours I spend exchanging with Crystal are hours that guide me incredibly in my personal development. An hour of mentoring is maybe ten years of life.

Khoudia Touré, 2018-2019 Dance Protégée

We are meeting in Paris, where Pite is putting the finishing touches to Body and Soul, a new, full-length work for 40 dancers of the Paris Opera Ballet. As I observe her in a dance studio, this quiet, humble woman is effortlessly in charge of the huge cohort of dancers in front of her. Seeing that has in itself been inspiring to Touré. “Watching someone at her level inspires me to do my best,” the protégée says. “She has such a strong work ethic that I felt I had to improve drastically. I really had to put so much more dedication and energy into what I was doing.”

Pite acknowledges the compliment, but turns it back to Touré. “I think she is a natural leader,” she says. “Very clear, precise and deliberate. One of the reasons I wanted to work with her was that I saw strong leadership qualities in her. I don’t know what it is like for her to watch me work with any size of group, but I know for sure leadership is a massive part of what we do as choreographers.”

Where she does feel she has helped actively to expand Touré’s knowledge is by giving her access to the magic of theatre itself. “To work on stagecraft, the integration of light, sound, set and costume design. All those aspects of the work are part of what we can do. She hasn’t had a lot of opportunity to extend her practice so I thought that was something I could help her with, especially because a lot of these things can translate to any scale.”

For Touré, the whole process has been part of what she longed for: a challenge to take her own choreography into a new dimension. “I wanted to be lost,” she says, surprisingly. “I wanted to be thrown in some areas where I had no idea where I was going and where I was open to receive something new. I didn’t want to go into something easy, but something hard so that I could have things to overcome.” The contrast between the large Western theatres where she has seen Pite working and the far more limited structures available in Senegal has been one of the challenges she has faced; her intention now is to use everything she has learned during the mentorship and share it with dance-makers she is working with in Dakar.

“I have been raised with the idea that there is a value in our country and that I could share my chance with others,” she says. “When I get this amazing opportunity I don’t see it for myself, but I see myself as a vessel, as a bridge to create channels between both cultures. I am surrounded by so many young talents, and every time I get a chance to release that and share what I have learned with them, I think it’s a number one priority. In this way, the Rolex programme doesn’t just benefit one person, but the consequences around it are much larger.”

A practical example of this occurred in Paris, where Touré was working on a new piece that will be shown at the Rolex weekend celebrating the current cycle of the Rolex Arts Initiative in Cape Town in February 2020, with Pierre-Claver Belleka, a Liberian dancer who is one of the collaborative co-choreographers in La Mer Noire. He too has been part of the journey of the past two years; the link between Touré and her dancers and Pite’s own company Kidd Pivot has been strongly forged. “I loved the way that she has been able to tap into their knowledge and their mastery and connect with them dancer to dancer,” Pite observes. “I think she has learned a lot from the exchange that they’ve had. It has been amazing: like a matrix of people that I am connected to that she is also connected to now. I am sure that will endure.”

For Pite, too, the relationship with Touré has been enriching. “She has this beautiful grounded confidence and she is compelled to dance, to choreograph, to express and to connect. She is so willing to listen and that is going to serve her beautifully as a creator. I think that is something I would like to work on in my own practice. I always feel I am under so much pressure and have so little time that I have to plough through. I love Khoudia’s serenity and how she is in the world. I would like to learn how to move through life like that. It’s extraordinary.”

Touré has kept a diary to record the progress of her transformative two years, and recognizes that all the ways it has changed her will go on reverberating for years to come. “Its effect has been in two parts,” she says, thoughtfully. “I feel there is definitely all the amount of information, of knowledge, or techniques and skills, of direct and indirect ways to be as a dancer that have been passed on. But the second part of it is the moment that this information confronts my information and from that shock something new is created.

“My culture and Crystal’s culture are crossing. What can be created from that junction? That for me is also very important.”

Sarah Crompton is one of Britain’s most respected writers and broadcasters, commentating on all aspects of culture and the arts. Her work appears in The Guardian, The Sunday Times, The Times and The Observer, among others.

View all projects:

Programme

Rolex Mentor and Protégé

Discover